PDA

View Full Version : Dual batteries or stay single?

FishFinger1977
10-05-2004, 03:33 PM
Hi all I have had the same battery in since new (century marine pro 500) 4.5 years and only have ever had to charge it once as I left the ignition on Doh! How long does a battery last before replacement is needed? as I now run a lot of electronics some at rest like anchor light, fishing lights, GPS, bait pump/deck wash and sometimes the sounder. I have never had a problem but a lot of mates run dual batteries which is sensible I think as there is no racq out where I go.

Does anyone have an opinion on whether it is a good safety thing to have and if so can anyone recommend a good person to carry out the electrical work as I am a bit of a novice when it comes to setting up a dual battery system. I guess the main reason is when I was drinking with a couple of mates we tried to manually start the motor johno 70hp and let me just say lucky we were on land and the battery was fine. Comments?

davo189
10-05-2004, 06:24 PM
2 is always better than one - especially if you are doing overniters - you can run your lights etc off one battery while at rest overnight and be assuered that you still have the main battery to start her up the next morning.

The key is having the batteries correctly wired up with a proper battery management switch - both off, #1 on, #2 on or both on. Contour is a good brand of switch (around $80.)

Most boat/marine yards can set it up for you or see the guys at AAA Batteries at Albion.

Hagar
11-05-2004, 10:44 AM
G'day Fishfinger
4.5 years ? I would be retiring that one or using it in a vehicle till it dies . Twin batts are the go . My haines is short on space at the transom so I have a separate smaller batt. up forward which I use to run all accessories . Both can be switched to the accessories circiut . The small one will crank the motor if it has to but has to be relocated to the back- but hey how many times will that happen .
Chris

CQ_Fisher