View Full Version : Outboard what did you pay?

jono_69
01-06-2004, 10:28 AM
Hi guys,
Just trying to get an idea of what to pay for an outboard.
So i guess my question is what is the retail price of your outboard and what did you pay? even second hand info would be appreciated.
Jono

polydriver
01-06-2004, 02:12 PM
In the quote for the new boat I just purchased it lists the price of the Suzuki 50hp 4 stroke as $8k. Whether this is cheaper becasue of the package I am not sure

Morlers
01-06-2004, 02:44 PM
Just ordered a Johnson 90hp 4 stroke for $10,800. Good deal I thought as another dealer quoted a Honda 90hp 4 stroke at $13,800. Trust that helps.

:) :)
Morlers

MTpockets
01-06-2004, 03:30 PM
My new Yamaha 30hp was $3900 fitted. On its own was about $3730.
Not sure if this is the size u had in mind but thats what I paid.
Les

MY-TopEnder
01-06-2004, 03:33 PM
Anyone got any good ideas as to where is cheap for a Yamaha 50hp?

Kunnara
01-06-2004, 03:39 PM
I recently paid $4000 for a 2000model 90hp yammie 2 st.pretty good deal i thought.

lordy
01-06-2004, 03:56 PM
where did you a bargain like that Kunnara?

Kunnara
01-06-2004, 04:29 PM
It was off an urchin boat but hadn't been used for 12 months..he hit a reef and holed the gear box housing so he took it off and put a new motor on because he coudn't afford the time off the water...The gearbox and housing were replaced and i bought it ...Not really sure of the hours but it runs like a dream and at that price i was happy.

jono_69
01-06-2004, 04:32 PM
Thanx guys,
Les I am looking at a 30 or 40 tiller for a 4.1 Brooker Safari for fresh water anything from Mercury Lite 30 $3036 Yam 30D $3350 40V $4229 40V with PT+T $5528 F40B 4 stroke $6016 PT+T version $6436 Merc 40 EFI 4 stroke $7100 neg Tohatsu 40D $5740 ??? ( i thought Tohatsu were good value) Tohatsu TLDI 40 $7850 Suzuki 40 4 stroke around $9500 someone above bought at $8000 nice job for that motor mate. Honda around $8000 for a 40 or a bit more for a 50. A mate who is a dealer rep for Bombardier suggested he could maybe work a deal for me on a 40 ETEC and came back with a massive $500 off the retail. I reckon i could do better myself.
Anyone able to tell me if there is much of a margin in the above prices. It's difficult to know what the RRP is. dealers out of the area dont want to play the game, any help appreciated.

NQCairns
01-06-2004, 04:33 PM
Here's a couple from the cairns weekend post.

Yam 200 2002 salt water series $5900

Yam 130hp 99 model ss prop controls $7500

90hp johnson 88 model V4 recent rebuild $1900

Merc 80hp 83mod $1650

Nq

lordy
01-06-2004, 05:25 PM
"Yam 200 2002 salt water series $5900" or $9500?

joeT
01-06-2004, 06:45 PM
30hp Yamaha CV tiller $3100 new.

jono_69
02-06-2004, 03:16 AM
anyone bought a high tech 40 and got a great deal ie Suzuki 40, ETEC 40, Tohatsu injected 2stroke, mercury 40 4 stroke injected.
Jono

NQCairns
02-06-2004, 03:43 AM
Lordy it is $5900 want the number? :)

Big_L
02-06-2004, 04:25 AM
Hi Jono where did you get that price for the 30 D Yammie????

lordy
02-06-2004, 04:47 AM
Lordy it is $5900 want the number? :)

Love to, it'd probably even be an XL shaft (bonus). Only problem is it would sink the boat. But hey can't have everything, I could go REAL fast underwater. ;D

fisho22
02-06-2004, 05:34 AM
Hi ya all

I recently (2 weeks ago) bought a 2.5 Mercury outboard for my 10 foot tinnie (cartopper)

I paid $730 for it, and it goes like a dream, just perfect for impoundments and lakes.

I cant wait to hook into a big murray cod, or yellowbelly.

Fisho22

mrswb
02-06-2004, 06:31 AM
Do you want 2/ or 4/? If you want a 30hp 2/, my bet would be the lightweight merc, around $3000. Yammie 30 CV were down at 2700 last year but it was limited stock and all have sold. These are simple engines, 2 cylinder, with no flash extras... If you are going to 40hp, merc have the lightweight XR series that sell for about 4000.

Maybe you shoud narrow down exactly what you want...
2/ or 4/?
2 or 3cyl?
manual or ptt?
manual or electric start?
new model or new old one (ie yammy enduro)

May be an easier way to start..

mrswb
02-06-2004, 06:32 AM
oh, i bought a 50 honda, new style tiller, fitted, battery, box, filter and to fuel tanks for $8400.

jono_69
02-06-2004, 09:25 AM
Hi Big L All yamaha prices were from Hunts marine in Sydney. Is that a pretty good price then?

beatle
02-06-2004, 02:51 PM
I bought a 40h.p. Honda four stroke brand new 12months ago power tilt and trim fully fitted for $7,000.-Beatle.

Big_L
03-06-2004, 03:56 AM
HI Jono yes thats a good price, shame there not in Brisbane. :'(

jono_69
03-06-2004, 07:11 AM
Beatle good price for the Honda . Quoted $8000 for that last week.

melbdan
03-06-2004, 05:09 PM
Hi guys just brought a brand new suzuki 140 four stroke stainless prop and fitted $15,000

jono_69
03-06-2004, 05:16 PM
well bought nice donk!

Randall
06-06-2004, 11:57 AM
8 months ago I purchased a new Honda 50 4 banger tiller with all the bells and whistles...power tilt/trim, elec start, all guages for 7400 fitted. Was just after last septembers boatshow.
Same motor now goes for around the 8500 mark. Must say though, the Hondas are an exceptional OB!! I love it.

Randall.

cheno
06-06-2004, 01:01 PM
Have ordered a 60hp 4st yammy for my new polycraft 455 centre console. Cost me $7650 unfitted. I think I may have done reasonably well here.

propdinger
06-06-2004, 06:18 PM
cheno i think you done very well can you pm me or answer here where you got it from please
i am very interested to buy one if they are going for that

thanks
jeff

Kev_McC
07-06-2004, 03:55 AM
My 2004 Yamaha 60 4 stroke , power tilt/trim, filters etc cost about $8800 fitted

kingmad
09-06-2004, 11:23 AM
Just ordered a Johnson 90hp 4 stroke for $10,800. Good deal I thought as another dealer quoted a Honda 90hp 4 stroke at $13,800. #Trust that helps.

:) :)
Morlers
Which model.

I got quoted 9900 and that is without barganing.

craigie
09-06-2004, 01:20 PM
Got a Merc 115 Optimax (2004) as part of a package deal, took delivery in Feb this year.
Think the motor was around the $15 000 mark, plus another $800 for the 'Smart Craft' gauges.
Optimax's may well be more expensive than the 4 strokes (Merc).

Cheers Craig.

sharkbait
09-06-2004, 06:03 PM
Jono, I paid a bit over 5000 for my 40hp, 3 cylinder, 2 stroke yamaha. Couple of things, definitely get PT+T, I kick myself for not getting it every time. Second, get a 4 stroke, I kick myself for that too. Third, get the 3 cylinder yammie, rather than the 2, thats the one thing i did right, apart from buying yamaha ;D

kris.

jono_69
10-06-2004, 02:48 AM
Just got quoted $5750 for an EFI 40 4 stroke mercury. retail around $8000. Anyone got this outboard its got the same block as the Yammy F40B but mercury fuel injection.
Am leaning towards the 40 ETEC but do you think they will discount this new technology anytime soon??
Man they are heavy though!

megafish71
11-06-2004, 09:22 AM
I bought a new 200hp 4stroke yamy in January this year.
picked it up for 22k, I thought that was pretty good value.
What does every one else think?

runamuk
16-06-2004, 06:40 AM
I recently paid $6,000 for a late model 175hp Evinrude fitted with only 200hrs on the clock.

avenger90
19-09-2008, 04:51 PM
in 2002 i was quoted $4500 for a yam 50hp s/s tiller steer
i bought a 97 model back then for $3k and i loved it and recently sold it for $1700

BigE
19-09-2008, 08:52 PM
yatla yamaha does reasonable deals take cash. bought my last two o/b there no problems good C/S & advice.

BigE

White Pointer
19-09-2008, 10:22 PM

Outboard RRP and specs were published in F&B magazine in the September edition #145.

From one extreme to the other:

I bought a 4HP 4-stroke Mercury new last year and paid $1200 which was $25 less than the next best quote. The RRP then and now is $1325. I had a warranty glitch from new (an isolated fault) and the dealer couldn't have done more for me to put it right. The dealer was Cunninghams at Redcliffe.

I currently have a 6M plate boat on order witha 175Hp Suzuki on it. The engine RRP is $22756 and I'm paying $20700 installed with a full rigging kit.

I don't screw for a price but I do interview for service commitment and I like to meet the people will sell to me and will service my investment in my leisure. I think they like this approach as well.

White Pointer

19-09-2008, 10:45 PM

Outboard RRP and specs were published in F&B magazine in the September edition #145.

From one extreme to the other:

I bought a 4HP 4-stroke Mercury new last year and paid $1200 which was $25 less than the next best quote. The RRP then and now is $1325. I had a warranty glitch from new (an isolated fault) and the dealer couldn't have done more for me to put it right. The dealer was Cunninghams at Redcliffe.

I currently have a 6M plate boat on order witha 175Hp Suzuki on it. The engine RRP is $22756 and I'm paying $20700 installed with a full rigging kit.

I don't screw for a price but I do interview for service commitment and I like to meet the people will sell to me and will service my investment in my leisure. I think they like this approach as well.

White Pointer
Mate where did you buy you Suzuki from?????

BrenMac
19-09-2008, 11:49 PM
Pricing over here in W.A. for a Merc 4 Stroke EFI 30 is just under $5000.00 for pull start and about $5400.00 for elect. start.

I think Yami have cash back deals going on all their donks ATM.

Brendan

rustymarlin
20-09-2008, 11:21 AM
Just got a 150 suzuki fitted for 17300 shopped around for ages but it paid off.next best price was 18500.

White Pointer
20-09-2008, 07:30 PM
Mate where did you buy you Suzuki from?????
G,day Spiro,

The engine is part of the boat package price but every item of the quote was spelled out with a price against it, right down to anchors and ropes. Everything going on this boat is brand new - except me!

White Pointer

The_Tub
20-09-2008, 07:44 PM
i paid 9400 fitted for my 115 jonno 2stk,brand new i thought that was a good price i put it on a 530 mako craft canyon runner it goes great:)

lunchcutter
01-10-2008, 10:11 PM
yeah bought a 150 evin 97 v6 2 stroke $3400

Luke G
01-10-2008, 11:21 PM
I paid 18500 for a 150 Suzuki fitted with rigging kit.

wiz
02-10-2008, 04:21 PM
I bought Honda 50 tiller steer PTT and guages in Feb 08 for $6900.00 it was the last of the carb model. I am very happy with the motor especially the fact that I can do about 100km on 22 litres of juice @ 4500rpm.

rosco1974
02-10-2008, 04:34 PM
mate try knp marine down the gold coast ...i got a 2001 model 90 hp mercury off him for my last boat for 4500.fitted with all the gaugesas well...it had done 120 hrs.......this was back in 2006...he always had heaps of secondhand outboards from 25 to 250hp