View Full Version : 4 stroke service costs

megafish71
06-07-2004, 04:42 AM
Just had a 50 hour service done on my 200hp 4 stroke yamy at a cost of $140.00 dollars. (very happy with the cost). This would have been a bit cheaper, but had the dealer drop the leg of and check the water pump for me, as I wrapped a dam shopping bag around the leg on the way home last trip.(don't understand why some people still through these dam things overboard) Just wondering what everyone else has been charged for a basic service on their 4 strokes.

Cheers Ron

craigie
06-07-2004, 09:33 AM
$ 140.00 ???? :o :o Sounds very cheep to me :-/

Who is your dealer ?

Think your on a winner there Ron ;)

My 115 hp Opti Merc was around $200 for the 20 hr service and I'm expecting it to be $500 + for the 100 hr which is now due :'(

Craig.

CQ_Fisher
06-07-2004, 09:56 AM
Ron,

I reckon your on a good thing there. i got a 60 yammy and my last service was around the 30hr mark and set me back $271. I dead set shit myself when they showed me the invoice. I will definately be looking around before my next service.

JD

megafish71
06-07-2004, 11:56 AM
Yeh just as I though, many dealers are charging far too much. A 50hr service on my old 2000 model 115hp Yamy 4 stroke was just under $350 and the 100hr with water pump replaced cost me a tad over $700, left the dealer feeling rather wounded and just put that down to the cost of getting anything done in Darwin. That particular dealer in Darwin had the rather appt nickname of in and out your pocket. Now after moving back to north Queensland had to find a good dealer here to purchase my new yamy from and service it properly at a reasonable price, and I found 1, Hunts Outboard service in Tully and if you are ever in the area and need some work done or a service I would definately recommend calling on Greg at Hunts.
Ron

simonfish
06-07-2004, 02:19 PM
The 50hr on my yamaha f60 4stroke was $160, and this included dropping the leg and checking and greasing the water pump splines and checking the trailer bearings, as well as oil/oil filter/etc.

The same guy told me the 100hr will be similar, maybe $50 more if the water pump needs attention.

Some dealers just charge too much.

Simon

bay_firey
06-07-2004, 05:23 PM
Just been quoted $240 - $250 for the 20 hour Service on My 50 4 st suzuki. Nearly fell off my chair.
Don't have a lot of choice but as the next nearest dealer is 2 hours away and is the same company.

Just gonna have to pay up so as to maintain my warranty

cheno
06-07-2004, 06:02 PM
Some pretty serious price variation out there.

Anyone found a yammy dealer that charges reasonably in Brisvegas?

craigie
07-07-2004, 04:35 AM
Wow, Bay-firey, Your 20 hr sounds a bit steep. I've been told that sometimes the dealer will do the 20 hr service for FREE :o :o

I've got the same question as Cheno, except for a good, inexpensive Merc dealer in Brissie ??

Cheer Craigie.

DaneCross
07-07-2004, 09:03 AM
I'd love to know where you guys are getting your services for around the $150 mark :o :o I have a 50hp merc 4stroke and I'm easily paying twice as much as that >:( >:(

simonfish
07-07-2004, 11:35 AM
DC, I am in Hervey Bay, if you are near here, PM me and I'll send you the marine shops details.

Simon

craigie
07-07-2004, 02:04 PM
Simon,

Is your Yammie dealer a Merc dealer as well ??

If so, it would be worth the tow from Brissie.

Craig.

bay_firey
07-07-2004, 02:56 PM
Craigie
No hope of getting 1st service F.O.C. , it's a long story but suffice to say that the Suzy dealer in town is not a mechanic and so has the fit ups done by someone else, and then it gets messy. So I ahve changed dealer/mechanic alltogether

Had the service done today, came in at $220.00 and he dropped the motor down by 1 mounting hole for no charge ::)

CamH
07-07-2004, 04:25 PM
$356 for 100hr service on 115hp 4 stroke Mercury at North Coast Boating in Mooloolaba.

simonfish
07-07-2004, 05:25 PM
Craig, they are not a yamaha dealer, they are an auto & marine service centre, so I guess they can do all engines and they do them to warrantee standard and fill out the log book.

they are Barneys Auto & Marine, Hervey Bay, number 4124 3170

I have used them for my 50hr, some trailer work and the boat is booked in next week for it's 100hr with them.

I am not associated with them in any way, just very happy with the service/work they have done and their pricing.

polydriver
16-07-2004, 06:15 PM
Had my 50hp suzuki 20 hour service done today ... $150.

megafish71
17-07-2004, 03:22 AM
Hmm, still seams to be alot of price differences out there, does this mean that some dealers are overcharging or are some not doing all the required jobs as apart of the service ???
Makes you think doesn't it.

Morlers
17-07-2004, 03:53 AM
Perhaps some are replacing all of the filters, plugs and impeller whilst others are only replacing some of the above (thinking they are still OK), thus accounting for the price differential?

:) :)

Morlers

flytime
17-07-2004, 06:03 AM
WHAT i'm getting ripped off >:( >:(. I've got a new 60 4/ stroke i rang 3 dealers one the sunshine coast $310.00
one in brisbane $350.00, one in noosa $290.00 for a 10 hr service >:( >:( Seems the dealers get together and make their own prices.
Steve >:(

simonfish
17-07-2004, 03:17 PM
Flytime, break the costs of a service down.
I pay around $150 for my 50 or 100hr service, and they do all that the log book says and more.

Oil and oil filter and gear box oil for a yamaha f60 is around $40/$50, labour at around 2 hrs ($50 per hour, and that is a good hourly rate) is $100, total $150, if you are paying $300+, where is the break down, it does not take 4 hours to service an outboard.
Ask the dealer to justify the expense.

when I lived in Sydney I paid $300+ for a service (and thought it was expensive), now I live in Hervey Bay and pay $150 odd I think that the city dealers are ripping us off.

My toyota turbo diesel up here cost $120 for a 5000km service, in Sydney I was quoted $210, maybe the rents are more expensive in the cities ?????