View Full Version : trouble getting on the plan
Mogwai
31-07-2004, 03:01 PM
hi all need some help .....i have a 12 foot tinnie with a 25hp on the back and i have tryed every thing to get her on the plan ... and at the momnent when she does seems to be jumping all the time
Dr_Dan
31-07-2004, 03:04 PM
SOunds like you got too much weight at the back of the boat. Try some weight up the front (esky), or put a tiller extension on your tiller. A bit of PVC pipe does the trick. Allows you to move further up the boat, better weight distribution.
Hope this helps
peterbo3
31-07-2004, 03:06 PM
Mog,
25 ponies & 12 foot = instant plane. Is your prop OK? May need rebushing. Try it with a mate up front to balance the boat & let us know the result. BTW, has this just started to happen or is it an old problem?
CQ_Fisher
31-07-2004, 03:17 PM
i agree with peterbo3, 12 foot tinnie with 25 should not have a problem planing. Even weight distribution issues aside, with that size motor on that length hull it should plane with Shane Webke sitting in the back. Dont know how to fix it but it definately aint right.
JD
31-07-2004, 03:37 PM
could well be a slipping prop, easy to check , get a perm white metal marker and draw a line from the center of prop shaft to the outside of hub, go for a run and see if the marks still line up
31-07-2004, 04:41 PM
As the guys have said, should be heaps of power. I have a 35 on a 4.5m runabout that has a 2m beam, and I have no probs getting on the plane unless I have a couple of big boofers on board.
For my boat I have foil and it makes a heap of difference. They are not expensive so possibly worth a look.
The other thing that some of the guys have suggested about puting weight forward,, you should do that anyway as you will find that it is a lot more comfortable in a chop. Cuts rather than bashes into it.
baldyhead
31-07-2004, 05:10 PM
Just a thought ??? ??? if you use a tiller extension of PVC pipe over your tiller it would pay to extend the lead on your kill switch and attach it to yourself some where JUST IN CASE.
You cannot be TOO careful. ::)
Baldy
spindles
01-08-2004, 02:34 AM
are you sure your cavitation plate is paralell with the bottom of your boat. may be tilted too far back.
Mogwai
01-08-2004, 03:36 AM
ok I have tilted it in all 4 places and it seems to be best on the 2nd one but if its just me (at 125 kg) it takes a long time to get on the plane and it goes about 45 deg's up if not more .... I will try and put some more weight in the front like a sand bag or 2
and I will check my prop too
I'm off to try her out today cyas
Thanks for all your help #
Jon
NQCairns
01-08-2004, 05:28 PM
Hi Mogwai bet you have the transom angle that doesn't suit your motor fitting angle. Old boats and new engines do have this problem alot dont know what you have though might be the other way around is that chrysler on the back, you may need more positive trim adjustment? On an old boat new motor a person needs another 4 or 5 holes of negative trim just to get them to lower the bow enough not to be stargazing at all throttle settings. Bias and whitworths have transom wedges for an exhorbidant price $60 ish for just plasic or make your own, you may need to get the top of the O/B away from the boat by as much as the motor clamps will allow. good luck nq