View Full Version : Lost Trim Tab

CQ_Fisher
29-07-2004, 10:56 AM
G'Day Boys,

I have a Yammy 60HP 4-Stoke ;D My prop has had a few dings in it for a little while, nothing too bad but enough to cause minor vibration while under way and also enough to bring my max revs down to say 5600RPM. I always intended on either getting the prop repaired of buying a new one but was in no real rush until i read something the other day about damaged props and the subsequent vibration causing further damage to the outboard. Whether its true or not i dont know but it was enough to make me pull my finger out and get the dings repaired (just under half the cost of new alum prop). When taking the prop off last night i noticed that the trim tab was gone. Now this must have come off on my last trip which was approx 3-4 weeks ago :'(. I am assuming that it was due to the minor vibration caused by the prop or water turbulance from the rough blades but cannot be certain. After noticing that it was gone i then had a very good explanation as to why i was struggling to keep her in a straight line when entering the Boyne River at low speed through less than 0.5M of water and a rushing outgoing tide. Has anybody else had this happen or know what else could have caused trim tab to have worked its way off?

JD

aido
29-07-2004, 01:02 PM
what size prop is it?
might be stamped on the hub??

29-07-2004, 01:24 PM
havnt lost one but when you put it back on use a bit of 222 loctite, makes it vibration proof and is only a mild low strenth loctite and will undo easier than if you use nothing as it stops thread corrsion of the dissimular metals as it puts a layer between them

CQ_Fisher
29-07-2004, 02:53 PM
Aido,

Prop is 11 1/8. Why did u want to know that?

aido
29-07-2004, 04:05 PM
i've got a vgc yamaha 17" pitch i was going to let you steal from me

CQ_Fisher
30-07-2004, 04:20 AM
What a bummer. That size is no good to me. Here's a thought, you can go and buy the prop i need and then sell it back to me for a real bargain, what do u think? ;D
Thanks anyway mate

JD

BladeRunner
01-08-2004, 07:46 AM
Hi CQ
Friday came in the Boyne low tide realy low rushing out had to send the crew into the
water to pull the boat over the sand bars, I say as in a few bars never seen it this low befor any way my prop is a 17" pitch went to measure the dia and was I shocked at how worn it was .(Never saw your trim tab, ).

Hope you get back on the water soon
BladeRunner [smiley=bandana.gif]

CQ_Fisher
01-08-2004, 04:48 PM
Bladerunner,

Already back on the water. Heading out with Corry and Seafox and a mate of Seafox's in the morning. Were heading back to 12 mile again and also going to check out Seal Rocks & Jenny Lind Banks. I've had my prop repaired, trim tab replaced and i'm keen as buggery. Took boat for a quick run this arvo to make sure trim tab was lined correctly and prop repairs were good, its like driving a new boat!! Seafox has promised that these spots ALWAYS produce. I'll let u know how we go. By the way how did u go at Rock Cod Shoals?

JD

BladeRunner
02-08-2004, 03:36 PM
CQ
I am ashamed to say not very good at the shoals we had a 7foot tiger shark
hanging around the boat on the surface and we where drifting managed 2 red throut
and my old favourite PARROT only when we motored away from the sharks territory
Hope you do better
Good to have you back on the water [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Blade [smiley=bandana.gif]