PDA

View Full Version : Launching Problems from Off-Road Trailer

Rubes
23-08-2004, 06:14 AM
I’m new to this – but thanks for all the info – I think I’ve learnt more from this site than I ever did at school.

I am the proud owner of my first boat – a 4.5m Bluefin Warrior. Very happy with it.

I paid extra dough and had the trailer made by an independant mob that made an offroad trailer for a boat that size with a beam of less than 2.3m (the Warrior has a 2.15m beam). This also had the bonus of running the same rims (15”) & tyres as the Nissan. I got what I think is quite a good sturdy trailer, however due to the mudguards the skids are high and the boat has to sit very high on what is already a high trailer.

This has created a lot of difficulty in actually launching the boat, which pretty much has to be floated off the trailer (we have generally disconnected the trailer and walked it out into the water). This is no good now that we’ve moved back up north and there are a few toothy handbags in the water to contend with. The boat just doesn’t seem to slide on the skids at all.

The trailer does have a break-back but this doesn’t seem to help. I opted for skids over rollers due to their sturdiness.

Any advice on what could make launching easier? I’ve heard of Teflon strips for the skids – will these help? This is pretty frustrating, so any advice would be much appreciated.

Rubes
23-08-2004, 06:22 AM
Here's a pretty ordinary photo of the boat & trailer if it helps.

dnej
23-08-2004, 07:52 AM
Your boat should not actually be sitting on the skids,they are for support only.
Drop the skids down, and let the boat sit on the keel rollers, then snug up the skids, to stop the boat from rolling.

Excess weight on the skids will only do two things,one damage your boat, and two make it hard to get ioff the trailer. You should be able to get that boat off with one hand.