View Full Version : *TRAILER WIDTHS*

loozitt
01-10-2004, 06:54 AM
Can someone help me with towing widths.

Would like some information on the max legal width a boat or boat trailer can be. I have looked on the Qld Transport website but have gone round in circles for hours.

Any advice or direction would be helpful.

Looking at towing a 2.8 metre wide boat on trailer. Is this legal, do I need oversize signs, do i need a permit.

Gorilla_in_Manila
01-10-2004, 08:16 AM
Hi Loozit
2.5m max.
http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/driver.nsf/0f122c06d5c309324a2565ca00059c43/634f88c39d2bf4ad4a256843000ef382?OpenDocument
Jeff

Kerry
01-10-2004, 08:22 AM
2.8 metres is over width but can be towed with permit in daylight hours only. Requires over width signs and flashing lights.

Cheers, Kerry.

nictim
01-10-2004, 08:24 AM
Hi Ray

Steve here for the trailer 2.50 max any thing over can not register but no info on boat overhanging guards.

Ps. Made some mods to winch post don’t won’t boat overtaking me :-X
Got the boat on it and looking good just got VIN plate and will register next week
Will post photo
Cheers steve

snappa
01-10-2004, 08:32 AM
my trailer is 2.3 mts outside to outside of gaurds and its within the legal limit because i made sure.i have no over hang of the boat ;D

drb
01-10-2004, 08:59 AM
if the trailer is 2.5 wide the boat can not over hang at all.
2.5 is the max load width.
if trailer is less than 2.5 max overhang allowed is 150mm provided max width does not exceed 2.5 m

NQCairns
01-10-2004, 09:22 AM
Gorilla helped me out with this a couple of weeks ago [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] There are some very wide new boat trailer packages out there some look to be over by rough measure, gotta be unlucky to get caught I guess unless in an accident.nq

Kerry
01-10-2004, 05:43 PM
There appears to be a general thinking that 2.5m is the max width, full stop, which for "unlimited" road use it is but there are certainly many boats & trailers that are over 2.5m, which come under the over width regulations.

7m KevlaCats won't sit on a 2.5m wide trailer, neither will 25/28 foot Bertrams nor many of the other larger trailer boats especially once one gets towards and over the 25 foot mark as 25 foot boats with only 8 foot beam really start to loose the effectiveness of the length.

2.5 metres is a legal width not requiring any other special considerations. Once one exceeds 2.5 metres then there are many requirements that can/will affect these, such as limited to certain roads, zones, speed limts etc etc and requiring signs, lights, flags and that type of stuff. Not only does the width become an issue but also the overall length when determining just where an over width vehicle/load can travel without further permits, escorts etc.

Over width becomes a real issue once over 3.5 metres but there's very few boat rigs in this category or even approaching this category.

Cheers, Kerry.

boatboy50
02-10-2004, 01:27 PM
Hey Kerry,
You seem to be pretty knowledgable. Im importing one of those american beasts at the moment. Its oversize (2.58 beam) which doesnt concern me much, but im wondering what i will need to do to the trailer to make it registerable/roadworthy here. Im told i may have to change the brakes and couplings, even though it is apparently the best system used right across the US.
Do you have any suggestions or links?

Gorilla_in_Manila
02-10-2004, 02:02 PM
Guys, if you got an oversize load, there is a phone number to call on the link I gave above. Just goto the bottom of the page and click on "What if your load's to big."
Other roadworthy / registration info is on the site also: download pamphlet, front projections, rear projections etc etc.
Oh what the hell, here's the link
http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/driver.nsf/0f122c06d5c309324a2565ca00059c43/0e379679b54fb7db4a2568430010f15d?OpenDocument

Here's the link to 634kb's of bedtime reading "All about safe towing"
http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/driver.nsf/index/safetowing
Enjoy.

Practically every day of the week, two or three dive boats towed by troopcariers drive past my old man's place at Byron (yes I know its NSW but it will be similar in QLD) with a couple of flags, "oversized" sign and a flashing light. I don't think its a real hassle doing it, but costs might be a concern.

Good Luck
Jeff

eggbeater
02-10-2004, 04:40 PM
Giday Loozitt.I owned a fully enclosed tandem axle tilt car trailer that was over width by 160mm.Before being regersted i had to get a letter typed up from the cop shop next door (Logan)which basically say's that the person towing the trailer is aware it is oversize and must avoid crossing centerline of road at any time.This became the permit and the trailer could be used 24hrs a day in Qld only.Hope this helps.

Kerry
02-10-2004, 05:08 PM
Darren, The US doesn't have a monoply on what might be or might not be "best" and regardless of that when in Oz one must do what ozzies have to do, conform to the ADR's. More often than not they might not make much sense but them's the rules.

8cm in reality isn't a big deal but 8cm is still 8cm over width so for insurance and rego purposes then you really need to check things out properly and your state transport department are going to be the ones who call the shots.

Cheers, Kerry.

Kiktz
07-10-2004, 07:47 AM
Can you guys help?
I have been trying to find out what the regulations are regarding lights on the wheel guard. I currently have yellow and red lights.(Yellow to the front and red to the back) Do reflectors sufice?
I am wanting to get my tralier re-wired as it has been a while since it has been done and up grade to LED lights. I have been trying to find out the requirments but have not been able to thus far.

Dr_Dan
07-10-2004, 09:07 AM
Had a family friend a while ago with a Cairns Custom Craft cat. Was oversized (not sure of the dimensions). He had to have a sign on the top of his pajero and a flashing amber light whenever he was towing it. Was a while ago now, so not sure of current regs. Makes you feel important when you got a flashing light cos of your boat!

Kerry
07-10-2004, 11:02 AM
Kiktz, You need to acquire yourself a copy of VSB1 - Building Small Trailers. Essentially all lights must comply with the ADR's

For trailers over 1600mm wide requires 2 white lights to the front but these may be amber if also being used as side markers. These must be within specifications with regards height above ground, distance in from outside of trailer and minimum separation width.

Rear tail lights (2) are red and also as sepcific heights/distances & clearances etc. Two stop lights must at least be fitted within height specifications etc and there can be more than 2 stop lights if they can be fitted within thre clearance specs.

Then there's the indicator lights (showing amber) to the rear and all must meet the distance/height specs etc etc and don't forget the number plate light.

Then for trailers more than 2.1 metres wide or over 7.5 metres must have clearance lights and side marker lights. If over 7.5 metres (overall including drawbar) then there must also be additional side lights midway along the trailer, however boat trailers not having much framework to fit things to can get away with one side light midway (normally on the mudguards).

There's also allowance for grouping of lights for things like boat trailers etc as long as specs are met.

THEN in addition in the lighting you ALSO require front/side and rear reflectors, which again have height and separation distances etc etc.

Two (2) white reflectors must be fitted to the front of a trailer.

Two (2) red reflectors must be fitted to the rear of a trailer.

Amber side reflectors are dependent on the overall length of the trailer. The basic conditions are :- one amber reflector must be fitted to the middle third of the total trailer length. There must be a reflector within 3 metres of the front of the trailer and a reflector within 1 metre of the rear end. Distance between reflectors must not exceed 3 metres.

I've probably left something out but no reflectors don't suffice alone.

Cheers, Kerry.

Kiktz
07-10-2004, 04:55 PM
Thanks heaps Kerry, You definitely have a wealth of information. I know our trailer is 2260mm apx wide haven't really worried about the overall length, but I will check the boat is 19" 6. Could you please let me know via post or PM where I can get my hands on ADR regs?

Once again Thanks Heaps

Kerry
07-10-2004, 05:43 PM
Transport department guys should have hard copy version but these appear to be the same deal in readable version http://www.dotrs.gov.au/transreg/vsb/vsb_01.htm

or printable (PDF) version http://www.dotrs.gov.au/transreg/vsb/PDF/vsb_01.pdf

Cheers, Kerry.

Kiktz
08-10-2004, 05:48 AM
Cheers Mate on to it this morning!!!

magicpudding
08-10-2004, 09:01 AM
Kerry, that clears up alot of suspicions i've had for ages. However, what are the requirement's of 'clearence lights' for trailers over 7.5m long and what is a clearence light? I cant see anything with much detail in that doccument. From memory our trailer from the end of the outboards to the drawbar reaches over 9m!

Cheers, C.J. Maycock

loozitt
08-10-2004, 09:50 AM
Thanks All for your info,

Since you all know so much about this topic, what do you know about the braking system on a trailer.

I have a trailer and boat that weighs in at apprx 2300KG
It is a dual axle trailer, with only cable brakes on the front axle. After reading the link that Kerry provided, it has made me aware that it is neccary for my trailer to have brakes on every wheel. It states that any trailer over 2 tonne must have brakes on
every wheel. And must have break away breaks as well.

Does any one know where I can get these break away brakes, and what sort of money I'm looking at. What is the best system to get, electric or hydraulic.

Kerry
08-10-2004, 12:09 PM
C.J (my interpretation)

The way I read this thing is that boat trailers get some dispensation as it is generally not possible due to physical design to mount lights "exactly" as per the spec.

Front position lamps, Clearance lamps and Side marker lamps due to physical distance and attachment constraints generally end up as one set of Amber/front & Red/rear "width/clearance/side lights".

For the over 7.5 metre trailer there's a dispensation that if the lights can not be fitted more than 2.5 metres apart then only the rear most set is required and really on a boat trailer about the only place to fit lights is the mudguards (and less than 2.5 metres long) so only one set is required.

Clearance lamps are more in place on say a caravan and mounted as high as possible on the corners front and rear but bit difficult to do this on a boat trailer.

Cheers, Kerry.

Kerry
08-10-2004, 12:24 PM
Loozitt, At 2300kg with cable brakes on one axle you are certainly illegal, big time.

Really once one steps over that magic 2000kg mark the whole issue of brakes becomes a whole new (expensive) ballgame.

I would reckon there would be many 2000kg rated trailers that go over weight but the requirements under 2000kg are easy and if like magic 2000kg becomes it.

As for Electric or Hydraulic "true" electric brakes really have no place on a boat trailer and effectively the best system is hydraulic actuated discs but I do believe there are some mechanical (cable) activated discs that could also fit the bill.

With hydraulic discs then comes the decision to use vaccum or electric to run the hydraulics.

Don't know much about the electric driven htdraulic systems (like sensor brake etc) but Vaccum and especially when the letters PBR exist on it they are generally gold plated based on the cost. Vaccum is expensive but up until recently about the only choice but the Sensor Brake type systems would be what I would be looking at as the vehicle setup is way much easier than bloody vaccum.

Regardless of the system the break-a-way side of things has to meet the same spec in that the instant the trailer ever becomes detached from the tow vehicle the breaks must automatically come on and stay on for at least 15 minutes (I think). Some systems use vaccum (tanks), some use a separate battery, others (like Sensor Brake) ? not sure.

Cheers, Kerry.