View Full Version : How many hours do you do?
23-10-2004, 04:40 AM
Just took the Honda 130 in for its first service since I've had it.
The hour metre showed 156. I purchased the boat in July (this year) and it had 65 hours.
I got the service centre to trace the serial number - it was sold in 1998. That means the motor had done 65 hours in 6 years. Can you beleive that. Who the hell buys a new Honda and then never uses it ?????
Anyone else with figures like this?
Bugman
23-10-2004, 05:00 AM
Mine only had 80 hours on it at 31/2 yr old. I've had it 18 months and it now reads 380 :-)
23-10-2004, 05:50 AM
I dont use mine much, honest :-X
Zeeke
23-10-2004, 05:53 AM
ive had my new yamaha 40 for 4 weeks at most now.. i did 10hrs in 2 and a lil bit days.. its now done 19hrs
RyanP
23-10-2004, 09:32 AM
30 hours in 5 months. But with 2 small children, sometimes I feel that we have done well to get out in the boat that much.
Wowser
moondancer
23-10-2004, 10:10 AM
I bought my rig April this year, just after Easter. At 5 years old it had 80 hours up. I've done nearly 40 since then! (and whinge that I dont get out enough!!)
Lawry
Sportfish_5
23-10-2004, 11:26 AM
Not enough hours for me ;)
I dont do any trolling much in the cat and do roughly 200 hours a year but when i was pro fishing id do that in 2 months, the hard part is the dealers recomend you change impellors every 100hrs, try adding up the cost of that with 2 engines 6 times a year, needless to say i didnt stick to the recomended services, i think youl find that most keen fishos do over 50 hours...foxy
SeaSaw
23-10-2004, 03:41 PM
Lets see ... had new engine for 6 weeks #:D .... done 18 hours .... thats 3 hours per week #;D .... 52 weeks in a year.
Total 156 hours per annum yipee #;D ;D ;D #
Dont tell Mrs SeaSaw as that will be nearly twice what I have averaged per annum over the last 4 or 5 years
Burley_Boy
23-10-2004, 07:34 PM
Hope I do 30 hours this year :-[
i reacon i've done zero hours in the last 3 months.
whenever i'm not working, the wx is bad.
i've heard under use is the worst form of abuse you
can subject an outboard to. i do a preservation run
every 4 weeks or so in times like these.
ken4159
24-10-2004, 12:41 AM
Do about 150hrs /year
WON'T BE ADDING TO IT THIS WEEKEND= F---ING WIND
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
jack.d
24-10-2004, 01:56 AM
G'day, since purcahsing my Webster Twin fisher 2.5 years ago I've clocked up 240 hours, and I haven't been fishin much the past 5 months. I had originally clocked up about 80 odd hours in the first year while living in Canberra, and clocked up heaps since we moved to Hervey Bay. Starting to build our house now so the boat will have to be sold, isn't it always the way with men and their toys! But I'm already looking at what to replace it with next year when I can! Cheers Jack.D
DNO40
24-10-2004, 02:48 AM
62 hrs in 6 months thus far. ::)
Big_Kev
24-10-2004, 03:51 AM
Brett I think I would be sceptical of the validity of that hour meter reading. On a nice rig like that.
Only one wire to pull, or purhaps it has had a new meter.
But then again it probably is correct.
I useually get between 60 and 100 a year. But as things are at the moment I hardly have got out at all.
Cheers Kev 8)
davo189
24-10-2004, 09:18 AM
In the new rig, 42 hrs since April. Should be quite a bit more except for the f^#*%g wind!!!
reef05
24-10-2004, 10:41 AM
I've had my rig for twelve months and done around 65hrs in that time my twins arrived in the world so that holds me back a bit,and every time I get leave to go fishing from the wife the wind picks up cruel world we live in :(
24-10-2004, 11:31 AM
The old hour meter hey!
a cheap way to freshen up a donk!
done 256 hrs in 18 months on my 130 honda :)
Not sure about other donks but ficht engines have the hours registered on the engine computer , wouldn't that be handy to know :P
Big_Kev
24-10-2004, 01:55 PM
Not sure about other donks but ficht engines have the hours registered on the engine computer , wouldn't that be handy to know :P
Spanish I think any new age engine with a management modual/controller/computer (whatever you want to call it) will do the same tricks.
A well set up dealer should be able to read the history I would think.
This will give insight to how many hours, how hard it has been driven and all all the other infinite details to the engines life, or imenent death.
8)
bignick
24-10-2004, 03:41 PM
Bought my new Allison in January this year and have clocked up 87 hours so far. Wife's recent prolonged stay in hospital prior to the arrival of our son slowed things down a bit. My new fishing buddy and heir will be home from hospital soon and I must catch some fish (brain food) for him (and us) to eat. Teach 'em young, I say. I'll be out doing that as soon as the weather gets a bit kinder to us. Willl this wind EVER go away? The Wahoo will be here soon and the Minister for War and Finance (aka the Wife) has not sampled Wahoo, a pleasure I hope to introduce her to soon.
BIGNICK.
Cloud_9
24-10-2004, 05:12 PM
mine got just under 200 hours in 18 months
just on the impeller thing if your useing the thing all the time your pump will show signs of failure before it dead,IE low preasure. yuor not going to get a breakup type failure when useing in the pro type running environment. E-Tec 300hours pump change .
not a special pump just big like 175 or 200 hp.
so why cost yourself unwanted expence??
Cheers Cloud 9
aquarius
24-10-2004, 05:27 PM
Bought my rig a year ago with 40 hrs on the clock and to date reads 140hrs.
Like most have said would be more if the weather had been less windy on the weekends...aaaaarrrrrrr
Cheers Brent
PS Don't know if others do this but i always fire up the motor and run it on the muffs for 5 minutes every 2 weeks regardless to whether im going out on the water or not.
If i don't do this the motor is difficult to start.
Cloud 9- engines used for pro work usually have a shorter warrantee periods and failing to do regular service work on the specified periods may void it.But many things are unrealistic. For the record ive had two impellor failures where the centre hub has seperated from the outer rubber blades, this has happened on engines at about 180 hrs intervals, lucky i had duel engines, but you can get home at idle if you had to...foxy
DaneCross
25-10-2004, 10:18 AM
Bought mine 3yrs ago, it was 3yrs and 100hrs old at the time... its now 550hrs+ old. More hours the better I rekon, means you're getting your moneys worth ;D
On a side note, my mate talked his Dad into buying a Formosa over a year ago, its done about 15hrs since purchased, it has acquired the nickname of "Garden Gnome" ::) ;D
DC
flattymattyb
26-10-2004, 02:59 PM
Bought my Yammie 60 4st 6mths ago and clicked over to 100hrs on the weekend. Although spent a good few hours at idle while prawning and drifting Kalinga Bank but that problem has been fixed with a good dose of minn kota ;D
Matty
27-10-2004, 03:47 AM
I've managed to rack up 26 hrs in the new rig in 3 months at this rate about 100 hrs a year :o ;D
Damo.