PDA

View Full Version : Mounting an Outboard Motor

MAD-MIC
09-11-2004, 06:18 AM
Hi everyone,

I have a question for anyone who might know a fair bit about mounting outboards. I have never done this before, so I thought I would throw this scenario out there and see if anyone has any advice.

I am about to put a Tohatsu 50hp onto an aluminium pod I have had made up. For some reason, the "lip" which the motor will hang from on the pod is only about 50mm high and the "hook" or the arch on the outboard mount which sits over the lip is about 80mm which means that when the motor is sitting on the lip there will be about a 30mm gap between the top of the lip and the top of the arch, and I may be wrong but I assume that this point is load bearing. (I hope all of this is making sense so far). There are two bolts (one on each side) that can be done up on the hook, and there are four holes on the vertical that can mount bolts into the vertical (face) of the pod.

Question: Is it important to sit the motor fully on the lip of the pod (I would have to shorten the "hooks" so that it will sit flat on the lip) or is it ok to have this gap knowing that 4 bolts will hold the motor vertically on the pod anyway?

Anyone out there please help!!! I hope I have explained this with enough detail.

FLATHEAD1
09-11-2004, 06:25 AM
It is important that the cav plate is located level or just below the bottom of the hull. This is what determines at what height the motor is mounted. Check the manual.

The lip you talk of is not load bearing. The four mounting bolts take the weight. #

Measure twice. Drill once.

Cheers
FLATHEAD1

Aaron_Fogarty
09-11-2004, 07:11 AM