View Full Version : Import Arrives Finally!

boatboy50
26-11-2004, 04:13 PM
Hey Guys and Gals,
Just letting anyone who is interested (i had a few emails) know that my import has finally arrived.
As some know I recently ordered a secondhand 1999 Seaswirl Striper 23 Walkaround with 200hp Johnson from the US, and had it bought in.
Everything went very well, and i can say i have now seen the boat here in Brissie.
She spent a week longer than anticipated on the docks here (damn quarantine!)
The boat is tomorrow being bought to my home on a flat bed where it will be checked by a mechanic, and re-assembled, before i finally take delivery hopefully tomorrow afternoon (if all goes to plan, but!)
Ive crawled over the boat on the docks, and can say i am exstatic with the result.
I ordered the boat on September 20, and am just recieving it now, with no extra costs popping up (love the dollar!)
The boat is pretty dirty at the moment, and will need a couple of weeks work to get her shining again, but is generally in good condition.
Ive now got to go through the process of getting the trailer registered, which will be fun in itself!
I can gladly say i would do it again without any hesitation, and no doubt will.

NQCairns
26-11-2004, 04:23 PM
Nice work, need pics, Sounds like a brand ice cream to us Aussies. You would have taken some ;D ;D

boatboy50
26-11-2004, 04:28 PM
Guys,
Following on from a couple of PMS already.
I bought the boat from Tampa Bay, Florida.
It was then trucked to Savannah, Georgia, and shipped via the Panama Canal and Auckland to Brissie.
All up costs, including transport, Dock costs, Taxes, Gst, Import Taxes and permits, Inspections, cleans, Australian trucking, Quarantine ect ect came to a total of, hold your breath, just under 15k for a big 23 foot boat. I bought the boat at a good price, so it was definately worth it.
I actually had someone helping me who looked after all these details, but thats the rough price of costs.

boatboy50
26-11-2004, 04:29 PM
Piccies are coming. Its not in a piccie state just yet.

Big_Kev
26-11-2004, 05:02 PM
Sounds like a great boat Darren.
Can't wait to see the pic's.
How did you first see the boat.
Cheers Kev.

clutter
26-11-2004, 05:32 PM
Darren,
How about some before and after shots, you know, before you hit it with the spray and wipe.

Clutter

26-11-2004, 05:43 PM
Darren,

Thats excellent buying.

Well done

Sportfish_5
26-11-2004, 05:48 PM
Darren - Sounds as though you did well ;D

I spent a bit of time drooling over them at the boatshow :P :P :P :P

Cant wait to see the pics.

Brooksy
27-11-2004, 10:15 AM
Have dreamt about doing the same for sometime, but have never had the time to get myself organised. So good work. Will be good to sea the finished project.

joeT
28-11-2004, 09:09 AM
Pics Pics Pics! ;D

redspeckle
29-11-2004, 01:14 PM
Ive now got to go through the process of getting the trailer registered, which will be fun in itself!
hows it going to go on width the boat ? i read in boating mag some time ago about U.S.A boats where to wide for QLD roads, i don't much about seaswirl boats just asking the question, sounds like a good buy but cannot get on the road might have to dry or wet dock it or have wide load signs on it the means day time travel what shame in that no night time fishing :(

boatboy50
29-11-2004, 03:11 PM
Hey,
Yep. Shes over the width. But its not too much of an issue actually. The signs and flags are easy done, about 10 mins extra to the day, so no worries there.
Theres actually no restriction to night time towing though, as long as you have the rest of the gear.
Im not too keen on towing any further than the 2 k's to the ramp anyway, as its pretty damn heavy and big!!!! Id rather do the k's on the water.
Im going to have more of an issue making the brakes legal in oz, as the system is different to anything else weve got here.
It all starts tomorrow when my importer starts to organise making her legal.
Im not too fussed though, because ive been thinking about leaving her on the trailer in a storage area somewhere, so i wont need to register it.
Many options, just need to decide on which 1 is best for me.

ken4159
29-11-2004, 03:29 PM
Darren, wheres the pics

Ken

boatboy50
30-11-2004, 04:41 PM
Hey,
The piccies i have so far are not worth showing.
Im also wondering how do i shrink a 350k image down to below 100k to post it?

Reel-Job
30-11-2004, 05:58 PM
Darren send the photo to My Documents click on Image up the top and change to 640x480 then right click and then click Rename and type in boat or somethink like that.Hope it works for you so we can see the Rig from the USA.
Lou
Reel-Job

02-12-2004, 07:01 PM
Along the same lines.

I am currently fishing on a 35' game boat with twin Yanmar Diesels. The owner picked it up in Singapore or Malaysia for $70G US. Cost $20G AUS to get it here and now he has a boat that would be worth around $300G AUS if he was to sell it here tommorrow.

Brooksy
03-12-2004, 09:29 AM
Is that Reel Crazy Smithy?

03-12-2004, 11:33 AM
Yep. He is looking at a few more and particularly some that sunk over in Miami after that big hurricane. Going real cheap and no tradesmen left to fix them for years.

cooky
03-12-2004, 12:39 PM
you could most probably buy one in associated countries with Deckhands that would pay for the trip (one way) and the boat.

Free boats- wahoo!! :o

Mortalkombat
04-12-2004, 03:16 PM
Smithy how is your mate soursing these boats?

boatboy50
04-12-2004, 04:16 PM
Hey Guys,
Here (I hope) is the first pic i have been able to get of my baby.
The trailer needs work, but is not really as bad as it looks. Just needs new guards, new hitch and new lighting set up.
Ive put that on hold for a little while anyways, as im keen to service her and leave her in the water for a while as i finish the trailer, but theres no hurry.

propdinger
04-12-2004, 04:29 PM
rename it something simple like ........... myimport

boatboy50
04-12-2004, 04:30 PM
Didnt work! Doh!
Ill try again.

boatboy50
04-12-2004, 04:31 PM
hey
why does it say attachment deleted?

boatboy50
04-12-2004, 04:33 PM
try again

boatboy50
04-12-2004, 04:35 PM
getting closer

boatboy50
04-12-2004, 04:36 PM
hmmm.
Why hasnt it worked?
i can only see the red cross in the square as usual

boatboy50
04-12-2004, 05:46 PM
Last Time I try!
Hope it works

aussiebasser
04-12-2004, 06:17 PM
Love the colour scheme of the white with red cross mate. The boat's lines are a little squarish though. ;D

predator
04-12-2004, 07:10 PM
;)

FLATHEAD1
04-12-2004, 07:41 PM
Give you $16,000 for it. You really have scored yourself a great boat and a bargin to boot.

Where did you source it from. I have looked at a few sites and none of the boats on offer can compare with yours.

FLATHEAD1

boatboy50
05-12-2004, 04:25 PM
Hey,
Thank you to predator for posting the pic. I seem to be having some problems. Changing to cable shortly so we'll see how i go then.
16K wont go close to buying it, but im sure snapper can come up with a fee a little closer to the mark! 15K was transport and import costs only, boat purchase was on top of that.
I bought the boat privately through an importer, but I do know she lived in Tampa, Florida. I believe she was a bank repossession.
She hit the water for the first time today, and im pretty impressed.
The Johno didnt struggle as i thought she would, but jumped onto the plane and cruised on 4000 @ 25 knots. Even more impressive was that she pulled out to 34 knots flat out, in a 23 footer!
She handles beautifully, and is rock solid (i had 8 big guys in her at one stage!)
The joy was soured by putting $220 fuel in her, and the fuel guage still only read under half! 530 litre tank apparently.
Im in love!

ken4159
07-12-2004, 06:46 AM
looks good Darren

snappa
07-12-2004, 09:19 AM
:) what a GIN palace.. i could see some snappa coming over the side.. ;D
i'll have 27k :o in the hip pocket on saturday before the races.. ???

just call me if you want me to come around... :P

Kiktz
07-12-2004, 10:02 AM
Boat Boy,

Congratulations on your new Baby, she looks like a great rig.
How many hours has the engine got on her?

Cheers kiktz

ba229
07-12-2004, 12:00 PM
lmao thats the snappa we have all come to know ;D

Nice boat. Time to get some blood on it :-)