View Full Version : What boat is this

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 01:52 PM
A while back my father in laws neighbor offered my this boat for $500, at the time I didnt take up the offer.
Since then the neighbor has sold and heading for tassie and has given this boat to my father in law and I was just wondering if anyone knows what type of boat it is?
Boy he has alot of work in front of him.

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 01:54 PM
Another of the front

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 01:55 PM
The side

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 01:56 PM
Another of the side

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 01:58 PM
And the back

Tight Lines
Adrian

basserman
16-01-2005, 02:09 PM
very hard to tell with out any fitting out left on it
just looks like it has come out of the molds
but maybe possabily a old carrabin (bad spelling)

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 02:17 PM
Not just out of the molds from what Ive been told, but I could be wrong.
Was originally from Gympie.
Been laying around for quite some time up at bundy.
Who knows all I know that he is going to be spending alot of time in the garage.

Tight Lines
Adrian

basserman
16-01-2005, 02:23 PM
mate ya need to get some pointers off blaze LOL ;D

mate for the price you got it is going to be a good project boat no matter the make ;)

16-01-2005, 02:32 PM
not a bad looking shape, what size, lot of fun to be had there

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 02:37 PM
Hi blaze
Thought about you while I was at the father in laws, told him about your boat.
The boat is a 17ft and yeh he has alot of plans for it.
He is talking about spending $20 to $25,ooo on it, thats including a new four stroke

Tight Lines
Adrian

Dignity
16-01-2005, 03:18 PM
my first thought was a Pride

Sam

16-01-2005, 03:30 PM
not sure the top is pride like, that was my thoughts too on first glance. Looks like its only very short in the transom, my guess from pics it would currently be short shaft 15"

ba229
16-01-2005, 03:35 PM
lol I can hear Blaze drooling from here.

That is a good looking hull but. The others are right. It will make a great project boat.

Sportfish_5
16-01-2005, 03:52 PM
Looks like an old Pongrass ????

noluck
16-01-2005, 05:34 PM
or crest craft .

adriancorrea
16-01-2005, 05:34 PM
Thanks guys
Ill let him know and keep everyone up to date with its progress

Tight Lines
Adrian

MrMullet
16-01-2005, 06:47 PM
oh boy would i love to get my hands on a hull like that. Are you selling it by any chance ;D ???

Just joking!

would make a really good boat once its rebuilt!

Volvo
16-01-2005, 06:50 PM
:)Pound ta pinch of shite its a Swiftcraft ;).

adriancorrea
17-01-2005, 11:54 AM
Looks like this boat has lots of names lol
Thanks again guys
Mr mullet after all the work he is going to go through I think he will never sell it, but he can give it to me :D ::)

Tight Lines
Adrian

familyman
17-01-2005, 12:18 PM
Its a pongrass waverider 5.2x2.25 fine in the bow but overall a good design according to jeff webster's second hand boat secrets.Also prone to rot in the transom and floor but what 25yo boat isnt.

Big_Kev
17-01-2005, 12:51 PM
I don't want to add to the long list of names Adrian, but to me it looks like a lot of work.
Did all the fittings and windows etc come with the hard work ahead?
At 17ft it would make a great boat for the bay,and I rekon a yanmar would fit just nice between the stringers. LOL.
You wanna be doing some smooth talking to the outlaw. :-*
Cheers mate, Kev.

adriancorrea
18-01-2005, 04:23 AM
Yeh Kev all the bits and pieces where on it but Pete has stripped it all to get started he lives at Elliot Heads and plans on fishing the reefs up there, looks like plenty of trips to the inlaws lol

Tight Lines
Adrian

Glind
18-01-2005, 04:35 AM
Looks like an old Pongrass to me.

MAD-MIC
18-01-2005, 05:13 AM
Whatever it used to be is it's a bloody nice looking boat with a sh!tload of potential. It mostly looks reasonably neat but the transom looks a bit scary.

Has anyone thought of closing the transom off and hanging the motor off a pod? It looks like you could do with a bit more space on the deck.

Best of luck and itchies during the project!!

adriancorrea
18-01-2005, 06:05 AM
Yeh he has thought off that mad-mic but he is still toying around with ideas.
He want the back to be the same hieght as the sides and then the pod

Tight Lines
Adrian

mini696
18-01-2005, 06:11 AM
As a few people have said, it looks like a Pongrass (what a horrible name).

My uncle owns one of them, has a brand new 2-Stroke 50HP on the back, the upper deck is green (hence its name "Green heap of Sh*t Tub). Its a good boat, and gets along quite nice. Its a bit rolly in the chop you get in Gladstone Harbour.

Bashir
18-01-2005, 06:12 AM
I would have called it for a swiftcraft seagull / carribean sandpiper.

jimbo59
18-01-2005, 08:27 AM
look im being fair dinkum here cut the top off fit centre console throw a coat of jam on it and fit an old 70 jono on it a
nd pi-- it off and buy a boat up and running cos lifes to short have u ever thought of getting a boat from japan?i was just loking at a 24 footer wiht 2 hondas on the bum for12000 it will owe u 18000-20000 in your yard landed :-X :-X :-X

sorry jimbo

Bashir
18-01-2005, 08:46 AM
Jimbo, any details where you can get such a boat for such a price, very, very interested. :o

adriancorrea
18-01-2005, 09:22 AM
Not mine Jim
And I think hes looking forward to building it to suit him

Tight Lines
Adrian

skippa
19-01-2005, 03:22 PM
Yep,

Definately a Pongrass, we had the 15.5 ft runabout version, 68 model, a great bay boat with a nice Deep Vee. Rides Almost as good as my Haines....

The one in the pic is the Waverider 5.2, neighbour had one the same, awful green color deck (not good for sea sickness)

Good boat, looks like a good project.

Tony 8)

Jackko
19-01-2005, 03:57 PM
Will try and get a few pics of one that is down the road from me looks very much the same. Yes its a pongrass

regards JK

Brett_Hoskin
20-01-2005, 03:01 AM
Looks like an old Pongrass ????

My thoughts were first Pride....and then Pongass ooops Pongrass. Those clinkers are a bit wide for a Pride..??

Gone_soft
20-01-2005, 07:25 AM
Definitely a Pongrass Waverider, 17'3 " in the old scale. I had one for years and replaced the transom due to dry rot. I put a full height transom and a pod on the back for a 120 Hp engine. I removed the coaming back to the transom and gave myself an extra 9 square feet of deck which is a lot for a 17 foot boat. I've got some photos at home if the renovator of this craft is interested. I did this in 1989, before pods were heard of and claim to have invented pods long before the mainstream manufacturers copied me (TIC). It was my first boat and I learnt a lot about boating from it. Fibreglass mat and resin must have been cheap back then because they used plenty of it. Quite good solid boats but fairly heavy.