View Full Version : suzuki outboards good or bad??
propdinger
15-01-2005, 12:31 PM
ok awhile ago there was lots of talk about how they will go and if they will last etc etc
now its been 6 months or more anyone with a suzuki or fish's out of a boat with one let us know how they are performing what sort of boat there on and what size engine it is
im MAYbe looking at one soon so i would appreciate any feed back on them
i also hear they have dropped in price is this true????
thanks guys
jeff
CQ_Fisher
15-01-2005, 12:56 PM
Jeff,
I have been a subscriber to Fisherman and Boatowner (F&B) for ages, the editor Peter Webster has been working with boats for longer than i have been alive and i take his word as gospel. He regularly gives the suzuki outboards big wrapps in his mag and has recently fitted 2 x 140's to their own project boat. They are cheaper and lighter to most, if not all of their competition. I currently have a 60HP 4-stroke yammy and i love it but i would definately consider the suzukis if i was going to re-power or upgrade. Just my opinion.
JD
Kerry
15-01-2005, 01:03 PM
One of the worst PR exercies Suzuki ever did to Oz was pull up stumps, leave the country and leave Suzuki owners in la la land. For that exercise it really doesn't matter how good the product is/was could be or might be, companies simply don't do that without leaving some bad taste regardless.
Now they've come back or more importantly someone else started their comeback for them. Well at least someone with a bit more foresight than Suzuki ever had.
Cheers, Kerry.
ba229
15-01-2005, 01:46 PM
Mmmm Kerry, perhaps you misunderstood the question. ;)
As for feedback on the engines I can't offer any.
Kerry
15-01-2005, 02:54 PM
No mate I don't misunderstand the question at all, the question was the good AND the bad well that's been the bad bit, no point in having the best engine in the world without the backup and continued support. Suzuki saw fit in the past to leave Oz and it's users stranded for quite some time. That wasn't good business not good business at all regardless of how the motors perform.
No point in relying on any engine if ongoing support can not be guaranteed. Maybe they have learnt something from this rather previous stupid and under estimated action in pulling out of the country.
Cheers, Kerry.
propdinger
15-01-2005, 03:03 PM
i know all about their past as my father was in the industry for years. so only need the goods on the new motors
thanks for the imput though kerry
jeff
dugong
15-01-2005, 03:33 PM
Jeff
I have a 30 hp suzuki tiller 2 stroke,its only a few months old so i can't say yet how reliable over the long term they are personally.
But one of the reasons i bought a suzuki was there reputation as a good reliable engine.
In the past i have had mariner,evinrude,mercuryand johnson some were great engines others a pain in the you know what >:(.
Only time will tell.
As for Kerry's comments lets hope there are no more episodes like that from any of the manufacturers. I had a brand new johnson at the time omc went bust :(.
Dug
Outsider
15-01-2005, 03:51 PM
Just got my 140hp 4 stroke back from it's 1st service (20hrs).
Can't say enough about this engine so far. As an ex 2stroke owner I couldn't believe how smooth, quiet and smoke and smell free the Suzi 140 was.
In my cruise craft with 115 Johno 160l of fuel would be lucky to last the trip from Bribie to Cape Moreton, some trolling and running round and back.
193km of trolling and running round on the Suzi used 80L. Couldn't fricken believe it ;D
Can't comment on too much else - but I was tossing between a yammy, a honda and the Suzi. When it came down to it, I'd seen yammys and hondas being towed home across the bay by VMR - but never a Suzi. Weight and size certainly are attractive too.
I'm not worried - takes time from fishing!
Hi Jeff,
I have a 70Hp 4 Stroke Suzuki I have had it for nearly a year now,
I am very happy with it so far it is cheap to run, is very smooth, quick to respond and is very quite.
tonyp
15-01-2005, 04:50 PM
Hi Jeff,
I have a 70Hp 4 Stroke Suzuki I have had it for nearly a year now,
I am very happy with it so far it is cheap to run, is very smooth, quick to respond and is very quite.
Is that you JJ ?
You can say more than that! It does look good on your boat and have never seen you have a problem with it. Runs well and very quite.
Nup me not sponsored by them i have an Evinrude. ;D
Have heard some people complain they are so quite that they dont know if the motor is going or not.
Hi tony,
Yeah it is JJ, Thanks yeah it does look good, you are right about not being sure if it is running at times at idle you have to look for the jet of water comming out.
You can talk to some one sitting on the other side of the boat going full noise across the water and not have to yell.
15-01-2005, 05:43 PM
Hi tony,
Yeah it is JJ, Thanks yeah it does look good, you are right about not being sure if it is running at times at idle you have to look for the jet of water comming out.
You can talk to some one sitting on the other side of the boat going full noise across the water and not have to yell.
Does that mean I could hear the wife flapping her gums whilst the motor is running...hell..that would be enough reason to have a screaming two stroke.
tonyp
15-01-2005, 05:56 PM
Does that mean I could hear the wife flapping her gums whilst the motor is running...hell..that would be enough reason to have a screaming two stroke.
Will pay that one !
noluck
16-01-2005, 05:48 PM
I had 65hp 2st. oil ing. very good motor never had problem only to till i hit somthing in water and f**** up g.box .i had to wait 7 weeks for parts from japan.
And i will steel buy new suzuki if i ever going to upgarde my yamaha
cheers No_luck
pegasus
20-01-2005, 02:18 PM
hi, I have a DF90 suzi since May04. Its on a (1993) 5.3m 1/2 cab Haines construction- it has been a great motor- very quiet,smooth,good even torque,reliable and econimical.The dealer was good and continues to be. It is going in for its 80 hr service shortly. I can't fault em. :) I got a good price and it seemed the way to go- no regrets here.
peterbo3
20-01-2005, 04:11 PM
I have the 90HP 4st on the CC. It is a Johnson - Suzi painted white but with Johnno throttle & instruments. New last May coming up to 50 hours. No probs at all. Went to Prudhoe Is off Mackay over the hols & did heaps of running around on the way out & out there. 5 POB. 23 miles each way from Campwin ramp. Used just on 60L at around 4200-4500 RPM- 35 to 40 KM HR. :o :o :o :o :o A return trip to Tempest from Scarborough with 2/3 POB with the old 75 Mariner would use 100-120L plus oil. But time will tell. :-X :-X :-X :-X
RyanP
21-01-2005, 12:15 AM
Gday, I have a DF115 on a 5.3m signature cuddy. No problems whatsoever except remembering to fill it up every now and then.
Very smooth and reliable so far, it has started first turn every time since i bought it and I have done 50hrs so far.
RyanP
AaronF
21-01-2005, 07:57 AM
Owned a 140hp 2 Stroke Oil Inj Carburetted engine on the last boat. Owned the engine when Suzuki was out of the marketplace but never had a problem getting replacement parts like a new prop or spark plugs but it always went to Neptune for servicing so maybe they knew were to go. Really even if you bought a Yammie does it mean that there is some part on the engine that wouldn't have to come from Japan ever? I think Kerry is being a little unfair as I never had an issue. Have used a small 4 stroke here in Canada (15hp) as a trolling engine on a 20ft fishing boat. It's good, a little louder than I'd like but it is a 2001 model so I'm sure they are improved a little. No problems with it at all and it really doesn't get looked after that well. I know that all I ever heard about them was that the gears and internal mechanisms on the Jap engines were way beefier than the equiv hp model from a North American producer. They sell well over here as does Yamaha but if they are cheaper you'd be a fool to not look seriously at one. Mine was economical, smokeless with synthetic oil, and never ever gummed up when trolling even for hours on end. Couldn;t fault it and I'm sure the guy who bought the Seafarer after me would say the same. Cheers - Aaron
jimbo59
23-01-2005, 03:04 PM
My mates got a 90hp on a 17 jbs its a beauty, But time will tell if they have fixed the corrosion problem of the older models.
go for it,
jimbo
billfisher
24-01-2005, 02:41 AM
I was looking at a new boat yesterday. The dealer fits Suzukis and I was quoted $4000 for a 30 hp 2 stroke. When I checked around I found out I could get a 30 hp Tohatsu for $3040. I was not a hard decision to go for the Tohatsu.
Hatch
25-01-2005, 12:53 PM
Gday
I am a fishing guide based out of Darwin and have a Suzi 140[the first one sold in the NT after Suzi came back on the market] on a 6m plate boat that is 2 years old and has 1600 hours on it.In that time it has been serviced as per the book and I have had not one problem with the motor and have nothing but praise for it.
There are alot of other guides up here using these motors as well as pro crabbers that have over 3000 hours use and no major problems reported.
I am about change over my motor and no guessing is needed to work out that its another Suzi 140.
Grant Hatcher
RyanP
26-01-2005, 04:03 AM
G'day Grant,
Music to my ears...
I have a Suzuki BF115.
RyanP