View Full Version : How to out Rooster Tail a jet ski??

James_V17L
31-01-2005, 01:40 PM
Imagine the look on my face when I headed out this morning
& looked around & saw this rooster tail coming from the back of my boat...can anyone figure out how this was happening????

Sportfish_5
31-01-2005, 01:48 PM
Show us a pic of the back of your boat while on the trailer

searaider
31-01-2005, 02:58 PM
Could it be comming off your sounder transducer ???

Searaider 2

Brett_Hoskin
31-01-2005, 03:03 PM
You have a live bait tank feeder which protudes under the back of the boat. When you travel water is fed to the bait tank. When you take the hose off it does exactly as is showm in the photo.

James_V17L
31-01-2005, 05:25 PM
Sorry guys the question was tongue in cheek...
Yes dumb ass me forgot to put the deck washer hose
back onto the fitting on the transom..& left the damn
hose at home...felt a bit silly driving around all day
like that.
Well diagnosed Brett...

nisrol
31-01-2005, 06:10 PM
james-v17l
Where do i get one of those did not know you could fit the motor of a jet ski under one of those engine covers .
I WANT ONE HAHAHA LOL must admit it does look good thou

cheers andy

James_V17L
31-01-2005, 06:34 PM
ha ha ha Andy,
Had some strange looks thats for sure.. ;D
Here is the offending unit..
As you can see I even tried to plug it up with silastic.
"Patent pending"..he he
Cheers,James.

01-02-2005, 03:43 AM
looks great, but where else is the spray going other than up in the air?

James_V17L
01-02-2005, 02:25 PM
looks great, but where else is the spray going other than up in the air?
The side of the outboard is getting a fair old spray...

seqfisho
02-02-2005, 10:33 AM
Hi James,

Nice looking rig, who did you canopy/targa, and have you got any pics of the boat and its fitout, that hull is one of the classics and great to see one looking like yours.

Regards Glen

James_V17L
02-02-2005, 06:27 PM
Thanks Glen,
This is my 2nd V17L...The targa set-up is actually a modified
unit of a cruise craft..they are great boats & if you can find one in good nick I consider them bloody good value for money..
Here is some pics...cheers,James

James_V17L
02-02-2005, 06:29 PM
V17L

James_V17L
02-02-2005, 06:35 PM
Inside..

James_V17L
02-02-2005, 06:38 PM
I am slowly restoring it..it has been well used over the years
& was in need of some tidying up.Starting to look pretty good.

adamleah
02-02-2005, 06:46 PM
Looks very similar to inside of my rig.....

I am trying to figure out where to mount rod holders in mine at the moment ...
Dont wanna throw em in the outer gunwhale" cause water will piss into em " and dont wanna mount em surface on the inside " cause I will run into em " .... thinking I need a decent Bait board with holders on it ... What you use to mount your rods in when fishing??

Where you get the Cruise craft rocket launcher from ?

And ... The void between the seats .... I cant tell if yours is filled in or not ?

Will have to catch up in bay and compare rigs

Adam

James_V17L
02-02-2005, 07:24 PM
A decent bait board is the way to go..I know what you mean about the rod holders on the outer gunwhale,they are a dead set pain in the ar$e..
I have a piece of marine ply over the void with a full length cushion..
I will find out more about the launchers..
Cheers..will have to catch up one day..James
Baitboard pic...
2 rod holders in baitboard
2 in outboard well..works well

seqfisho
03-02-2005, 12:56 PM
James,

Looks really good, it certainly doesn't show its age in the pics, the interior and exterior look like a much newer rig, the restoration is making a classic even better.

What sort of performance, consumption, range figures do you get, is the donk a 115 or 130?

Do you have any issues at anchor with two guys at the stern in any sort of swell/sea as it seems to sit a little low in the rear.

If I can get one am thinking of repowering with 115 4stk and putting a bait tank at the rear and wondering about your engine weight as a 4stk might be to heavy.

Thinking about suzukis, maybe even 140, not much difference in weight, and I like to go fast ::) ::) ;D

Regards Glen.

Brett_Hoskin
03-02-2005, 01:50 PM
Where is my prize?????? ;D ??? ??? ??? ???

James_V17L
03-02-2005, 02:20 PM
Hi Glen,
I have a 115 Yammy V4 Precision Blend.
I would definately go for the 135 or 140..the 115 is OK
& really good on fuel,but it wouldnt hurt to have a bit more power.My 1st V17L had a fully reco'ed V6 135 Black Max
& it was fast & great out of the hole.
I really need to work out the comsumption..but for example
I can put in at Manly..Harry Aitkensen..4 beacons..Tangas..
troll around..& return to Manly..use about 50-60litres..2 people
full esky.
I know what you mean about the stern sitting low..I have
had no troubles thus far...I am fairly chicken $hit about going
out in big swells..about the biggest was about 2m off flat rock
one day..I think cause the outboard cut away on the transom
is low it looks a bit scary.See the bait board pic.
4 Stroke..mmm that would be nice..140HP mmm even nicer!!!
Not sure on weights???
Adam,here is a better pic of the baitboard.
Cheers guys..Take care.

James_V17L
03-02-2005, 02:24 PM
Where is my prize?????? ;D ??? ??? ??? ???
She's in the mail... ;) ;)

skippa
03-02-2005, 04:38 PM
G'day James,

Mine will do about the same fuel wise. A trip to Tangas #last weekend from Manly covered 53 miles for just on 50 litres.

I work on a AVE consumption of 1 mile per litre. This is with 2 adults on board with all the usual fishing gear (plus the stuff I'm to lazy to take out)

I'm also considering a 4s or at least a EFI 2s. Mate has a 1750LE with Merc 150 2s EFI and it usually uses only half the fuel of mine.

Mr Caltex just loves me

Tony # 8)

James_V17L
03-02-2005, 04:43 PM
I tow my boat with a VQ Statesman with a 355ci Holden
stroker with all the gear...
MR.Optimax REALLY REALLY loves me.. :'( :(

Brett_Hoskin
03-02-2005, 06:24 PM
She's in the mail... ;) ;)

Fantastic ...can't wait.. When it arrives I will let everyone know what it is.

;D ;D ;D