View Full Version : Polyboats ... what is your opinion ???
Almost bought a 4.55 center console on the week-end but due to poor after market options that were fitted I decided against it. Also it had a 50hp Honda on the back and I was just getting up on the plane .... I'm sure it should do better than that ??? (flat out I think would have been 15 knots)
So people with poly's with a 50hp 4st on the back, what speed and how do they go. I think I may order a new one now with a 60hp 4st and all the factory fitted options I can get. It'll cost close to $19000 so at this price would I be better going for something else ? (Aluminium)
I am only new at this so when I look at second hand motors I have no idea what to look for so that's why I want to go new.
Thanks for any replies or advice !!!
Wild_Side
22-03-2005, 04:45 PM
Mate there's something wrong with that motor if it only pully 15kn on a poly. My poly has a 50 merc on it and it does around the 35mph loaded.
GO THE POLYCRAFT ;D ;D
NQCairns
22-03-2005, 05:15 PM
Wild side yours would be a 2stroke? There really is a world of difference between the two, the 4s seem very much harder to spin up.
basserman
22-03-2005, 05:26 PM
nah with a 50 4strok suziku they fly along
but then again big weight difrence between honda and suziku
polys are great and i would say more suited to a poeson that wants to coustomise their ride as they don't come with much but can be done up soo many diffrent ways
but as a first boat they would be very forgiveing as they a a fair bit more bang resitant and any scratches do hide well ;D
as for second hand motors if you don't know alot about boat motors i would very strongly recomend to stay away from them as probelms can be hidden easyly
Robbo_Townsville
22-03-2005, 06:41 PM
I have just bought a 2004 c console poly and mounted a new 60 EFI 4 stroke Merc on it. It's first run was on Sunday with just me and 20kg of ice and gear. After 2 hours of babying it it was time to open it up. I saw 29.6knots on my GPS and thats after only 3 hours. After it loosens up I am sure it will go even quicker.
It was fairly sloppy conditions around 11 am coming back from Maggie Island and I was amazed with the ride. If you haven't been in one you really do need to grab a test ride.
Robbo_Townsville
22-03-2005, 06:44 PM
By the way, make sure you call J & B Marine in Ingham before you buy, they will beat anyone price and I dont mean by a few hundred, try thousands. Wild Side will vouch for them as well, I have purchased 2 boats from them and they are tops.
$13990 for a C/console poly with a 50hp 2 stroke at the recent Townsville Fishing expo.
scroman
23-03-2005, 03:38 AM
Bought my 4.55cc just on Xmas with a 50 honda. I'm JUST over 110kg and my cousin is 100kg. With gear and ice etc and good conditions we get around 24knts. I changed to a solas prop to get more punch out of the hole for bar work and that made a huge difference except I lost about 2-3knts top end speed which was to be expected.
As already stated - shop around and take one for a spin - good weather or crappy, the ride is completely different to what you would be used to. Flex in the floor is a weird feeling but when you get used to it you just ride with it. Check out the polyboatowners website for reviews - mine is in there with a few others plus plenty of pics of mods etc.
Good luck
Troy
Rumy
I have a centre console with a 50 Honda. I am bigger than average and two up with gear it will pull to around about 24 knots. I had it out on Saturday in the bay when it was a bit wolly and the boat is very capable. Pay attention to the fit up as some dealers are a little more sloppy than others. We had to rectify a number of problems that were due to poor fit up. Can I point out we recieved tremendous support from Polycraft in this regard. Their after sales service has been outsatnding. You will enjoy the boat.
bay_firey
23-03-2005, 04:56 PM
Rumy
I have got the 4.55 Front Runner (bit heavier than the CC), 50 Suzi(115kgs), with all the gear, 2 adults 1 teen ager, rods, esky baitboard, anchor etc etc, I will usually cruise at around 5200rpm for 32 km/hr (17-18 knt)
Need around 4200-4400 to stay up on the plane and WOT of 6200 rpm for 52.5 km/hr (28 knts)
PS the conversions are real quick and done without the aid of a calculator, so they are probably off just a bit ::)
After having done a 80 odd mile trip twice in 2 days, including plenty of rough open water, in one my opinion is they make a great impoundment boat. To much flexing for my mind and the ride isn't really that great.
Having said that I know the owner of the boat loves it and is very proud of his boat.
Robbo_Townsville
23-03-2005, 06:04 PM
in one my opinion is they make a great impoundment boat
The slop I went through on the weekend would have given the same size tinnie owner a bad back. Flexing ,,, well flexing is a better option than cracking welds.
Horses for courses and great value.
krazyfisher
24-03-2005, 02:42 AM
robbo
how to you rate it compared to your old boat?
ah good to see the polycraft marketing team at work again.
billfisher
24-03-2005, 04:31 AM
Also better a bit of flexing than being thrown overboard ! This happened to me once in an open 4 m tinnie with a 25 hp tiller steer motor. Came up on some small sloppy waves which didn't look like much to worry about since I wasn't going all that fast. The first wave threw the tinnie off course and me over the side. I didn't have a kill switch and it wasn't a good sight having the tinnie heading straight at me under power.
I test drove a 4.1m poly and they ride totally different to an open tinnie. They are a lot softer and are more stable and straight tracking in choppy waters.
Relaxed
24-03-2005, 06:57 AM
Hi Rumy, I have a 4.55 Frontrunner with the new
Yammy 60Hp EFI 4 Stroke, only done about 13 hours it goes like the clappers. With a lot of the available options added and alot of haggeling total price was under $18000 and that was delivered to Tassie. Have only had glass boats before no tinnies, love the ride that poly gives.
Andy.
Robbo_Townsville
24-03-2005, 04:10 PM
Hi Krazy, mate the cyclone was a fair bit bigger and heavier so the ride was top shelf. It is unfair to compare the two I think but my Stacer 475 C/C wasn't as capable as this 4.55 C/C Poly. Early days yet though but my initial thoughts on the boat are all praise.
Fitted some rod holders and clips to store the landing net and gaff last night and 5 minutes work with a cordless and self tappers it was done.
krazyfisher
25-03-2005, 02:40 AM
robo
if the poly doesnt attract your fav mother-in-law fish than its an ungrade ;D