PDA

View Full Version : Battery and Electrolysis

devocean
02-03-2005, 08:19 AM
Mate told me I should never leave the battery in the boat as it causes severe electrolysis and will stuff the boat in no time at all. Is this true?

Morlers
02-03-2005, 08:53 AM
As I understand it, if there happens to be a short to the metal hull (not glass) or the hull is used as ground (as in a car) then yes, electrolysis will occur. #Boats should always be wired with both +ve and -ve wires going to apparatus.

Its a good idea to isolate the battery when not in use so as to prevent any leakage from left on switches that will flatten the battery or cause early sulfation from battery being left in a partially discharged state.

I am no electrician, but the above is what I have gleaned over the years. #Hope it helps

:) :)

Morlers

NQCairns
02-03-2005, 09:18 AM
I think it does also! I have one patch that gets worse each time I forget to disconect the battery. Once disconected the problem are gets no worse even after a 3 month layup, it's quite dramatic and has sold me on the issue, No part of my wireing is earthed to the hull in any way except through the engine and control cables. nq

BladeRunner
03-03-2005, 04:08 PM
Just a hint when the boat is of a alloy make, place an anode on the keel below the water line this will help reduce any electrolysis that may accour from battery leakage
position just about the back some where .The other surgestions are good isolation switch diso the battery. If you would like more advise PM me .

BladeRunner

whichway
03-03-2005, 11:28 PM
I remove the sounder from my boat when not in use. There was a green stain between the two terminals on the power supply plug and a fair bit of corrossion within the plug. The sounder supplier said that over time, moisture would condense out on the plug and start to short out the two terminals, leading to corrossion. Doesn't occur if you leave the sounder connected apparently.