PDA

View Full Version : Outboard Motor Wings

SPIKER
01-04-2005, 02:06 PM
Hi all, I am new to Ausfish and have a few questions - firstly bolt on wings 'stingray' etc. I have just purchased another seconhand boat - 1990 Seafarer Viking with 90hp 2st OMC. My previous boat - Seafarer VSea with 60hp 2st OMC had a wing on the motor and seemed to work well being that the 60 was probably minimum for the hull. Are they worth buying?

Cheech
01-04-2005, 03:42 PM
Spiker,

Cannot really say as I am no expert in the subject. But I would just say that usually you add something (or remove it) for a specific reason.

Do you have a problem that you are thinking the foil will fix?

I actually removed one to fix a problem with my current boat, but had one on my previous boat as it assisted fixing a problem.

Cheech

basserman
01-04-2005, 04:03 PM
yeh they are no good unless you really need to up out of the hole actoin or to aid with venting while turning (like alot of flat bottom boats will do)
personly i haven't got one on my southwind as it doesn't need it but i have one on the smaller v nose tinny as it needed it with a 25 for both of the above ;)

so test the boat out first and unless it really seems sluggish of the mark or your venting while turning slightly (not sharp with motor trimmed out nothing will stop that)
(venting is what happens when you either trim out to far or turn and the motor seems to over rev and you lose speed/traction)

Bosunsmate
02-04-2005, 01:06 PM
Have a 3.6m f/glass seaker with OMC 25hp 2st with tiller control and seating on the rear stbd side so the boat is stern heavy even with someone in the fwd/port seat.

The ob leg had wings fitted when I bought it, and it gets up on the plain fairly easily (about 1/4 to 1/2 throttle) with the wings on.