View Full Version : Yamaha Engine Trouble

Martin_C
22-05-2005, 03:29 PM
Hi Guys
I need your valued opinion on my Yamaha 40 - 2000 model 3 cycl.

My trouble began with so called water and debris that had got into the fuel and also the rev limiter kicked in to prevent engine damage i was in the wide bay area I took the boat to a local repair shop, there was a loss in revs, which wouldn't go past 2500rpm and was spluttering. . In the end they placed a inline fuel filter (same as used for a car) the guys bled the carburetors and discarded 40 ltrs fuel and clean the fuel tanks and replaced the fuel priming bulb.

On return home the same thing happened (one (1) week later, but this time there was an alarm that sounded on top of loss in revs and rough idle. Fearing that this may cost me lots of money, I replaced the fuel fittings on both lines, a new fuel tank and fuel hose before i took it to a marine workshop.

Now for the best part, I took it too a marine place on the Northside of Brisbane, I explained the alarm sounding, rough idle, and spluttering, I told them about new fittings etc. The result was that the guys did a Carby service (dirt and water in the fuel), they disconnected the oil indicator sensor lead (a new sensor was $450) and cleaned out the fuel tanks and took my 40 ltr of fuel. The told me that the rev limiter had kicked in due to one or more of the Carby's being blocked. $350 later i was quite happy that the engine was working, until the second trip out which was within two (2) weeks.

Again alarm sounding, reduced revs, rough idle and spluttering, this time they put a new inline fuel filter in and did a Carburetor service ($150) and not to forget they took another 40 ltrs of fuel, they cleaned both tanks out with thinners.

Well i got the boat home, had a great fishing trip out two (2 weeks ago). That was until today when i got to Donnybrook, rough idle to start, then about two or three minutes up on the plane, the friggin alarm sounded.

When I took it back to the marine guys on the Northside, i told them that it can't be the fuel, fuel filter, line or fittings. On inspection it was the thermostat that had s*** itself, I bought a new one from another marine place and fitted it myself.
Well i came home this arvo, I went out for an arvo fish, only to find out that the alarm is still sounding at about 4000 rpm...
but i still have my fuel (which was fresh this morning) Guys please can anyone shed any light on whats going on, I know I've been ripped off, but i just would like someone to make an informed evaluation of whats wrong, any help would be very appreciated. Ad sorry for the length in the story.

DAVE_S
22-05-2005, 03:54 PM
martin have a look at your water pump impellor also you may have to check that all the water passages are clear they are very touchy on over heating had this problem with a 90 hp

22-05-2005, 04:01 PM
Martin,

Is your water pump up to scratch, ie does it have a good tel tale. is that thermostat you bought the right one. Have you fitted it correctly? The thermostat should lift of it's seat at high rpm to give full flow of water to your engine, this sounds like it is not happening. Thermostats and seals can get corroded in place and not open fully. Your engine is going into slow mode to save you dammaging it this certainly sounds like a cooling issue.

hope that helps

Martin_C
22-05-2005, 04:06 PM
Thanks David. reckon that could be it, i'll give it a shot on Monday, I've checked the tell tale and checked for any obstructions. Does anyone know how difficult is it to fit a new impellor or any idea on the costs for a different marine workshop to fit it for me
Any assistance would be appreciated
Martin

Martin_C
22-05-2005, 04:16 PM
Hi Gary, thanks I did just place the new one thermostat in the existing housing, I cleaned it up first then placed the new gasket on and placed the screws back in - that was what i was told to do?????

Martin

DAVE_S
22-05-2005, 05:30 PM
martin its not difficult to fit a new impellor about 6 bolts hold gearbox to leg drop gearbox and you will see water pump houseing about 4 bolts hold housing over impellor when you fit gearbox back you may have to turn drive shaft a little to line the splines up i would not no how much a marine mechanic would charge maybe 2 hours labour + parts

Monza
23-05-2005, 06:56 AM
This may be stating the obvious, but have you tried new sparkplugs.
I had a 70hp evinrude 4 stroke, only 50 hours old do the same thing. After a period of running perfectly when cool, once the engine ran for a while and heated up it would start to misfire and throttle back. I started looking at fuel pumps, injection systems, computers etc. Then I changed the spark plugs and problem was fixed.
Seems like one of the plugs (plugs were nearly new) was faulty, and as the engine heated up, the spark plug started to misbehave.

beatsworkin
24-05-2005, 01:22 PM
i had the same problem with a 70 hp evinrude turned out to be the impeller not the impeller itself but the top and bottom plate had grooves from sand and shit replaced the plates put a new impeller in while i was there and now no probs it would only do it at high revs 4700
you couldn't tell by how much water it was pumpin had to pull it down and check only took half a day and i belive that the yamie are easier i have a mate who races 50hps so if you have anymore questions drop me a line

goanna1
24-05-2005, 02:19 PM
To the best of my knowledge the only alarm on the forty is for over heating. miner has never missed a beat. did you buy motor second hand ???.
goanna

Martin_C
24-05-2005, 03:21 PM
Hi Guys
well i've managed to get the boat boat booked into a local marine specialist and will let you know what the outcome is.
Thanks to all who offered there advice and comments
Martin

Martin_C
24-05-2005, 03:45 PM
Hi Guys
well i've managed to get the boat boat booked into a local marine specialist and will let you know what the outcome is.
Thanks to all who offered there advice and comments
Martin

Martin_C
25-05-2005, 04:01 PM
Well Guys
Well the alarm sounding at 4500rpm and poor tell tale at higher revs is over and the engine is fixed.......... at first they thought that it could be one of the heads that had got corrosion and was setting the overheating alarm off... I suggested checking the impellor (on advice from a few replies:) and was told that usually when there are more revs there is less or no tell tale and it was against the laws of physics. Anyhow it turned out the teh centre of the impellor had come away from the rest of the housing, this resulted in poor tell tale and overheating alarm... Well I took it for a test run and all was well, nows it ready for a week of fishing @ mission point...
Once again thanks for all of those whose provided advice and an opinion
Martin