View Full Version : Now, which motor...??

chuss
15-04-2005, 10:26 AM
Well everyone, along with the confusion of picking a boat, I now have the motor choice.

I've got some more prices and talked to a few more dealers, mechanics, etc.. regarding 2 vs 4 debate, but I think i'm over it. My motor choices have come down to the following:

Evinrude DI 115 2 stroke - $12500
Evinrude ETEC 115 (later on this year) - $12800
Johnson/Suzi 115 EFI 4 stroke. - $13500
Tohatsu 140 - $10900

Just which damn motor now... what would you go for. Will be on JBS 5.5 or BarCrusher 560

snappa
15-04-2005, 10:34 AM
chuss

your decision on the boat was...... ???

chuss
15-04-2005, 10:59 AM
Boat was undecided, 560C barcrusher or 5.5 JBS. Both boats are same length and approx same weight

tonyp
15-04-2005, 12:19 PM
Chuss,

I would go the E-tec ;D

By the way where did you get a price on the 115 E-tec this early ?

chuss
15-04-2005, 12:27 PM
Quin Marine in Adelaide. They reckon they're getting them shortly after the European summer launch.

RRP on the 115 ETEC is $14740

I got a quote for a 90 ETEC of $11K.... they've come down a lot...

15-04-2005, 12:45 PM
Did you get a price on the 140 Suzi, could be a better option

dfox
15-04-2005, 12:49 PM
I'd go the suzuki ! but id put the 140 on rather then the 115, its lighter with more power and theres very little price difference. Heaps of them have been sold, plenty of ausfish members have them...foxy

JohnZ
15-04-2005, 01:34 PM
I've got the Suzy 140 4 stroke and it's been a dream so far. All the American sites speak very highly of it and they've got the reputation of being super reliable. I've got an article from the "Fisherman and Boating" magazine on this motor if you're interested. It goes into a lot of detail. You'll be amazed at the economy as well. Let me know if you want it.

waznot
15-04-2005, 04:20 PM
mate, for that price, i'd be goin for the tohatsu. what about a yammie 115. i just bought one for $10060.00. i am extremely happy with it. :) :) :)

chuss
16-04-2005, 05:32 AM
The best price on the suzi 140 I can get is $15K fitted. Unless someone knows some contacts in Adelaide and I can em from..

madman1
16-04-2005, 09:10 AM
Go the etec!

I've got a 90Hp and have had not one ounce of trouble from the motor. My only problem has been from the w@nker I bought it from.

You wont be disappointed with not servicing it for three years either.

Madman1

quigs
16-04-2005, 01:56 PM
I have recently ordered the 560 and gone th 140 Suzi, however with the 5 month wait you could easily go the etec when they arrive. ::)

Quigs

chuss
19-04-2005, 10:41 AM
Looks like i'll skip on the 115 evindrude FICHT RAM. Too many issues with them in the past.

I decided on the Barcrusher 560 by the way.

The BC has a 150L fuel tank, and I want to be able to do trips 30km offshore. Will a 130HP in a 2 stroke do that ok plus about 3 hours worth of trolling??

So now choices look like:

Suzi/Johno 115 or 140 EFI 4
ETEC 115
Yamaha 115/130 2 stroke
Merc 115 2 stroke
Tohatsu 115/140 2 stroke

Price budget for motor is about $14K max.

chuss
20-04-2005, 01:17 PM
I did some more research today. I think a carby 2 stroke is out of the question as I'll be clocking up some big hours during the years to come. (I go boating every week or 2 and will probably do 20 hours a month).

So its the:

Suzy/Johno 115/140
Etec 115 (when it comes out)
Tohatsu 115 TLDI (when it comes out)
Yamaha 115 EFI (finally got a good price on one)

I could even now go optimax or EFI merc, but prices are too expensive 4 me...

Billfin
26-05-2005, 08:45 AM
mate, for that price, i'd be goin for the tohatsu. what about a yammie 115. i just bought one for $10060.00. i am extremely happy with it. :) :) :)

Hi Waznot,

Who did you get your motor from at that price? and is it a 4 stroke?