View Full Version : Jabiru with 40hp?

Stolly
31-05-2005, 07:29 AM
I have a Jabiru with a 20hp Merc and want to go to a 40hp, does anybody have a similar setup they could advise me on. Should i look at getting a bigger boat instead.

basserman
31-05-2005, 08:54 AM
will all come down to what the manafature has said the boat can be rated too and how much weight the transom can have on it
it should be on a compliance plate or you could ring the builder up ;)

Stolly
31-05-2005, 11:42 AM
Yeh it is rated to max 40hp. I guess i am just wondering if changing from a 20 to a 40 is going to increase the performance of it by alot.

basserman
31-05-2005, 12:20 PM
yeh it would change it a hell of alot
be quicker up on the plain and also overall quicker
even better if you go a 40hp with a trim button as you will then be able to trim on the fly for all type of conditions ;D
i have a 385 with a 25hp merc 2stroke but i would love to up the donk size to atleast a 30hp so i could get better preformance ;D

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
03-06-2005, 04:33 PM
Stolly
I have a 4.4m Jabiru with a 40hp 'rude. Top combo for what I want to do. Load up with crab pots, load with the family. I don't have electric trim (which would be great) but I have gas assist.
The 40 gives me more power than I need, which means I'm usually only running on 1/2 throttle, but heaps of power if I'm loaded. I love it. ;D

southernson
03-06-2005, 06:38 PM
I reckon the 40 would be the way to go
As it is your probably running the 20 pretty hard. The 40 will alow you to cruise on less revs n probably even save on a bit of fuel. Should get along fairly well with a 40 on thats for sure, but yeah try n get one with PTT. Think the yammy 40 has ptt on the tilller arm. So yeah go it mate

Stolly
03-06-2005, 07:01 PM
Thanks for the advice, you have made my mind up. I will do a bit pricing around this weekend since the winds are up.