View Full Version : Replacement Transom
adriancorrea
05-06-2005, 08:16 PM
Just wondering, When doing the transom do you take the inner or outer skin out to do it or better still any info from anyone who has done this would be helpfull.
Tight Lines
Adrian
06-06-2005, 01:44 AM
Hi Adrian
Remove the gunnel and outboard well, only the last couple of foot, then carefully cut the inner skin off your transom, then remove old transom timber and your half way there. Will take a while but can be done with basic tools.
Breathing mask, disposable overalls, disposable gloves, 4" grinder and cutting wheels, sanding disks, hammer and chissel
Big_Kev
06-06-2005, 01:50 AM
CHAINSAW.
Take the inner and outer skin in one hit.
adriancorrea
06-06-2005, 04:22 AM
LOL you talking from experience Kevin? ;D
Can you come and show me how its done (Just kidding)
Blaze that what I had in mind, The timber dosent seen to be across the whole back of the boat its like a triangle kinda like
Thanks guys
Tight Lines
Adrian
familyman
06-06-2005, 04:35 AM
Nq ,where aaarrrree you? ;D ;D
cheers jon
Big_Kev
06-06-2005, 10:01 AM
No worried Adrian.
I have heaps of helpful hints like that and I am a dab hand at repairing computers that continue to play up. [smiley=computer.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=smash.gif] [smiley=laola.gif]
06-06-2005, 10:16 AM
drew a set of teeth once on a hp printer and threatened to smack it in the teeth with a 2lb hammer if it ever played up again, had it 2 more years trouble free.
adriancorrea
06-06-2005, 12:35 PM
Family man, Im on the southside of brissie
Well I did it pulled the motor off today and that is one very sick transom got half of it out today, now I have a project boat lol ::)
Havent got to the floor yet, How far should I cut the floor out?
Keep those hints coming guys Ive got no idea what Im doing :o :o
Fun pulling it all apart but the real work is yet to come.
And I took your advice Blaze, sorry Kevin couldnt get the chainsaw started lol :D ;)
Tight Lines
Adrian
06-06-2005, 01:50 PM
Hi Adrian
You will be right mate, take ya time.
One thing a boat builder told me is where the drains go in cut the timber right back so when it is rebuilt there will be no chance of the water ingressing though there, ie inch drain cut the timber back so there is 1" clearance and make sure that secttion is all glass. Ask away
scratch, scratch
06-06-2005, 03:29 PM
Blaze, LMFAO.
straddie
06-06-2005, 03:50 PM
scratch, scratch is about right, cutting back glass is one job I would happily pay some other poor bugger to do.
gavsgonefishing
07-06-2005, 01:13 AM
Snappy one, got some photos, so I can give you a little idea? we can extend it if you like ;D ;D.
Can you save either the inner or outer skin, or do they look like swiss cheese?
If you are going to cut the engine well out, which will be the easiest in the long run, make sure you measure the width of the boat before. then make a piece of wood up the same width so you can support the sides when you have cut the arse out.
I would be cutting the engine well out
Support the sides.
Cut 600mm of the floor out from the back, or back to the nearest support
Cut the whole transom out using whatever force is necessary.
Try and keep the outer skin to be used as a template for the new transom, or better still before you start cutting, clamp up a piece of 9 or 12 ply and cut a template out. This will save you some time later on.
Once cut out inspect the floor stringers etc and start sandingeverything with grinder, or a 7inch 36 grit sander.
Start itching
Hope this helps
You dont need the transom wood down to the hull, I made about 200mm clearance from the hull to the transom.
Got some pics if you like, or you have probably seem them
Big_Kev
07-06-2005, 03:52 AM
Adrian what boat is this you are working on?
I have a saw that starts easy. And a FBH.
Cheers Kev. :)
RAGINGBULL
07-06-2005, 01:25 PM
In have had 2 boats done in the last 3 years and used both methods ( both work )
If you want send me an email and i will send some in depth photos or you can come and have a look yourself.
The last transom was only completed 3 weeks ago.
"One way is more work than the other".
I have both boats "Haines" and you can see the difference.
adriancorrea
07-06-2005, 04:44 PM
Thanks Guys
I havent cut out the back, Just the inner skin of the transom and am in the process of taking the timber out.
The whole piece (timber) is very wet and rotting.
The outer skin is in very good nick and I will be replacing the timber and inner skin.
Gav I cut the side gunnel and took the back top bit with the motor well, as one piece off and plan on putting that back on.(if you know what I mean.
Im too scared to take out too much floor for fear of finding more work to do to it lol.
Cant show you pics at the moment as I have no digi camera.
Kevin Im doing the transom on my boat snappyone, I was tidying it up to sell it.
Went to fix some holes in the engine well, took the motor off and found the rot, took the boat off the market and here we are learning to fibreglass and itching like hell lol
Money is a small issue at the moment so I will be doing it little by little.
At least when I finish I'll know its ok
Tight Lines
Adrian