PDA

View Full Version : Johnson

garys
14-06-2005, 10:20 AM
I am a novice in the boating game. I recently bought a Johnson 120 VRO outboard on a Haines Hunter hull, off a guy who passed away due to cancer. I was not able to talk to him about all the details of owning a boat or running and maintenance.

When I had it serviced the service guy told me to mix the fuel 50:1 which I have been doing. I thought however that that was the purpose of the VRO and have since received contradictory reports. I understand that there is a fair amount of contraversy about VRO's and whether they should be disconnected or not.

My question is:

If I don't disconnect the VRO and I premix the fuel will it cause any great difficulties? I presume that it may clogg up the spark plugs?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gary S

Spaniard_King
14-06-2005, 01:23 PM
You will not do any harm by not disconnecting the VRO

You will probably die from inhaling all those 2 stroke fumes ;D...shes gonna smoke a little more
The engine may suffer as you have siad fouled plugs.

An option is to keep running the VRO and mix 100:1 in ya tank just as a safe guard against the VRO failing.

The problem with the VRO 's failing is that they fail without the alarm activating, basically they are not foolproof. So running the VRO and adding a little oil is probably ya best bet.

Having said this some VRO's go forever. I had a 1996 50 HP which I found petrol had gone back up the oil line hence the alarm was not activated. The VRO was disconnected imediately after finding this. Auto oil mixing is a good thing under warranty but if it shits itself out of warranty you will be diving into ya wallet for thousands in repair costs and this goes for all brands not just Evinrude/Johnsons

Mixing ya fuel aint that bad ::)

Garry

redspeckle
14-06-2005, 02:36 PM
I agree with spaniard_ king get the VRO dissconnect