PDA

View Full Version : Can I leave the battery on this charger?

ba229
20-06-2005, 07:13 AM
I have a car battery that is a little on the tired side but being a tight wad I want to keep using it.

I am going away for 4/5 days and wondered if it would be ok to connect the battery to a charger for this amount of time.

I have attached a photo of my charger if it helps.

On the box it says "input 240V, output 12VDC, 50Hz 0.2amps, 2200mA cont"

Nowhere on the box does it say NOT to leave it connected but I am not sure.

Regards

Alex

phewy
20-06-2005, 07:54 AM
Not being an auto one I wouldn't think so Alex. Would guess it would keep charging until it damages battery or blows charger?. But I'm no expert either so someone else might know for sure.

camsharkman
20-06-2005, 10:23 AM
I am guessing that you want to charge the battery so when you come back you won't have a flat batt - right. Should be ok. Just make sure that it is topped up with demineralized water before you go. The battery charger should regulate as the battery charges.
On the other hand if the battery is tired because it has dropped a cell then charging won't do a lot to it. Or you could go and buy one of those plug in timers for your charger and set it for 2 hours everyday until you come back. That would be the better way to go.

Morlers
20-06-2005, 03:56 PM
Does not appear to be a 'maintenance' charger so I would not be inclined to leave it for that length of time. I would assume that when it reaches the all green then it's fully charged and needs to be disconnected to avoid damage to battery. Camsharksman idea of two hours per day sounds like a feasible solution.

Any auto electricians out there with the good oil on this?

:) :)

Morlers

Maxw
20-06-2005, 04:29 PM
no

blaze
20-06-2005, 05:02 PM
chargeing a 100 amp/h battery it would take 20 days to fully charge a flat battery at 0.2 amps
cheers
blaze
I would plug it in and forget about it, I would also remove the battery from the vehicle

Manjilad