PDA

View Full Version : Boat project - Transom

NQCairns
27-05-2003, 05:32 AM
Project Boat,
Kellercraft 5.5m runabout 1980ish, 18 deg deadrise, 2.23m wide at the shoulder, 1.90m wide at the rear.

From a complete newbie to fibreglass work, so be kind.

Some pics below of the boat as rescued from the grave and purchased for $300 dollars. Soft floor in rear with hole and weak transom. Our idea is to remake the boat the way we want it, a reef/trolling/camping boat, way stronger than anything factory and just to give it a go! Hey it’s all just Lego albeit sticky Lego.

Part 1 – The Transom.

Here’s some of the first stage steps just to show them and also in the hope that it tips the balance for someone contemplating a project or repair themselves, globs of satisfaction are just starting to come my way but there is still a long way to go.
-

NQCairns
27-05-2003, 05:33 AM
:)

NQCairns
27-05-2003, 05:34 AM
:)

NQCairns
27-05-2003, 05:35 AM
Here part way through pulling the transom apart the O/B well has been removed and will not be put back on and some of the floor and inner fibreglass skin that housed the old ply has been removed. The rusty looking material is ply that is so rotted it could be ripped apart by hand! To either side of where the O/B well used to be the ply is as good as new which makes for much slower removal with a chisel.

NQCairns
27-05-2003, 05:36 AM

A bit further down the track here the floor and all of the old ply and rear floor has been removed, this picture jumps well ahead so just ignore the extra work seen, will get to that soon.

NQCairns
27-05-2003, 05:37 AM