View Full Version : Boat Refit Seafarer 16foot

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:36 PM
Bought another boat on the weekend to do up buy the time I sell the other and spend some extra will have a bigger faster boat to get out futher. 16 Ft Seafarer Vega 16 the boat in top nick outside and solid. Windsceen just needs seals, floor ok,Motor and steering ok 70 Evinrude, the inside needs the work new paint job, storage compartments, seats, kill bin, live bait well, all new wiring, some moulding, carpet, got a good sounder with it eagle ultra 3 plus will need rod holders, bait board as well. Canopy is good condition with side skirts just needs some resewing on joins. Motor runs well didnt miss a beat took it for a run today before ripping the guts of of it.Trailer needs work at the back 1/3 and rollers and electric winch would go astray. Got flares, oars. fuel tank, battery, life jackets, reef and sand anchors thrown in with the boat.

All for $1300 thought it was a good buy.

When all of the the boat is finished going to take it down to get the motor tuned and serviced fully checked out get what it needs done.

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:38 PM
side shot

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:42 PM
motor

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:43 PM
inside

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:44 PM
the back

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:46 PM
After the big cleanout on the inside ripped all the wiring out the seats and side compartments all washed out.

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:47 PM
the front

markpeta
04-07-2005, 02:50 PM
The next thing to do is sell my boat then the trailer is the next thing to do. Any suggestions with seating and putting in kill bin, live bait well to get maximum space would be helpful would like to seat 2 at the front and 2 at the back.

04-07-2005, 03:21 PM
Is the guy still Breathin ya stole that boat from :o

Personally don't throw too much money at it...fish the gutz out of it..will always get ya money bak

markpeta
04-07-2005, 03:24 PM
Garry,
Just going to make it neat and tidy inside and safe any extras can always be transfered to another boat down the track.

reel_killer
04-07-2005, 07:40 PM
Mark,
I use to have a 16 foot stebr glass runabout and replaced the back to back seats with a large fiberglass box with a padded lid. This box was glassed directly onto the floor and had a kill tank, live bait tank and storage compartment for all the safety gear. It was'nt to hard to get to the helm and made the boat a hell of a lot tidier than before.

markpeta
11-07-2005, 05:56 AM
Ok the steering come off after a bit of wiggling and spraying.
Disconnect all leads on the motor took heaps of digital pics first. After a bit of head scatching couple of cigs got the motor off by getting the front of the boat as low as possible tieing it of to a main beam undoing the bolts then winding the front right up took a few attempts and 3 bricks and she was off.

markpeta
11-07-2005, 05:57 AM
the back

markpeta
11-07-2005, 05:58 AM
The cause of all the head scratching bugger

markpeta
11-07-2005, 11:52 AM
Some more photos of the transom half out motor off and some of the transom out in day.

markpeta
11-07-2005, 11:52 AM
vbnn

markpeta
11-07-2005, 11:53 AM
the timber if you can call it that was falling out.

markpeta
11-07-2005, 11:53 AM
One bit totally clean. The angle grinder with a wire brush attachment comes in handy. Starting to get itchy now.

NQCairns
12-07-2005, 04:20 AM
Looking at your pics makes me feel shell shocked :D Transom was stuffed alright! Interesting the rot working its way up the side for some reason, good wood is a pain to remove from tight areas compared to rotted wood, your lucky it was so bad ::) great pics. nq

markpeta
12-07-2005, 12:31 PM
Id say the rot started around the centre of the transom in two place where someone has drilled 2 by 3/4 inch hole in the back to feed the plugs and cables through for the sounder. When he could have simply whent through the holes in the side of the well. They only had some silocone which had shrank over time.

12-07-2005, 02:42 PM
Water normal ingresses through the drain bung, years ago when boats were built they would just drill through the ply in the transom and wack a bung in the outside, if you left the bung in or as water sat in the hull it would quickly leech its way up the ply. to fix this problem when you put a new transom in dont just drill a hole but cut it back about 3" around the bung hole and fill it with a fibaglass bog and when the hole is drilled seal it with flowcoat so then there is no chances of water leeching up again
heres my rough art work
red bung
red line showing cut away

gavsgonefishing
13-07-2005, 02:48 AM
Looking at someone elses projects always makes me feel better....

That transom was a mess.

The itch does go awayafter playing with glass for a while, I think your body gives up telling you that your an idiot

I made an esky box out of the original seat boxes. Ill start a new post. Its not hard to do, but again I was surprised how much material goes in.

13-07-2005, 05:50 AM
mark buy a alloy next time. 8)

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:04 AM
New pics as follows. Been a while but getting there if your thinking of doing this the time you think it going to take multiply it by 10. Should be on the water in 3 weeks. Will be getting it to the stage of going in partialy smooth waters, will have to save up for the extra gear to go futher out. Front part of the trailer is done, transom and well done. This weekend doing the trailer rollers and getting the motor back on. Costs will work out and post up at the end so if your thinking of doing simlar you wont get such a rude shock and also some places I have found some cheap gear.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:06 AM
fiberglass in

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:07 AM
Stringers in all ply and stringers had 2 coats of resin on all surfaces before glassing in. Might not look like brand new but she aint going to move anywhere. 30mm of ply in the back. 4 layers of glass 4 ltre of resin and support strip on the inside.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:08 AM
3 coats of marine sealer undercoat at $35.00 a litre :'(

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:09 AM
Same on the back after all the holes bogged up with resin. Why do people drill holes in the back of the boat without sealing them up caused all the drama and money.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:09 AM
Well in and deck paint on.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:10 AM
Whole tube of marine sixaflex to jion the well and transom.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:11 AM
Back painted going to keep the back the grey as I think it is more practical getting the most amount of dirt and fuel. some of the fittings on.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:11 AM
Reusing some of the fittings just giving them a coat of paint.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:12 AM
New winch and trailer hitch and kill rust paint.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 06:34 AM
The name for the boat.

The Snapper Coffin

gavsgonefishing
08-09-2005, 06:50 AM
The transom looks a heap different from the first few pics, well done. You must be keen to finish it off and get it in the water.

Brejen
08-09-2005, 07:06 AM
Looking good well done..
Mark how'd you go with the Live tank and bait board etc. My one is all in the one thing and is mounted on top of the front part of the well. Also has rod holders etc built in and not hard to make. Very practiable and all out of the way leaves more space. MAte if your interested i'll take so pics and post them for you.

markpeta
08-09-2005, 07:40 PM
Brett can post the pics on this thread if you want. The budget is running low at the moment will get it on the water fishing and build up a few extras along the way. Still chasing uhf radio and aerial and a big set of oars if the fuel prices keep going up.