View Full Version : Trailer Brakes

kingcobe
15-09-2005, 06:45 PM
Noticed when I gave the new rig it's first long run that the wheels were slightly smoked, one more than the others. Is this usual? Also, with the sens a brake electo-hydraulic system, do you bleed the air when you're laying it up for a week or so?

15-09-2005, 06:48 PM
Bugger! That was my post....the lad left himself logged on.

Mantaray
15-09-2005, 07:42 PM
I do as I was always told to relieve the pressure on any trailer brake system, especially when disconnected from the tow vehicle as the brakes will remain locked on as that is what they are supposed to do when disconnected but not something you would want them do when parked up.

18-09-2005, 09:02 AM
Just giving this a bump. Nobody ever had smoked trailer wheels? Is it simply the new brakes breaking in?

18-09-2005, 03:57 PM
Hi Kev
Just in my way of thinking they were probably stuck on/partially stuck/poorly adjusted. I would get the marine techs to have a look or at least give them a ring and talk to the workshop staff.

19-09-2005, 09:07 AM
Yeah Kev, wouldn't think that smoking the brakes was "normal" break in procedure - as Blase suggested - sound like an adjustment issue

19-09-2005, 11:56 AM
Thanks for that. I'll get the dealer to double check 'em.

saphire
19-09-2005, 05:25 PM
Bugger! That was my post....the lad left himself logged on.

LOL.
Kev that happens at my place as well.

Spectre
20-09-2005, 12:11 PM
G'day Kev

A mate recently had the same experience with his tandem axle trailer fitted with sensa brake set-up etc.
The wheels were smokin badly. Turned out to be air in the system....bled the calipers at all wheels & all was fixed. :)

Not sure if this is your problem....but worth checkin.

If its all a new rig etc I would get the service crew to check it out.

Phil

20-09-2005, 04:28 PM
Thanks for that Phil. I'm taking it back to the dealer for them to check out. Don't see why I should be buggering about with it when they've taken me money :D

Spectre
21-09-2005, 11:49 AM
Kev

Couldn't agree more...keep the buggers honest I reckon. ;)

Good luck.

Phil