View Full Version : What size Outboard

iank
20-09-2005, 06:23 PM
Have deceided to downsize from my 4.8m plate ally with 75hp 2 banger :'( to a 435 hornet trophy, the question is do I run a 40 or 50hp 4 stroke (yammy) only real heavy extras is the 55lb bowmount and 130amp foward mounted deep cycle battery. Most of the time will only be fishing 2 up.Am interested to find out how people who have these set ups find the preformance of their rigs.
Thanks in advance. Ian
PS will not have under floor fuel tank.

TheBream
20-09-2005, 09:33 PM
i have found with most hornets that i have either been on or seen and talked to owners that they do preform better with more and not less power ;)
IMHO i would go the 50hp for sure

Slates
21-09-2005, 08:56 AM
G'day iank.
The old man has a 455 (heavy boat with a console, decks etc) hornet with a 50 on it and it does inxs of 50kph.
Personally, I reckon you would be fine with a 40.

Cheers, NS

stunnedmullet
21-09-2005, 10:21 AM
Hi Iank
Mate across the road from me has the same setup, 435 hornet trophy with a 50hp 4 stroke honda and he has mentioned that it is okay , although with a load he would like some more horses. Not necessarily a bigger motor but perhaps a 2 stroke with more low end grunt. He does a lot of casting and trolling so that is why he persists with the 4 stroke. Has mentioned repeatedly though that he is not overlly happy with power though. Not sure if this helps or not.
Personally I would think a 50 would be fine.
The mullet

iank
21-09-2005, 04:48 PM
Thank to all for your help, I also rang Quintrex and had a talk to them about what I wanted to do and their recomendation was the 50, my main objective was to be able to do 20-22 knots (good conditions) at around 4500 revs with 3 up. I ordered my rig today so now all there is to do is wait for it to arrive 6-7 weeks.