View Full Version : Electronic Charts

25-09-2005, 09:59 PM
Does anybody know if you can get electronic charts for use on a PC. Like the ones used in most gps chartplotters, C-Map, Navionics, etc.

chanquetas
26-09-2005, 03:58 AM
Too right mate. For example Marine Pilots take their own laptops on board vessels, along with their own DGPS receiver. They use software like Transas Navigator.
http://www.transasnautic.com/navigator/index.asp

There are cheaper software as well, try Boat Books.

http://www.boatbooks-aust.com.au/index.html

bungie
26-09-2005, 06:20 AM
Captain voyager too

http://www.thecapn.com/

chanquetas
26-09-2005, 06:29 AM
As a matter of fact C-Map is one of the more popular PC navigation software packages.

westie
26-09-2005, 08:03 AM
Hainesy... sent you a PM

megan
26-09-2005, 12:28 PM
See HSA Systems for Seafarer Endeavour Navigator Chart CD's updated monthly - these are the AHO (australian Hydrographic Office) charts which navy and commercial ships navigate off. These guys are in Wollongong.

Rusty_Hook
27-09-2005, 10:40 AM
I noticed my charts don't show any detail south of russell to the Broadwater- is that the same for all of them?

megan
27-09-2005, 12:15 PM
What type of chart do you have?

27-09-2005, 06:58 PM
Thanks for all of your help will look into these mentioned in further detail.

baldyhead
27-09-2005, 08:34 PM
A mate gave me a cd set with heaps of C map charts on them as well as the full nav program...we loaded it and kept getting a message...where is the DONGLE...well for the life of me I always thought that the dongle was an appendage hanging... anyway I cannot open the C maps or the program without it....bugga...and its also full of marks that his trawler M8 had loaded too.

2iar
27-09-2005, 09:05 PM
Hi Baldyhead,

A "dongle" is an odd and comparatively old term in IT for a piece of hardware used for allowing software to operate. They were reasonably common in the old days and used to plug into a PC serial port, but were even found on mainframes in the earlier days. I reckon the name came about in the same way as "widget", it was a generic term for something that didn't really have a name.

They're making a bit of a comeback these days with the onset of plug and play USB ports, and are providing some pretty sophisticated protection for such a simple and low cost concept. It's surprising that in an age of enormously widespread software piracy that they're not more commonly used. I expect this will change, but then so will the piracy techniques.

Anyhow, I'll get off my soapbox now. It's just that I don't often have the opportunity to appear knowledgeable on Ausfish [smiley=scholar.gif], such is my angling prowess [smiley=sad.gif]

And remember, whatever you do, keep your dongle to yourself :D

Good luck,

Rusty_Hook
28-09-2005, 08:26 AM
Fish-a-holic, I have a C-Map on a Navman Trackfish 6600.