PDA

View Full Version : Poor workmanship.

Poseidon
07-10-2005, 03:39 PM
I've been spending a little bit of time kicking some tyres at a few boat yards recently and sometimes wonder about the quality controls that some manufacturers have on the final product. Being an electrician I seem to be drawn towards checking over the mounting locations and wiring methods utilised on tinnies and have come to the conclusion that some manufacturers are having a lend of the buyer. One model of boat I recently looked at had the switch-panel mounted into a Weatherproof PVC box which would be a logical thing to do, however the cables entered the top of the box through a hole with enough daylight around the wiring to let a tidal flow through. How long are the switches going to operate immersed in water on a regular basis? It would have made alot more sense to have the cables enter via the bottom of the pvc box through a compression style gland removing the chance for water entry, funny thing that gravity !!
Other boats had connections made to nav lights, and other accessories via screw type connectors exposed to the elements and pushed up out of view under the gunnels. These exposed connectors will give you no end of problems when used in conjunction with saltwater.
Just be careful when you take delivery of your pride and joy and take the time to check the boat over with attention also to the wiring and switch panel, they charge you good money for these add-ons so be sure that you get your monies worth.
Regards Cameron.

Fishin_Dan
07-10-2005, 04:02 PM
That's why DIY re-wiring! ;D ;D ;D

bignick
07-10-2005, 08:29 PM