View Full Version : Your ideal tow car

joeT
29-10-2005, 09:21 PM
For your circumstances, what would be your ideal tow car? I'm not talking about whats the ultimate towing vehicle or what can tow the most, but a car that will tow what you need but also be useful to drive daily to work, shopping, etc.

Mine is the current model Subaru Liberty Wagon 3.0R Spec B manual. Tow capacity of 1800kg, 0-100km/h in 7 secs, awd traction, and not a hulk to drive in traffic. Was tempted to go the Liberty GT wagon, with 0-100km/h in 5.8 sec, but it only has a 1500kg tow capacity ;)

Unfortunately not cheap at rrp of $53,990 :-/

ShaneJ
29-10-2005, 09:28 PM
This is what i'm getting within a few months. 4.2D with enough grunt to tow my tub around and plenty of storage space. Its also long and wide enough to camp in the back :D
http://content2.dealernet.com.au/vfile/image/webpage/aspstock/HighResImage/1749033/3.jpg

skippa
29-10-2005, 09:39 PM
Mines a company car ;)

chemmy
29-10-2005, 09:59 PM
something like this

chemmy
29-10-2005, 10:02 PM
or any of these will do

Big_unit
29-10-2005, 10:48 PM
Yeah, Nissans are an ideal tow car.

Ive towed heaps off the soft sand, mud, & wet grass in my Toyota Landcruiser.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

James

Sportfish_5
29-10-2005, 10:54 PM
Anything with a company fuel card ;) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

30-10-2005, 07:03 AM
...Ooooh don't tell me that James, I just picked up a 92 model 4.2 Turbo Diesel Auto Patrol to pull the new Rip Tide that's on her way.....Ohhh what have I done???? :o :o :o ;D ;D ;D
( I used to think like you till I realised it may have something to do with the driver, not the vehicle!!! ;) - I'm sure I'm gonna cop some from my Patrol loving mate who I used to bait up when I had a 60 series cruiser - but I'll live it down)

sempre
30-10-2005, 07:31 AM
Dont be put off James , Revs. Nissans are great for towing Riptides. My GU tows my 7.4 Riptide up the beach every year no probs. The only thing is the auto. Sorry mate...

sam....

Mogwai
30-10-2005, 09:36 AM
im trying to buy a car have been looking for the last 3 mths i want a 4 cylinder that will tow my 4.2 (only got her friday :) ) but have no idea what to get that will tow the boat. i have a old commy about a 82 and she has a hard time towing her :(

was thinking the TOYOTA CAMRY 2.4L but i think it will have a hard time towing what do you guys thinK

mogwai

krazyfisher
30-10-2005, 01:40 PM
the best tow car is one like mine COMPANY CAR and FUEL CARD. I am quite happy to try and put it anywhere a 4x4 goes and if it doesnt come back they give me a new one ;D ;D ;D ;D

ba229
30-10-2005, 02:29 PM
this should do it

ba229
30-10-2005, 02:29 PM
:)

AaronF
30-10-2005, 02:46 PM
This is what I'd like. #5.9L Cummins Turbo Diesel, 4x4 auto with diff lock, traction control, heated leather seats, cruise, power everything and only 50K. #Gotta move to Canada though guys and there ain't no Snapper over here.

familyman
30-10-2005, 04:13 PM
V6 rodeo company car and fuel card and oh gee now the boat takes unleaded too ;)
cheers anonymous ;)

joeT
30-10-2005, 07:23 PM
im trying to buy a car have been looking for the last 3 mths i want a 4 cylinder that will tow my 4.2 (only got her friday :) ) but have no idea what to get that will tow the boat. i have a old commy about a 82 and she has a hard time towing her :(

was thinking the #TOYOTA CAMRY #2.4L but i think it will have a hard time towing what do you guys thinK

mogwai

I currently use a 97 Subaru Liberty 2.0 Wagon (2wd) and tows my 4.2 brooker (450kg) fine. I reckon the Camry will have no problems towing a 4.2.

longtail
30-10-2005, 07:44 PM
i have a 2000 model v6 2wd rodeo and it does the job of towing just fine , and it takes me to work no probs too :( ;D

jason

cooky
30-10-2005, 11:16 PM
yeh the rodeos make good towing vehicles - I had the dual cab V6 before the hilux. Better at towing than my hilux 3.4l v6 on the highway - lower gear ratios so it sat at higher rpm.

phewy
30-10-2005, 11:28 PM
Ideal tow car? Would be one that can legally do the job, safely do the job, comfortably do the job and of course economically do the job. Therefore a large 4wd, such as f-truck/patrol/crushers etc would not be ideal for me.

For me that is. You guys/gals with 6m+ boats may beg to differ. :)

hercules
31-10-2005, 06:05 AM
Gmc 6.6l turbo diesel with 702nm of torque , 300hp ,4x4 . I need it to tow my bobcat and just happens to tow my boat sufficiently ;) . Don't ask what my fuel bill is as i don't want to know either :'(
Has power everything and is easy to drive , just a pig to park ;)
craig

speedy
31-10-2005, 01:48 PM
i just sold my gu 4.5 patrol manual i had her on gas it was great for running costs , i had the works(lift kit, large tyres, etc) on it and had all performance stuff done got all dyno tuned up was pulling about 160 hp at the wheels would tow the 6.4 amm centre cab pretty well without holding up traffic
and without blowing heaps of money good truck ;)
run as cheap if not cheaper than a commodore

Kiktz
01-11-2005, 06:40 AM
I am Happy with my Holden Calais V8 with load levelers.
She has never let me down got plenty of guts to pull the old mans boat
which is at 2t. Put the cruise control on the highway and off we go.

Aj

Tony_N
01-11-2005, 07:00 AM
was thinking the #TOYOTA CAMRY #2.4L but i think it will have a hard time towing what do you guys thinK

Mogwai I strongly advise you against the Camry. Front wheel drives have to pull the car AND the boat - this puts too much strain on the clutch. I pulled a (relatively light) 15ft glass boat around with one for a while but eventually the clutch haemorraged.

Leo_N.
01-11-2005, 03:23 PM

Mogwai # I strongly advise you against the Camry. #Front wheel drives have to pull the car AND the boat #- this puts too much strain on the clutch. #I pulled a (relatively light) 15ft glass boat around with one #for a while but eventually the clutch haemorraged.

Amazing difference when you upgraded to the Forrester. The engine must be about the same size, but no comparrison between front wheel drive and AWD.

Hookem_Herby
01-11-2005, 03:47 PM
Not saying it the BEST .... but I sure am happy with it and it's performance.
Jeep Grand Cherokee Turbo Diesel 2003 - 5 cylinder with a 2.7 tonnne towing capacity. She's a great tow horse for my 5.5m fibreglass boat and trailer (more than 1.2 tonne in weight) and very fuel economical as well. Recent trip to 1770 saw me avergage 13.9L/100kms travelling at the speed limit on cruise control. I filled up before I left brissy, did 500kms for 69.7L :o ;)
The car has all the mod cons and is a comfortable luxury ride, esp on long rides.

Herby :-*

stunnedmullet
01-11-2005, 04:17 PM
Hilux SR5.....giddyup ;)
the mullet

Mogwai
01-11-2005, 04:41 PM
thanks guys bugggers me what to get.. i only have around the $18000 mark would love a Hilux SR5 but its way out of my price range :(

Tony_N
01-11-2005, 08:49 PM
thanks guys bugggers me what to get.. i only have around the $18000 mark would love a #Hilux SR5 but its way out of my price range :(

Mate - all I know about cars is that you need to kick the tires before you buy one. ::)
But - I would have thought anything with 6 cylinders and rear wheel drive would be plenty of grunt for a 4.2 tinny. Surprised that your 82 Commodore doesn't do it easy. 2nd hand cars is still a buyers market - I'd be looking at a few cars that you like the look of and test drive them with the boat behind. I repeat though - be very leery of front wheel drives for towing.

FWIW

phewy
01-11-2005, 08:57 PM
thanks guys bugggers me what to get.. i only have around the $18000 mark would love a #Hilux SR5 but its way out of my price range :(

Mate #- all I know about cars is that you need to kick the tires before you buy one. ::)
But #- I would have thought anything with 6 cylinders and rear wheel drive would be plenty of grunt for a 4.2 tinny. Surprised that your 82 Commodore doesn't do it easy. #2nd hand cars is still a buyers market - I'd be looking at a few cars that you like the look of and test drive them with the boat behind. #I repeat though #- be very leery of front wheel drives for towing.

FWIW

Would have thought even most 4cyls would be more than capable and much more economical to tow a 4.2 tinny around
:(

Mogwai
01-11-2005, 09:01 PM
i would love to go the 6 cylinders but the car will be maly use to drop kids at sckool and takeing the boat to the ramp i did not what a 6 as it would be a big waste for me and hoping it will be a lot cheaper in the long run with a 4 .. the poor old commy has just about seen her day hes rusting and has lost a lot of power over the years but she still goes will be sad o see her go:(

joeT
01-11-2005, 11:34 PM
I think any boat under 500kg can be towed by pretty much any 4 cycl car, whether it be front drive or not, without any problems.

In the past 6 years I've owned tinnies I've always towed them with either a subaru liberty 2.0L front drive and sometimes my little lancer 1.8 front drive. Never had any problems, retrieved easily at low tide. I find that sometimes front drive is an advantage on some ramps because the front wheels are usually on the dry part of the ramp, and not in the mud where the rear wheels are. Only applies to light boats of course.

Tony_N
02-11-2005, 07:29 AM
Yeh #I agree Joe - I'd reckon pretty much any 4 cyl car would probably do it as well - though I would be thinking #2.0 litres or more. #I was happy enough pulling a 15 ft glass boat with my 2.4 Camry. #Two different mechanics told me though that trying to use a front wheel drive car as a tow vehicle is not a good plan, even for the family trailer. #I think test driving any car with the boat behind is a good way to make sure that the car is adequate for his needs.

Gbanger
02-11-2005, 10:29 AM
i use my astra 1.8l 4cyl fwd (rated to tow a tonne) to tow my boat.. a 5.25 aluminium (1 tonne) .. #I dont have to tow it far, but it hasnt missed a beat.... power and braking are fine on flat ground (which is the only stuff i have to go on)

the clutch does get a bit of a workout though on retrievals.

zulu
02-11-2005, 06:44 PM
I have been fortuneate to have a Prado and Pajero in recent years. I don't think you can go wrong with a diesel 4wd automatic for towing your boat. I know alot of the diehard 4wd drivers may hate that word automatic, but for my towing needs, whether it be for beach or road you can't go wrong.
cheers Troy.

bushbeachboy
02-11-2005, 11:54 PM
I've got an older (1995) Hilux 2.8 diesel. Easily tows a 6m Goodwin Longboat. To retrieve the boat I just put it in low range and drive slowly out. It does the job easily, even with an old, nearly stuffed clutch.

zulu
03-11-2005, 02:10 AM
Pajero :)

Gbanger
03-11-2005, 09:41 AM
is that at point lookout zulu?

ABZ
03-11-2005, 06:31 PM
I have A Holden Astra 1.8 Litre company car. She huffs and puffs but does the job and is excellent on fuel. If she over shoots the ramp and ends up wet $100 excess gets me another brand spanka. (You know what they say about boys with big cars). ;D ;D ;D

zulu
03-11-2005, 08:14 PM
Gbanger, Rainbow beach 2 years ago,2 weeks of bliss [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

noluck
03-11-2005, 09:11 PM
i got Jeep 95 4l auto tows up to 3,3 t and i tow my friend boat 8.4m plate alloy :)

bushbeachboy
05-11-2005, 02:08 PM
(You know what they say about boys with big cars).

Yeah, Big wallets!!!!!! Hehehe

snappa
06-11-2005, 06:24 PM
zulu

your pajero ..have u done any thing for the back springs ....

my sits down on its arse with the boat on..
on coming cars flash their lights ....

:-/

zulu
08-11-2005, 05:43 AM
Snappa, had the same problem, recently upgraded the shocks and put in the poly air bags, really happy wiyh the results, I would start with the polys and see how you go.
cheers Troy