View Full Version : Where do you buy your 2stroke oil?

gogecko
07-11-2005, 05:30 PM
Im sick of buying oil by the litre at servos and paying $10-12. There must be a better way.

Are we talking marine dealers for 4 litres, or are there better deals at supercheap autos or bunnings, etc?

thanks

southernson
07-11-2005, 05:56 PM
Depends on wat oil your after i suppose. Whether you use the manufactures oil or the run of the mill castrol etc etc oils. Was in bcf last weekend and quikcsilver two stroke for 4gallons i think they come in round that figure neway that was about 28$. We buy our oil from the dealer most of the time and stick to the manufactures oil.

banshee
07-11-2005, 07:10 PM
I go to the Shell depot/distributor in my area and get Nautilis 20 litres at a time.

07-11-2005, 08:13 PM
Andrew, I get mine at Sundown marine. 20 litre drums of Caltex for around $100.00. And you have the convenience of not running out. I just fill up a 4 litre container at a time and use that to fill up. I have found the quality to be pretty good (in my opinion).

ba229
07-11-2005, 10:10 PM
supa cheap 5 lt for $20

QldKev
08-11-2005, 07:07 AM
I use the Valvoline, get it from Big W, Super cheap etc.

08-11-2005, 08:36 AM
I will ONLY use the reccomended oil in my motors- quixilver for the merc. If you put crap in, expect crap out. The 4 size(or there abouts) is around the $28 mark, give or take a few dollars and the 10 litre (or there abouts) size will be $69. Sure beats paying big money for a litre of inferior quality oil.

web
08-11-2005, 08:42 AM
;)Stick with the good brand 4lt marine dealer oil, like Yamalube. Pay a bit more for piece of bind.

stunnedmullet
08-11-2005, 09:51 AM
I'm with Web. I paid 3k for my outboard(lot of money for me) and saving a couple of bucks here and there on 2 stroke oil isn't worth it in the scheme of things. Yamalube for me too. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
The mullet

Manjilad
08-11-2005, 10:21 AM
Visited BCF for first time on weekend, 3.79l Quicksilver is $24.50 - will try some soon. Usual valvolene from Super cheep(!!!) $24 without discount!
PS impressed with size and stock of BCF, prices so so, BIAS still has better deals eg hunting a replacement fire extinguisher when I figure out the rules - no one seems to know.

Stevo25
08-11-2005, 11:32 AM
In my Yamaha, i like to use Penrite which is sold by BIAS.

i pay $29.95 for 5 Litres. I used to use yamalube but every time i went to my yamaha dealer he was always out of stock, but when he did have it he would jack up the price !

Ive used penrite in my vehicles and they make a quality oil as far as im concerned.

Stevo :)

gogecko
08-11-2005, 12:55 PM
Thanks guys, some good choices there. Ive got a Tohatsu 40 thats pretty old, so I dont thnk it matter which brand. Im not really close to a BIAS of Supercheap, but theres a BCF at Runaway Bay.
The Shell depot sounds good too.

gropeher
08-11-2005, 04:42 PM
My mate is a manager for one of the biggest and in my view the best oil Companies around, I get my oil from him by the 20 litre drum at cost price. ;D
Cant say where he works for fear of incriminating him, then I'd have to pay full price, bugger that, it's too expensive.

Cheers Ryan.

PS I would only use the good stuff if I was paying full price.
All the viscosity are different for differing oils so listen to the manufacturer where possible.

Chamelion
01-10-2012, 10:01 PM
Visited BCF for first time on weekend, 3.79l Quicksilver is $24.50 - will try some soon. Usual valvolene from Super cheep(!!!) $24 without discount!
PS impressed with size and stock of BCF, prices so so, BIAS still has better deals eg hunting a replacement fire extinguisher when I figure out the rules - no one seems to know.

Old thread that I'm bumping, but it's relevant.. 3.79L of Quicksilver at BCF is $56.95 now.

barra71
01-10-2012, 10:47 PM
hey guys i am in Caboolture and just put a 4 stroke on and have about 20 - 30+lts of oil that i need to sell pm me if you want a good deal. 1x20lt drum and i think 2-3 4 lts as well...

whiteman
02-10-2012, 12:49 PM
20l drum of Caltex Outboard 3 is around $115 from most suppliers.

Zippidy
02-10-2012, 01:11 PM
Will just go to BCF or Servo, get the Valvoline. The engine is very old so I'm sure it's had a few different types in its life.

Chamelion
02-10-2012, 03:58 PM
Have always used Valvoline, curious about the dearer oils.. Picked up some Mercury Premium Plus 3.78L for $46 this afternoon - Same as the Quicksilver Premium Plus.

Very interested to see if it really does smoke less.

WalrusLike
02-10-2012, 04:11 PM
I am pretty sure my Yammie 115 smokes less on Yamalube than the Caltex I was using.

Even though they are the same oil if I recall what I read correctly.

The difference is the 11 different herbs and spices Yammaha put in. I could be wrong... But I will stick to Yammalube from now on.

astro66
02-10-2012, 04:19 PM
valvoline smokes heaps more than quicksilver....was using the nulon full synthetic almost no smoke at all...but its to expensive now i just stick to quicksilver as its almost as good and cheeper....

Chamelion
02-10-2012, 11:18 PM
Well, on muffs I didn't see any difference.. Even sounded to run a little worse, though I did just also switch to 95ron. May just be imagining things. Looking forward to getting out on the water.

myusernam
03-10-2012, 07:38 AM
gulf western super cheap auto. 5l for $24.95. semi synthetic (but looks full to me, very artificial looking. Light clear colour, not dirty looking like valvoline or crappy yamalube)
had a deal two for $40. awesome.

Zippidy
03-10-2012, 09:51 AM
Contemplating running some 98 Ron fuel through when I next fill up. I normally just use the 91. Would it make much of a difference?

barra71
04-10-2012, 08:49 AM
Contemplating running some 98 Ron fuel through when I next fill up. I normally just use the 91. Would it make much of a difference?

91 or E91.. i only ever use 95 or above and would never use a E type ever in my boat, and yes it is so much better than 91, it is up to you to run what you like but 95 and above do burn so much cleaner than 91. you do pay that 10c+ per liter more but when your motor cost $10 000, paying 10-15c p/l is not that much more realy and i know there is no E base in it..

barra71
04-10-2012, 08:51 AM
i have 30 lts of Castrol super outboard 2 stroke oil for sale.. got a 4 stroke now..

Zippidy
04-10-2012, 09:51 AM
91 or E91.. i only ever use 95 or above and would never use a E type ever in my boat, and yes it is so much better than 91, it is up to you to run what you like but 95 and above do burn so much cleaner than 91. you do pay that 10c+ per liter more but when your motor cost $10 000, paying 10-15c p/l is not that much more realy and i know there is no E base in it..

Just normal 91. I suppose when it's only 50L, what's an extra $3-$4....

I'll fill it up with Premium over the weekend and report back with results.

barra71
04-10-2012, 02:04 PM
Just normal 91. I suppose when it's only 50L, what's an extra $3-$4....

I'll fill it up with Premium over the weekend and report back with results.
Hi Zippidy,
as far as i know all the 91 based fuels are E10. The only guys that dont do the E10-91 are Shell.
i hope there is a some gain for you with the 95-98 base fuel. What motor do you have there Zipp?

04-10-2012, 02:08 PM
Oi barra.....have you got any left over 2 stroke oil (seeing you swapped to a 4 stroke) that you want to sell??

barra71
04-10-2012, 09:16 PM
Oi barra.....have you got any left over 2 stroke oil (seeing you swapped to a 4 stroke) that you want to sell??
Just sent you a pm finga