View Full Version : Sea jay 535 magnum

Good_as_Gold
07-11-2005, 06:22 AM
G-day

I finaly sighned up to the site.

Just sold my 16 ft glass half cab, now i am looking into buying a sea #jay 535 magnum.

the motor i have been looking into is the tohatsu tldi 50.

would the 50 be big enough?

any comments would be appreciated .

southernson
07-11-2005, 07:09 AM
Id tend to think a 50 would be a tad small for a boat of that size. The smaller motor you go the harder the motor has to work to get the boat going. As a miimum id reckon bout 60 or 70.
Thats just my preference so hope that helps.

slacky
07-11-2005, 08:01 AM
I agree. 50hp maybe a bit under powerd.

isaac
07-11-2005, 01:20 PM
I have a 2003 model one with a 60hp 4st Yammy, which is the max hp for the hull and at 118kg just under the max wieght for the transom. Mine would be heavier than the standard hull due to the extra mods, underfloor tank etc and does 55kph by gps at wot. There are not too many days that you can go flat out in it anyway due to its shallow vee shape and light wieght (unless you like being airborne a lot ;D).

I would still go for the 60 though, for its extra grunt when loaded and fuel economy not much more than a 50. Have you thought about the new 60 4st Yammies? They are lighter again at 108kg and EFI and probably not much more $ than the 50 toshitso. Stones corner has the best deals on them. Cheers Isaac.

Good_as_Gold
07-11-2005, 01:44 PM
thanks mate

any pics of your boat

Good_as_Gold
07-11-2005, 01:48 PM
you said that you had put an under floor tank in, where is the tank located, and did you haveto get the floor raised, i was told that you would have to.

does it get on the plain pretty quick?

isaac
07-11-2005, 02:31 PM
Yeah gets on the plane no worries, the fuel tank sits in between 2 stringers under the floor, behind where the front bench seat was. It was custom made and has a flat top with a veed bottom 90ltr capicity, so the floor didn't have to be raised. Wher the front bench seat was is now a ply hinged floor hatch for under floor storage. The rear bench seat was also removed and has a custom platform with a hatch that holds safety gear/ vhf/ battery isolator on one side and a plumbed large live bait tank under the other. All the work was done by seaquip in cababla. I will try and attach some photos tonite. cheers isaac.

Good_as_Gold
07-11-2005, 02:35 PM
thanks mate

daz35
07-11-2005, 04:41 PM
I have a 535 2003 model which has been converted to centre console with 60 merc 4 stroke kill tank,bait tank,underfloor fuel it sits on about 60klm flat out which i find is ample and good on fuel

isaac
07-11-2005, 06:58 PM
sorry about the quality but you get the general idea. isaac

isaac
07-11-2005, 07:07 PM
bow

Good_as_Gold
08-11-2005, 04:54 PM
good simple layout mate.