PDA

View Full Version : Boat for Fishing&Family fun - Novice asking Q's

Clayte
16-11-2005, 02:59 PM
Hi Guys

I am a complete Novice when it comes to boats.... I am looking for a family boat(family consists of 4 people, 2 adults and 2 kids under 10), fun days out in the Broadwater and such like, but also to do some fishing with on my own or with the kids or mate or two. Looking for something that must have a canopy for protection from sun etc ( I am assuming this can be added on?)
* Really do not know what size I need ? (some talk in foot and others in metres ?)
* What size motor ?
* Can I take it in the dams aswell as Broadwater, canals etc ?
* Budget mmmm... well probably anything from $15K - $30'ish (all in), considering this is my first boat, what might you reccommend ?

Any guidance what so ever would be a start for me

Thanks
Clayte :-/

haze
16-11-2005, 03:42 PM
Clayte
Your first boat mate should be a tinny no more than $10K. You are bound to make mistakes, nock it around, bang into things, smack it into the pontoon, forget to put the bungs in etc. etc.. These are all learning experiences and should be done in a boat that is not going to cost you heaps. Who knows, you may find out that you don't enjoy boating like you thought you would.
I hope this helps.

Clayte
16-11-2005, 03:50 PM
thanks Haze, probably the best advice I have heard today and that's after visiting a few boat dealers !!

I probably should do that for the experience for a few months if for no other reason - thanks

Clayte

blaze
16-11-2005, 03:58 PM
4 to 5 metre tinnie, 50hp outboard, tiller steer on a basic trailer. Add a bimini (sun shade). This would pull a tube for the kids, be ok in the impoundments. Good for a fish or a bit of exploring.
cheers
blaze

Burley_Boy
16-11-2005, 07:11 PM