View Full Version : Project Edgetracker

04-12-2005, 06:59 AM
Gidday all,
I did up a boat for an old chappy and part of the deal was I bought the old?? 3.7m Edgetracker (2001 model)
Then got inspired by some of the boat here and here is the result.
Here is the original boat how I got it

04-12-2005, 07:00 AM
And the nerve centre

04-12-2005, 07:05 AM
I wanted a deck at the front mainly for storage and a good place to put the fuel tank, so I did some ringing and nearly died at the price of aluminium fabricating so I did what any red blooded aussie with a mig would do and said b-gger-it I'll try it myself so rigged up for the alu welding and then went to the scrappy and bought some aluminium for $2.50 a kg. Went home and started cutting.
A frame for the front deck was done and also a flat floor for the middle.
(this picture was after painting)

04-12-2005, 07:08 AM
Went overboard with the fabricating thingo and made a fuse panel with storage and 27meg radio, pockets for the knives and pliers, a draw for the maps and stuff and decided to put panels across the original anchor well the keep the life jackets etc in out of the way and to be kept dry.
Ooh, had to also raise the transam 2 inch (why can't all short safts be the same length??)

04-12-2005, 07:12 AM
Then decided on putting some steps on the back for easier lauching and put an ali tube to put the sounder cable in so they can't get damaged

04-12-2005, 07:15 AM
Long story short, after everthing dry fitted and the front decks cut out and carpetted the old girl was stripped again, acid washed, etch primed and then painted in 2 pack inside and out.
And the result
All the decks can be removed by 2 or 3 1/4 screws and takes about 2 1/2 to remove the front decks and the floor for easy cleaning and to retrieve the missing tackle
I have a rubber anti fatige mat for the floor so I don't slip over and it keeps the esky in the same place.

04-12-2005, 07:16 AM
I even made LED lights for it. 3 super bright ones in the fuse panel and 21 LED's in the front seat, beauty!!

04-12-2005, 07:18 AM
Behind the rear seat shows it's own little tool box, the bilge and battery box. The 2 little decks here also lift up for easy cleaning

DNO40
04-12-2005, 07:18 AM
A1 result Finga.

From Mutton to Lamb in a few simple steps. Well bloody done

DNO

04-12-2005, 07:19 AM
and finally the way the front deck opens and back rest for the cook
Anchor light is removable so it doesn't get broken. It just slots in.

04-12-2005, 07:20 AM
and fuel tank

04-12-2005, 07:21 AM
and everything open

04-12-2005, 07:23 AM
and the birth of 'Junior"
I've made everything so if necessary it can still be a cartopper (just a little heavier).
Project took about a month and cost about $750 for everything including tooling up for the ali work(had the Humminbird 2005 deep already)

Roo
06-12-2005, 04:50 PM
well done finga. Can I book in for you to do mine too? ;D

I suppose the satisfaction of doing it yourself is quite warm and fuzzy so maybe i'll give it a go myself.
lots of good ideas in your project. i like the way your centr front lid folds.

i just have to remember how to mark this tread as a favorite for future refernce.
Cheers, Roo. :)

06-12-2005, 04:58 PM
and I get bored easy ;D
Not able to work can do that to you :'(

aaron_gilmour
06-12-2005, 05:20 PM
Great work finga,

I myself am in the middle stages of my own project. You have some great ideas and the boats looks great. Did you paint the boat your elf? Did you use 2 pac polyurathane?

Aaron

08-12-2005, 08:48 PM
Love your 2005? I have the Zercom equivalent to the 3005. Best thing in B&W I reckon.

WOOPI
08-12-2005, 10:37 PM
Finga,
Mate you are aninspration, I have a 3.4 mt edgetracker with a 15hp 4 stroke suzi and I want to do what you have have done, love your ideas

Chers Woopi

Tony_N
09-12-2005, 05:52 AM
I'm with Woopi

Nice little project. I'm just in the process of getting myself a crabbing boat together. i'm also unemployed and a project like that will keep me off the streets and out of mischief for ages.

Exactly what and how many HP is the motor you have on it?

12-12-2005, 07:59 AM
thanks all ;D
Looks like a few Questions to answer.
Yep, 2 pak paint inside and out and all work done by me under the house.
It has a 2000 model 25hp Tohatsu but has had the little upgrade to a 30hp. I also beefed up the stern by putting some more braces and gussets in so the thing will not fall apart.
Maiden voyage this weekend hopefully.
If I can be of any help to members just let me know and something can be arranged.
I wish I was just unemployed but an accident prevents me working now. Damn I miss working. Seems like a strange thing to say but I do. :-[