PDA

View Full Version : anchoring over a wreck

marzoe
15-12-2005, 07:22 AM
I am fairly new to boating and I am still having problems being able to anchor over a mark.
The other day we went out and tried to anchor over a wreck.
I could see it on the sounder and I could see where we were drifting from on the gps but still couldn't get over the top of it.
Where is the boat in relation to the sounder reading?
Is the mark, reef or wreck directly underneath the boat.

revs57
15-12-2005, 07:52 AM
Mate its trial and error stuff...depends on wind and current...add to that GPS variance...

Usually when I get to my mark then, know the boat into neutral to see what its going to do...wind current hang...then I'll sound around to look for where the fish are hanging... allow a guesstimate of 20/30 metres up wind/current (depending on run and tide) Flick the pick, watch the sounder as you drift back and hopefully pull up onto the mark..sometimes it may take a couple of shots if the anchor doesn't grab first time or my guestimate was out...its pretty much a feel thing...sometimes I just get jack of it and figure the berley will bring them to me

Hope this is helpful, there may be a different technique...be interesting to see what others do

Cheers

Rhys

scuttlebutt
15-12-2005, 08:41 AM
Have a read of your sounder instructions. The transducer sends down a beam in the shape of a cone, expanding as it gets deeper. The signal on your sounder could be from anywhere in the area of that cone.

cheers,

steve

INDULGENCE
15-12-2005, 09:52 AM
Hi
I dont know the style of boat you have but you may find this helpful.
Secure a nose rope to the bow that is the length of the boat less the motor(you dont want it to long to foul the prop)
Place 2 cleats on the gunwales just forward of 3/4 the length of the boat