View Full Version : 445f haines hunter

troy
21-12-2005, 07:42 PM
This why i have asked for help.
445f haines 50hp merc [ one year old ] and trailer $8900
troy

21-12-2005, 07:53 PM
Under powered... the boys around here run 3cyl 75hp mercs on theres...no of 2 like this

garry

cheno
21-12-2005, 09:19 PM
I agree with gary 50hp ain't enough for a 445f . What is the condition of the hull like?

cheno

essky
21-12-2005, 09:59 PM
My first boat was a 445f with a 50 on the back. I found it to be an excellent hull, but very under powered when you had an esky full and three people on board.

Had to get people to walk up the front until it got on the plane.

If fishing by myself or only one other crew member, it was okay. As I said, It is a great handling hull.

troy
22-12-2005, 05:45 AM
Hi Cheno according to the owner he told my son the he has put new gelcoat on the sides and the hull is original and going by the pics it has a few gouges.
Troy

troy
22-12-2005, 03:25 PM
Owner told the lad the motor has plenty of power and does 35mph with a fin.
If true how would it be under load.
troy

22-12-2005, 08:52 PM
Troy,

Get 3 guys in it..se if it leaps out of the water then...nuthin like a boat test ;D

cheno
22-12-2005, 09:17 PM
445f s are very sensitive to weight - 1) how much weight is in the boat and 2) where the weight is. This is because they have a very deep v for overall length and therefore not much lift, its also why they are such a great handling hull.

You really need to be happy with its performance under load. outright speed unloaded tells you nothing. As Gary said load it up and try punching into a sloppy sea. Check the transom and floor for flex and rot, most would have been redone by now with varied levels of workmanship.

cheno

troy
22-12-2005, 11:18 PM
Is there any difference in the hull of the 445f compared to the 445r.
Troy

troy
24-12-2005, 03:29 PM
To the above question hull wise and internal room.
Am i being ignored on Xmas eve.
Troy :'( :'(

24-12-2005, 03:37 PM
Nah Mate...

I don't think anyones ignoring you...I reckon the boys are out celebrating christmas...

BTW Troy how did the trailer project pull up...saw your little stouch recently from the side, it made me sad but I really appreciated your comment and humility that seems to have ended the thing.

I don't know much about the hainse range so aint much help to you...sorry

Hope you and yours have a beaut Christmas

rhys

troy
24-12-2005, 03:43 PM
Rev the trailer nearly finished .
Merry Xmas to you and your family.
Troy

seaeagle
23-12-2006, 08:26 AM
Would a fin fitted to the motor help the boat get out of the water with a load. I seen somewhere in a magazine the recommended hp for that boat was up to 55hp.