View Full Version : approx top speed

speedy
26-10-2005, 02:34 PM
i just want to get an idea of what kinda speed i will get out of my 4.35 kakadu karrier side console with a 50hp merc on it i pick it up in a week or so just wondering if any one got an idea???

26-10-2005, 02:38 PM
should be topping out around 28 knots, go hard.

speedy
26-10-2005, 02:41 PM
i was expecting a bit more its a 2 stroke 50 ive been told around 40 knots just hoping some one had something similar that could get me right on the money

jimbamb
26-10-2005, 03:19 PM
get a lend of a gps.it will tell ya xactlyhow fast ya goin

Mad_Barry
26-10-2005, 03:24 PM
I'll advance the bid from Mackmaulers 28 & go for early 30's :) don't think you'd see 40 though.

Why don't we have a little competition to see who can guess it before next week, then you can report back with who was the closest. ;D (knots, not MPH or KMH, & measured by a GPS).

I'll place a bet of 31.5 ? ;)

MIKOS
26-10-2005, 03:27 PM
I'll advance the bid from Mackmaulers 28 & go for early 30's #:) don't think you'd see 40 though.

Why don't we have a little competition to see who can guess it before next week, then you can report back with who was the closest. #;D (knots, not MPH or KMH, & measured by a GPS).

I'll place a bet of 31.5 ? #;)

Ill go 32kts ;D

Gbanger
26-10-2005, 03:44 PM
we need a controlled enviroment to make this fair betting chaps... wind, swell and load...

2iar
26-10-2005, 03:48 PM
I'll go lower, based on the fact if the motor's in the run-in period, you'd be mad to push it :D

Good luck,

speedy
26-10-2005, 03:53 PM
ill know next week end exactly ive got a mate who has a 4.35 hornet trophy(which weigh about the same) with a 40 4 stroke on it on it he reckons he gets 33knots on a flat day full throtle so my geuss would be around at least 38 knots. will post the answer as soon as i get it out there keep the geusses comin ;)

speedy
26-10-2005, 03:55 PM
ill push it hard my brother a marine mechanic from where im buying it

vertico
26-10-2005, 04:05 PM

Pwoida
26-10-2005, 04:17 PM

krazyfisher
26-10-2005, 04:20 PM
here are some speeds I know
4.35 hornet with 40hp 2/s 56kph
4.55 bluefin 6ohp 2/s60kph
4.55 poly with 50 2/s 56kph

i say 60kph
i would love to see it at 40kns :o

QldKev
26-10-2005, 05:09 PM
I'm going the 32knots :-/ :-/

philip_thomson
26-10-2005, 05:32 PM
krazyfishers speeds converted are

60km/h = 33knts
56km/h = 31knts

therefore krazyfishers guess is for

33knts

my guess would be 29.134knts

DALEPRICE
26-10-2005, 05:49 PM
ill give it 27.6 knotts. 38knotts is a very fast boat,
got to have a fast hull as well????

26-10-2005, 05:56 PM
29.8 knts

Jack_Montana
26-10-2005, 06:26 PM
34+ no probs.

Zeeke
26-10-2005, 08:17 PM
id say.. 35 knots absolutely flatchat.. i had a very similar boat.. a Kakadu Seahunter 4.35.. with a 40 yammie on the back.. top speed was around 29 knots.. cruise on 22.. a 50 would just push it over by a couple of knots.. but not much.. heavier ass and all that..

familyman
26-10-2005, 09:39 PM
NFI
perhaps 33 to 34 kn with no wind ::)
cheers jon

bungie
26-10-2005, 10:26 PM
29.5 ;)

craigie
26-10-2005, 10:27 PM
Early 30's :-/

My old 4.6 Clark Kakadu with 40, 2 stroke Mariner was around low 30's flat bikkie, don't think this will be much quicker ??

40 knots !!!!! My Cyclone will be eating your bubbles :'( :'( if that's the case ??

Craigie.

southernson
26-10-2005, 10:47 PM
455 coastrunner with 50merc 2banger does 32mph WOT. Reckon you'd be lookin at round 40-45mph mark
Lets see whos right

27-10-2005, 03:19 AM
If it does do 40 knots then you had better reappraise your insurance policy...cos most insurance companies will not touch a boat that is capable of 40 knots..they class it as a racing boat.

MIKOS
27-10-2005, 09:49 AM
I'll go lower, based on the fact if the motor's in the run-in period, you'd be mad to push it :D

Good luck,

How about we have a bet on how long it takes to blow up. ;D

mmm id say 21 minutes ;D ;D

MIKOS

speedy
27-10-2005, 10:05 AM
on run in you are still allowed to open fully up in mercs for short bursts and it is proven that by open ing the motor up on run in it does not affect the life of the motor and compresion is better in a motor that has been opened up more regualary been told that by queit a few marine mechs

jimbamb
27-10-2005, 11:44 AM
33.3 knots 25 mins to" pop" time :-/

MIKOS
27-10-2005, 11:55 AM
on run in you are still allowed to open fully up in mercs for short bursts #and it is proven that by open ing the motor up on run in it does not affect the life of the motor and compresion is better in a motor that has been opened up more regualary been told that by queit a few marine mechs

You are correct the dealer and the manual says this that short bursts are good for it but in between varied rpm is also advised.you r motor will loosen up around about after 10 trips and then it is good to go flat stick for a minute every now and then to help burn the oil off the plugs ;)

MIKOS

speedy
27-10-2005, 01:12 PM
and you actually only have to run the motor in for 4 hours on increased oil ratio. ill do four hours runing around first time out just stuffing around no probs . :)

youngfisho
27-10-2005, 01:25 PM
mmm i reckon warp factor 9 :P

remember hp is not the be all and end all of terminal speed in boats. the hull will ultimately determine how much speed you will get. You could have a 70 or 80 but if the hull was never designed to go that fast then it most probably wont. Where as a 5m ski\race boat may have 350 + hp on it but has the technology and the hull design to do those speeds. 40knots in a tinny of that size (open boat) would be bloody scarry. (maybe im just a wuss)

good luck there speedy

and godspeed

andrew

88fishframe
27-10-2005, 03:59 PM
Anything up to 60knts, towed behind your car. Go over that and you'll be chancing a speeding ticket.

speedy
31-10-2005, 09:12 AM
3 days till the boat arrives we will know soon enough

Burley_Boy
31-10-2005, 11:21 PM
Ok based on actually no real knowledge whatsoever except that it moves quicker than mine... 29.6knots.

We wanna hear.. so give it some stick 35mins to pop, (no worries the bro will fix). ;)

reeldreamer
01-11-2005, 03:41 PM
If it does do 40 knots then you had better reappraise your insurance policy...cos most insurance companies will not touch a boat that is capable of 40 knots..they class it as a racing boat.

My 600F does 43kts with the 175 opti on the back.... better keep that on down low hey?

speedy
01-11-2005, 05:07 PM
i beleive most insurance co. dont care as long as the motor is in the capability of the hull
just sold my dads amm 6.4 with 150hp it did 39.8 knts
my brother has a 6.2 super v with 200hp hpdi v-max on it does 43.7 knt but stillplayin with props no probs with insurance racq just asked does it go over 25 knts said yer it will when i was gettin a quote no qst about over 40 knots
?????????? if they dont ask how are you supposed to know so i say no probs

jimbamb
04-11-2005, 12:55 PM
?????? waiting!!!!

04-11-2005, 01:02 PM

Mate, I get 48mph at 4800rev............have yet to try and push it beyond that seeing as it's still running in. None of the insurance companies asked me the speed other than Suncorp which, (as you say) wanted to class it as a speed boat and charge me double the other quotes. Went with NRMA and asked them how they classified my rig 'cause I didn't want them welching on a claim by saying I hadn't told them the top speed. They said that they work from a list of boats and *all* Whittleys are classed as cruisers..............if only they could see me "cruising" ;) ;D ;D

88fishframe
04-11-2005, 08:49 PM
RACQ asked me what the approx top speed of mine was, [48k's - 4.8m NQ Borger Cat and 130 V4 Yamaha] and only said it was relevant if I wanted my insurance endorsed for water skiing. Public liability reasons.

speedy
07-11-2005, 12:35 PM
guys still waiting 4 the boat , but will post as soon as i know

Scott15
07-11-2005, 02:26 PM
Finally sold the amm ay, You gonna come down to tellebudgera for a look jase? we're taking a little 6ft wooden boat with a 3hp down lol. Give us a yell if ya wanna come down for a day.

Burley_Boy
08-11-2005, 09:03 PM
Has this baby popped yet :-/

jimbamb
11-11-2005, 12:20 PM
seriously overdue,Glad i'm not hangin by the goolies waitin!!!! :'( :'(

speedy
11-11-2005, 01:56 PM
i get it this afternoon but leave for kingfisher tommorrow so i will post in a weeks time when i get back tell u what waiting is a b*tch but at least i got it before i go
soorry scotty going early to king fisher but will go jack hunting when i get back

Scott15
11-11-2005, 02:50 PM
Sounds good jase, jack is on the top of my list and wanna cristen the new rod. Not goin up to kingfisher in the chrissy hollidays are ya ;)

Billo
11-11-2005, 03:54 PM
I'll go with the mauler and say high 20's ...you might tickle 30 with wind behind and no swell ......lets go with 29

snapattack
18-11-2005, 02:44 PM
Any update here yet.

New_fisher
01-01-2006, 03:43 PM
I take it the boat never arrived speedie?

HarryO
01-01-2006, 09:01 PM
high 30's, touch 40 in good conditions.........

you'll need a pilots licence. :o :o

onerabbit
01-01-2006, 09:54 PM
my vermont goes 47knts in the river with 115 carb feed merc, muzz, never gone flat out yet, only 3mnths old.

Scott15
01-01-2006, 10:09 PM
im speedy's cousin and i think he told me it reached 38kts