View Full Version : yep another person needing advice on new boat
brutul_noodle
05-01-2006, 11:12 PM
Guys
I have spent many hours reading through your forums and sucking up as much information as i can. There is a huge amount of experience in here and im hoping to draw on some of it :)
I have finnally reached a point in my life where i can afford ( or that the bank will let me ) buy my first boat and hopefully a decent one. It has been years of watching everyone else and being jealous but ive decided to take the plunge. ;D
Only problem is im going to need help and probably lots of it. I dont know anyone with a boat and where else is there to turn to but the internet.
The closest i have ever had to a boat before was a sea doo jet ski about 7 years ago, which i know is nothing like the world i am about to enter.
I have read many posts asking for help on the first purchase of a boat and yep here is another one. The hard part is going to be not rushing in and buying straight away as i am so excited about getting out on the water.
Ill tell you my price range and what im hoping to get out of my boat and any advise i recieve will be muchly appreciated ! I have a price range of 30 - 40 thousand and can notch that up a couple of thousand should i need to. Main thing is though
i dont want to be buying a boat and then throwing lots of money at it for repairs this would sour my experience as it would anyone.
With my boat i would like to go fishing in open water with 2-3 other people and some cruising around enjoying the sights with a total of 4 - 5 people. I also would like to be able to do the occasional skiing but not a huge priority. I want something comfortable which i could possibly myself and sometimes 2 people ;) in on a weekend and it would be great to be able to tow it away for a long weekend away somewhere.
I have been looking at a few different models and my mate is pushing me to get something as big as i can no matter how old it is with all the comfy stuff like a shower, toilet, sink etc and has offered to partake in half of running costs and repairs
although this is something id rather avoid. I have been looking closely at the cox craft rum runner 2. This is 5.5m and i can get a brand new one for around the 35 mark ( have seen second hand 2 year old for $32500) and with the new warrantys this is very appealing. It looks like a nice boat and have read some decent reviews on it. I have also found a second hand haines 620f warrior 97 model with 180 hours for around the 39 mark. As good as new sounds i would be worried about losing 10 000 in the first 2-3 years, would this be a possibility ? Am i better off spending more now and getting into a decent bigger boat to start with or being my first boat would it be smarter sticking with a 5.5 or there abouts ? Any advice on what sort of boat you think, would be great. Is my mate right, am i better of buying an older second hand boat like the one he thinks which was a mustang 2400 89 model with a brand new outboard for 37 000 but it didnt have a trailer and looked like it would be too big to tow to me. By the way it is a holden crewman ute that will be towing it. Thanks for reading my babble and i hope i made sense !
Tracker
05-01-2006, 11:19 PM
where abouts are you?nth,sth,east or west??? ::)
brutul_noodle
05-01-2006, 11:27 PM
sorry should have said, im in brisbane :-[
geetee
06-01-2006, 07:59 AM
Mate
I might have a boat you might be interested in. I've just bought a Bayliner and am selling my Haines Signature 1850L which is set up for pretty well exactly what you are looking to use the boat for (lock up cabin ,toilet etc) and in the money range you are looking at. I can email you details and pics etc. Just need an email contact and can go from there if you are interested.
GeeTee
brutul_noodle
06-01-2006, 09:54 AM
Gee Tee
No worries mate would love to have a look at it. Email me the info on jf@ozpro.com.au
Leo_N.
06-01-2006, 11:45 AM
Here is my 2-cents worth.
I have just upgraded from a small tinny to a larger boat to go out to the reef in more comfort. I went through the process of looking at second-hand boats but didn't want to inherit someone elses money-pit and new warranty is attractive. It also enabled me to set it up how I wanted it.
Have no misconceptions about the money thing - all boats will cost you money to maintain and to run. When considering size, remember that the bigger the boat is the more it will cost to maintain and run. Larger outboards are more expensive to service and larger boats take more fuel to push around.
You probably need to think about other maintenance that you will need other than servicing outboards as well. Having never owned a fibreglass boat, there are others that can inform you about their maintenance requirements. Just be aware that you must be gentle with fibreglass - it chips a lot and can rot. If you buy second-hand fibreglass make sure you get it checked by a shipwright and in particular get the transom tested for strength and integrity.
Aluminium boats are tougher on the surface, but pressed aluminium seems to crack a fair bit and electrolysis and corrosion are other problems that you could encounter.
I weighed up these factors and went for a Polly boat. There are lots of people out there who don't like the idea of plastic boats, but for my money they are much lower maintenance than either fibreglass or aluminium and less can go wrong with them. They are also reasonably cheap.
A word of warning on price when buying new is that you will always spend more money than it appears on the surface. Electronics, canopies, safety gear, anchors.....the list goes on. These things usually come with a 2nd hand purchase. So if you buy new, don't get one right up the top of your price range.
Also buying new you can decide on the right outboard for your requirements. Common wisdom is to buy the highest hp rating that your boat can take. If you can back off the revs you will move more economically and I am sure that you will cross a bar or two in your life, so the extra power may come in handy.
There is much more to know, and I am sure that others will add to this post.....
brutul_noodle
06-01-2006, 01:09 PM
Great advice thanks ! I am very tempted to go new at this point, although i have seen some decent boats with everything i would like on them but still are over 5-8 years old, i just think i would be constantly worried about something going wrong and peice of mind is worth alot to me. The lower the maintence the better for me i think. I havent looked into the poly crafts, what sort of price would i be looking at in the 5.5m range with a decent cuddy cab any ideas ? I like the idea of something being able to take bit more of a knock becuase i am worried being that its my first boat that i could damage the hull on the ramp or something stupid like that. I think something robust would probably suit a first timer like me. There must be a downside to the poly, it cant all be good or can it ?
Leo_N.
06-01-2006, 01:43 PM
My boat is the new 5.3 m model, which is being fitted up at the moment. I went for a test drive a while back and was wrapped. I have also been in the 4.55 model a few times and find them difficult to fault.
The plastic will scratch as it is softer than aluminium and fibreglass. I don't see this as a big problem, as the hull is double skinned 10 mm. The 5.3 m model is also foam filled, aiding buoyancy. Their 4-year hull warranty is also appealing to me....whoops, I'm supposed to be telling you the downside. They are heavier than aluminium, so maybe need a bit more hp, but not as heavy as fibreglass equivalent I think. They are a bit less customisable than aluminium, because things like consoles and cabins must be structurally sound. For example, they won't put a small console on the 5.3 m boat, because the mounting points are integrated into the hull.
I don't think that they have brought out a cuddy cab version of the 5.3m boat, at the moment it is just centre console or bowrider. I got the centre console but don't have the waves that you get in Brisbane area. The 5.99 model does have a cuddy cab model - do a search on www.boatpoint.com for an idea of prices.
Other people will probably come up with other downfalls of Poly boats, but more often than not it is simply because they are plastic. They really are starting to take off in sales though....not many hulls that you can drive a monster truck over, or bang as hard as you can with a hammer...check out the polycraft website for more details.
Personally, if I had that sort of budget, I'd get something new. Peace of mind really helps you to enjoy your boating.
brutul_noodle
06-01-2006, 06:02 PM
Yeah im really leaning that way, unless maybe i find one only 6 months to a year old but then id be wondering why they are selling it so soon :P
I just had a guy at a boat shop trying to tell me im crazy for going for a four stroke due to service costs, extra buying cost, repair cost and the fact that they are slower. Just what i need more decisions to make. ::)
snappa
06-01-2006, 07:20 PM
look in the "for sale" :o
there is a haines 585 thats great buying ..... ::)
brutul_noodle
06-01-2006, 07:48 PM
snappa
havent you sold it yet ? looks like a nice boat. Funny, im selling a bike to get a boat ;)
MickS
07-01-2006, 07:00 AM
Have just bought a new boat myself, first power boat, have had yachts in the past.With my previous boats I have spent thousnds on maintaince and repairs, so I bought a new boat so I could get a 3 year warranty on boat, engine and trailer.
If buying 2nd hand, make sure you get a complete survey done on the boat, will save you thousands in the future.
One mistake I see when people buy boats is putting things on their boat because they can. What I mean is, I have seen people buy boats with bunks, cabins, stoves etc etc, and then only go away once a year. Work out what you will use the boat for, where you will use it, where you will keep it, how often you will use the boat, and resale value, the choices in boat will suddenly narrow down
I took 6 months to make up my mind (longest of my life) but am very happy with the boat(few minor glitches)
I'm probably preaching to the converted, just thought I would give you my 2 cents worth.
Happy Boating :)
07-01-2006, 08:55 AM
In answer to one of your comments as to why people sell near new boats, I think that there are a lot of people that are cashed up and buy a new expensive boat as their first boat (not unlike yourself??), and then after getting it they realise that the wife and kids don't like it,,, it is too difficult for them to handle and launch/retrieve is very stressful,,,, they get seasick,,, they thought offshore fishing was what they wanted to do, untill they tried it in a small boat,,,, etc etc.
I would suggest that you get yourself a good sized tinnie or an old glass boat, with the intention of only keeping it 6 months or so. That way you can get a feel for it, get out in it and know if you want more, ding it on rocks and boat ramps and run into a few sandbars. These are all the things that you are likely to do regardless of what boat you get, so better to get it over and done with on a boat that you wiill not cry when you scratch it.
What you will find is that when you have more experience with your boat, things like launch and retrieve will be so much easier.
What is the rating on your towbar? You said a crewman. I have a falcon that is rated to 1600kg. Is yours the same? This will very much restrict your purchase. I have a 5.5m glass boat that weighs right on 1600kg when fully fueled (boat and trailer). So not only is the car capable of towing it, but will not have any insurance problems if something goes wrong. Can't be sure, but I would be surprised if insurance would pay out if you are over the rated weight. Could be a very expensive mistake.
To weigh a boat you just need to go to the tip and weigh car and trailer together and then car by itself. Takes no time to do, and would suggest you do that before buying and if need be, make it part of the agreement to be able to weigh it if you buy new and wait for it to be made.
5.5m is a great size for the bay, can be taken into most estuarys, and is big enough for occasional off shore trips, so if you are restricted due to weight, it should still serve you well.
If you do go the big expensive boat first up, and if you plan to take family, go for a glass boat. Comfort and ride is very important, and that is what you will get with glass.
But as I said earlier, I would get a tinnie first. maybe in about the 4.5 - 5m range. Fish a few estuarys, go out to the bay Islands when the weather is good, or even tangalooma if the forcast allows, and spend the next 6 months working out what you really want to do. Selecting the boat will then be so much easier.
If you buy well, a tinnie now will be worth the same in 6 months time, so you should get most of your purchase price back. That means it will not cost you anything to delay your purchase and you will get a bit of boating and fishing in as well.
I went from a 3.9m tinnie to a 4.5m tinnie forward console, then to my 18ft glass boat. The tinnies were like doing an appreticeship. If I went straight to the 18ft, I think I would have had lots of trouble with it. But with the experience I gained, going to the 18ft I can launch and retrieve on my own as is needed when I have the kids with me or if I do want to do a solo run. I doubt that I would have been able to do that if it was my first boat.
If you do go the big new boat, then snappa's would be a good known boat. But would probably be over your 1600kg limit.
Tracker
07-01-2006, 09:08 AM
Quote<I just had a guy at a boat shop trying to tell me im crazy for going for a four stroke due to service costs, extra buying cost, repair cost and the fact that they are slower. Just what i need more decisions to make. >
must be a etec salesman. ;D
07-01-2006, 11:35 AM
Brutul,
I bought a 5.2 m Rumrunner as a first boat and kept it for six years then spent nearly twice your $ and went for a new CruiseCraft 575 Outsider.......FANTASTIC.
I learnt a huge amount on the rumrunner and sold it for more than I bought it for but it did cost a bit along the way. (seems every time there is a problem you just have to stand back and throw a thousand dollars at it and its fixed)
$
Rumrunner cost 7500 (22 years old)
Problems in 6 years 4000
Electronics 2000
Lots of experiences and enjoyment for the whole family
Sale price 8500 (28 years old)
New boat ????
familyman
07-01-2006, 12:50 PM
Angla I'm with you .An old glass boat makes sense to learn boatskills and care of the boat without wrecking a $40k investment.If anything I would get a late 90s hull of suitable size and put a new motor on it for peace of mind.This way you wont loose as much on depreciation.
cheers jon
07-01-2006, 12:59 PM
I have been looking at a few different models and my mate is pushing me to get something as big as i can no matter how old it is with all the comfy stuff like a shower, toilet, sink etc and has offered to partake in half of running costs and repairs
Sounds like he would fit all sizes of pink shoes, the less in the boat the less to go wrong, something bare and basic around the 5m mark with a 4 stroke motor is always easiest, no matter how many big boats I go on I always come back to the small ones and rate them better as they are just so much easier and cheaper to run.
krazyfisher
07-01-2006, 01:01 PM
I went through something the same 6 mths ago spend 30000 give or take on a new boat or a 2nd hand.
just cant beat a new boat everything is where you want it.
buy the way I got a coxcraft reefrunner 540
brutul_noodle
07-01-2006, 06:42 PM
Thanks for the advice guys ! The tow limit on the crewman is 2100kg, so hopefully i can tow a decent size boat. Sounds like a good idea to get a small one first to practise the launching etc. I did used to have a jet ski, i can reverse a trailer no problems but im sure there is whole lot more to launching a decent sized boat opposed to the jet ski. I am very sure of what i want of the boat for. Overnighter is my main prerequisite, as for many years after going out with a friend a few times for long weekends and sleeping on his boat i have dreamt of the day i will be able to do the same. :-/ I understand what you are saying about practising using a smaller boat in case of scrathing it up and running into things ,and that is where i am not so sure and a bit nervous. I would hope after a few times out this nervousness would subside somewhat. I have decided if i am going to spend 30-40k plus then it must be brand new, but after reading some of your post i am reconsidering my idea and thinking going cheap to start with. Is pretty hard though after looking around and dreaming of my new boat purchase for some time now :) Saw a nice freedom elite 6.2 and a new sea sports 6.4 today sounds like they would be too heavy and maybe im going a bit over the top for my first boat. Feel free to give me any thoughts you have, i need all the advice i can get.
suttos
07-01-2006, 10:00 PM
I have just sold my 4.2 m stacer and have ordered a tabs 5.7m ocean series, 135 optimax. Was a show special with everything even an electric anchor winch, ideal when fishing on my own especially off shore. This number is costing 49k however I wont have to spend a cent more, except fuel.
I looked everywhere and kept running into ten year old technology, cracks scratches etc. So I have bitten the bullet. The warranty and the concept of having something brand new for the first time in my life is appealing. My 20 year old sons think that the money could be spent on them as it always has in the past.
And do you know what I said F**K em.
Should have it by the end of the month.
suttos
brutul_noodle
07-01-2006, 10:29 PM
I was at tabs today looking at thier boats and met with bruce, what a great looking boat ! I see them getting sent up north all the time at my work. I bet your counting the sleeps untill you get yours ! It will be my first time buying something new too if i do it. I dont have kids or a mrs so im thinking what better time is there to do it than now ;) However i am reconsidering buying something smaller and cheaper after listening to the advice of some of these members. The only thing is i dont know is if i want to go through the whole buying a boat process again in 6 months and would like to buy one with everything i want on it right from the getgo as i think this would assure me wanting to use it all the time, but as some members have pointed out i may end up scratching or damaging it and i would hate to do damage to such a huge investment ! Painful decisions :-/
fourfingers
08-01-2006, 06:44 PM
For my two cents worth I agree with Angla,
I, too , just bought a new Cruise Craft Outsider 575 and the add ons on a new boat tend to blow way out. Also agree that you maybe should try a decent 2nd hand boat to make sure your boat suits what you intend to do with it and where you take it. As with the Haines you cant go wrong with the name and resale is heads and shoulders above the rest, so that is a bit of a backstop if all doesnt work out. As has been said all the checks should be made first. There are some bargains to be found out there
08-01-2006, 07:34 PM
BN,
Why don't you get the second hand one now and get a bargain at the boat show..later in the year 8-)
HarryO
09-01-2006, 05:00 PM
G'day Brutul,
so the search for the Holy Grail begins....
In reading your wishes for a overniter.
(comfortable for u & yours, I asume)
and a big enough cockpit for fishing with a few
mates, the first boat I thought of was a
Cruisecraft Outsider 650.
I've seen em 2nd hand in "as new" nick in the high 30's
to mid 40's...
Certainly worth adding to your "to look at" list.
Harry..
brutul_noodle
09-01-2006, 10:37 PM
Thanks harry o, sounds spot on ! ill look into it. This search for the holy grail was harder than i thought it would be :-/