PDA

View Full Version : Brisbane Ramps-First Launch

brutul_noodle
13-01-2006, 11:24 PM
Hi guys, Im new to boating and new to brisbane. Im expecting my new boat in a few weeks and im on the hunt for a good ramp for my first launch. Since i have to run in the motor and being my first attempt at boating i was considering the brisbane river but im really looking for some help with locations as im sure with all the experience there is on these forums there may be some good advise to be had. I will have a mate with me to help but he is a newbie too. I really dont want to go get in any ones way and would hate to experience some ramp rage on my first launch. I have read lots of advise on what to do and not to do and also read some horror stories which i am hoping to avoid. Im sure im gonna cop lots of flack at the ramp as it is, having a new boat and no idea what im doing :-/ Im looking to start going around and watching a few people launch and checking out some ramps and any advise with locations to go to would be hugely appreciatied.

25_ponies
14-01-2006, 12:00 AM
Which part of Brisbane are you in ?

Unfortunately "good ramps" and "Brisbane" don't go together that often. :(

Anyway, tell us where you are and we'll figure something out.

brutul_noodle
14-01-2006, 12:04 AM
thanks ponies, although i dont think that is the news i wanted to hear :o
i live in the gap but am prepared to drive where ever is a good spot, i dont mind if i have to drive an hour or so north or south if it will give me an enjoyable day.

25_ponies
14-01-2006, 12:37 AM
Sorry, I wasn't trying to scare you. ;D

First recommendation would be to try and have your first go mid-week rather than the weekend. Just about every ramp will be busy on the weekend, and (bad news for you), the good ones will be very busy.