View Full Version : Thanks

Smelly
15-01-2006, 03:35 PM
Many thanks to you all in helping me making choices to buy a boat.

After official inspection by an boat inpector and my gut feel and knowledge gained from here, I came up trumps and scored a Haines Hunter 530 115HP Johnson - with all extras... ;D ;D ;D

Bad luck for those who also wanted this boat. :P

Smelly

baitchuka
15-01-2006, 03:51 PM
congrats mate, where r the pics? DAVO......

Smelly
15-01-2006, 04:37 PM
DAVO - I have jpg picis but over the max. allowable size to post here...

DOn't know how to solve this one..

Anyway - 89 Boat with 89 4 Stoke Johnson 115HP - Immaculate condition throught and always garaged.

The inspector was blown away by the condition of this babe.

Jeff Webster thought the Hull was quote "..a RIPPER...Buy it if price and engine OK.."

This time - it is MY turn not to miss out on quality bargains from the Traing Post!!!

Smelly! ;D ;D ;D ;D

baitchuka
15-01-2006, 04:42 PM
you should have a box that you can tick that says best for email, this resizes your jpegs 4 ya. What did ya pay for it mate?

Smelly
15-01-2006, 05:52 PM
Thanks, I'll try it... $17.5k. #Maybe a bit steep - but is rare (I think) and in immaculate condition - both HULL and motor.

Unable to locate this 'resizing' bit...for attachment..

BladeRunner
15-01-2006, 06:32 PM
Good on Ya Smelly
Sounds like you have a nice big boat, a dry boat .

I might hold off on those photos our scanner I left at work.

Keep in contact let us know how it gos
Blade

Hoges
15-01-2006, 07:18 PM
Thanks, I'll try it... $17.5k. Maybe a bit steep - but is rare (I think) and in immaculate condition - both HULL and motor.

Unable to locate this 'resizing' bit...for attachment..

Congratulations! That is a great boat for the bay and may you have heaps of fun with loads of snapper to blood her.

A very easy way to resize photos to post here is the Microsoft program below

Click on the link below to go to Microsoft Power Toys. On the righthand side of the page and down a bit you will see the program Image Resizer exe Download.

This PowerToy enables you to resize one or many image files with a right-click. It is only a 521 KB download.

Just click on it to install then to resize Right Click the photo you wish to reduce. A drop down menu appears, select Resize Pictures and select the size. It will then create another smaller copy of that photo in the same folder whilst leaving the original as it is.
For example if the original photo is 1 MEG then on Large = 157KB, on Medium = 109KB, on Small = 77KB, on WinCE = 24KB
Dead simple to use!

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx

For example the picture below was 1MEG and by selecting under Resize Picture > large it is now only 70.9KB

Smelly
15-01-2006, 07:44 PM
Thanks all.

Balderunner - appreciate your efforts - I really was close to signing u for a CC plate hull but read had to consider all info I got from here and I made my mind up for glass...purely because of the chop on PPB..

I have concluded that aluminim on chop and swell is not the way to go..

Re: pics - Sorry for suspense but I have to go in my yard now and work (we had 46 degrees here - Port Hedland) and I waited utntil the sun went down a bit..

I promise to supply the picis....Thanks Hoges for the link..

Stay tuned!

Smelly! ;D ;D

to

fishingrod
15-01-2006, 08:03 PM
...... 89 Boat with 89 4 Stoke Johnson 115HP - Immaculate condition ......

Hopefully you meant V4 :-? (as in 4 cylinder) Johnson certainly didnt have 4 strokes back in 89

Sounds like a good rig. Glad to see your happy ;D

Smelly
15-01-2006, 10:33 PM
Hoges - great Link - I'll certainly be using link more often!

Ok - here goes the picis...

Smelly
15-01-2006, 10:39 PM
another

Smelly
15-01-2006, 10:42 PM
Another

Smelly
15-01-2006, 10:43 PM
Another

Smelly
15-01-2006, 10:44 PM
Last One..

Smelly
15-01-2006, 10:49 PM
FishingRod,

Clarification - 110HP not 115HP. Re:V4 Johno (Not Sure) - Jeff Webster wrote V4 Johnston during my liason with him and after he viewed the same photos..

The Boat Inspector reckons it has only done about 150 hours.. :)

I will obtain more motor specs shortly...(serial #'s, etc.)

bay_firey
16-01-2006, 10:56 AM
You have got a top looking rig there Smelly, well done

vermin
16-01-2006, 05:33 PM
150hrs ... ok ::). That's not much. Rare find!

Smelly
16-01-2006, 07:37 PM
Hull weight 590 kgs, beam 2.26m (V17L 2.05m), deadrise 22 degrees...

Some 260kgs lighter than the V17L...but with a wider beam..

This boat has generally been sitting in garages for many years...

Lucky find..I guess - but I know I always make my own luck in this world. ;)

Smelly!