View Full Version : Help for a newby
Fat Chilli
05-02-2006, 10:22 PM
I have just been given the go ahead (from the boss) to buy a boat, as I am new to the salt water scene and this forum I'm asking for advise/input about a particular boat I may purchase. The seller has accepted my offer and I'm as happy as a pig in shiite; however can anyone tell me about the boat as the info supplied is limited.
It was advertised as a 1998 Marine Fabrications 4.6m half cabin (see pic) and I can't find anything on a manufacturer by this name. The boat is very clean and well maintained, but I would like help from those with more experience.
It has a Mercury Bigfoot 60 hp. Is this (larger geared) outboard suitable for this boat?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v202/ausjeep/78_12_s.jpg
Wild_Thing
05-02-2006, 10:33 PM
carn't realy tell from the photo mate looks like its in good nick!
have a look at the boat rego papers they might help.
cheers Payney ;)
catchy_fishy
06-02-2006, 08:05 AM
Hey Fat Chilli
First off welcome to Ausfish - I can only guarantee you that you are likely to get all the best advice here you can - try read the older posts if you have the time - awesome info.
Hmmmmm.....Another fisherman who listens to the boss first, how long did you plan it all ;) ??
I may have solved your problem - Does the attached boat look the same ??
NAME YM 127
TYPE Half Cabin
BUILDER/DESIGNER Mustang
LOA 17 Ft (4.6m)
The "marine fabrication" - seems simply to mean that it will suit bay type salt water -good sales term - I too would have fallen for it !
Check this link - similar boat for sale:
http://www.docksideboatsales.com.au/halfcabins/ym127/ym127.htm
If you don't come right try looking for other similar boat that are for sale, and see if you can get more detail that way
I'm also just starting out in boating - bought mine in December - still need a licence to take her out.
Cheers and Good Luck
Catchy Fishy
catchy_fishy
06-02-2006, 08:09 AM
oh and save the two images, and bring them up as the same sizes next to each other, then compare - they are very very close.
Catchy fishy
Fat Chilli
06-02-2006, 08:32 AM
Catchy_fishy - Hi mate thanks for the welcome and help, but they appear to be different; the Mustang has 2 front windows (hatches), the side windows are a different shape and there is no step down to the edge (side) where the cabin ends.
However other than that they are not that far apart. My neighbor is a fibreglasser with Mustang and he also used to work for Riviera, he was telling me that up untill a few years ago that the industry used to swap and share hull molds regularly. So they could be one in the same? :-/
Thanks for your input
Fat Chilli
06-02-2006, 01:34 PM
I did a bit of searching and came up with this on Ebay...looks similar eh?
Coast craft?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Half-Cabin-Family-Fishing-Boat-Coast-Craft_W0QQitemZ4609301738QQcategoryZ102698QQrdZ1QQ cmdZViewItem
catchy_fishy
07-02-2006, 04:46 AM
could be - I checked their site, but all they have in pic format is the newer boats so I couldn't confirm it was one of theirs - send them a pic and ask them - maybe they can help
Fat Chilli
07-02-2006, 08:32 AM
Catchy_Fishy - I contacted the Ebay seller, and he reckons Coast Craft went out of business 5 years ago. Either way I took the boat that was first pictured in for a check last night, unfortunately (for me, as I wanted it) it has a few issues. The owner will hopefully rectify them, and I may have a boat? Wait and see, the search will continue. :-/
HarryO
07-02-2006, 02:34 PM
G'day Fat Chili,
and welcome aboard...
Nice looking boat..
The bigfoot models were designed for barge/houseboat
applications..
I would definately be getting that inspected by a dealer..
# #(be aware of high hours)
Good luck...
Harry..
catchy_fishy
08-02-2006, 06:17 AM
hmmm- Coast craft out of business a few years ago - maybe it was a different site, i was on so many, acros sthe USA and AUS anyway seems you're getting on with your discovery.
I hope it pans out for you, but my advice having just bought my boat - if its not right don't buy it - there will be another - there are always others - and 9/10 times the next one is better coz you got everything you wanted.
I'm sat now with a rotting floor, because I liked the look of the seat cushions - be careful, take your time and enjoy the boat you get -dont let it be a burden.