View Full Version : Jack-knifing trailer for drive-on

2iar
31-01-2006, 04:41 PM
Here's a snippet of a report on a trip to Mud on Saturday (windy):

"I had a bit of a drama trying to drive onto the trailer back at the ramp with wind and current (I don't suppose the clears helped). Ended up winching the boat on - a guy at the ramp gave me a tip on jack-knifing the trailer when in those conditions, so I might give that a burl next time."

I've been thinking about this since then: when jack-knifing the trailer, should I do it against the wind/current (allowing me to drift the boat with it onto the trailer), or with the current (and drive the boat against it up the trailer)? Without trying it I'm not sure. Or is it really a good idea at all?

What do Ausfishers think?

Thanks,

Mr__Bean
31-01-2006, 04:51 PM
G'Day Mike,

I do it whenever there is either strong cross wind or strong cross current.

You need the back of the trailer to point towards where the current/wind is going to take the back of the boat once the bow makes contact with the trailer (down wind / down current).

Be carefull of raised edges on the ramp however, they can be a trap.

A bit hard sometimes when you have to hog the ramp, but it certainly makes it easier to drive up in these conditions.

- Darren

2iar
31-01-2006, 07:49 PM
Thanks mate,

That makes sense. [smiley=thumbup.gif]

I did think of the raised edges, and that fact that one side of the trailer will be shallower. At least I know I can winch it on if need be (normally don't go out alone).

Yeah, it's a bummer hogging the ramp, but at least when the conditions are bad, the ramp is comparitively quiet. I could have used all three lanes at Nudgee on Saturday when I came in. I'd try to wait for a break in traffic if it's bad and busy, or again, go the winch.

Thanks again,

Grand_Marlin
31-01-2006, 08:03 PM
G'day Mike.
Everybody has different ideas for driving on.
I modify trailers to a drive on standard using a teflon "V" system.
These make driving on foolproof, in any current or wind conditions.
All you have to do is get the nose in the full width V at the back of the trailer and keep the boat moving. The boat cant go anywhere except straight up the trailer.

Teflon doesn't hurt fibreglass, contrary to some peoples opinion.

The system was developed in Tassie, for driving on when using a very agricultural ramp that launched straight into the sea. #It was not uncommon to be driving on with a 5ft break and 30kts of wind coming angleways across the back of the trailer. (I will see if I can dig up some pics)

This pic is a trailer I modified last year to suit a 26ft Flybridge Caribbean.

Just my thoughts.

Grand_Marlin
31-01-2006, 08:08 PM
trailer

youngfisho
31-01-2006, 10:03 PM
thats one biggggg trailer. Could just about fit two of my boats on there.

andrew

seabug
31-01-2006, 11:46 PM
Congratulations Grand-Marlin

That would have to be the best drive on trailer about.

If I ever get my dreamboat I will be sending you a PM for further details

Many thanks for posting the photo.
Seabug

ANYFISH
31-01-2006, 11:58 PM
great trailer mate! a work of art for such a big boat ;)
how do 17-20foot fibreglass boats go towing long distances (200klm+ from home to the ramp) with 'em sitting on the ribs/steps in the hull?

Anyfish

The_Walrus
01-02-2006, 12:40 AM
How would such a set up be for tinnies?

01-02-2006, 05:48 AM
Hi Grand marlin
what neck of the woods was you from
they use that set up for any sort of boat in tassie, from cats to little tinnies. I tryed to get a pic of a trailer for Troy when he was building his beach trailer, as pete said some times when the boat comes in on the swell and lands on the trailer, when the swell goes out the trailer is sitting on sand with the water no where to be seen. the trailer sit up is kind to all boats because the weight of the boat is dristributed more even. Alloy boats need to use a different bottom strips because it cuts the white one.

01-02-2006, 05:51 AM
just to addafter looking at the trailer pic again, sometimes the bottom rollers are removed and a V made up the center with timber and covered with teflon, no rollers

Grand_Marlin
01-02-2006, 07:22 AM
Thanks for the positive comments Guys, much appreciated.

I am in Brisbane. I run a small business called Valet Boat Services.

I work by myself, as a mobile setup, and specialise in all sorts of things on boats. If I may say so, my forte' is "thinking outside the square" and coming up with practical solutions to difficult problems" .. anyway, enough about what I do....

Anyfish, towing long distances is fine. The secret is the keel rollers. They take all the weight and the teflon slides simply support the boat to stop it from falling over. The structural strength is in the keel of a boat.

There are a few tricks that we have learned over the years in how to set them up. they are a simple concept, just how you execute putting them together makes all the difference.

Luc, they are fine for tinnies. I have done a number of them especially for tinnies.

Blaze, you are dead right in what you have said. You have obviously seen first hand what conditions we had to launch into in Tassie.
I have seen a number of mishaps in this situation... one of which the swell picked up a boat that they were trying to load by hand onto a standard trailer and threw it straight over the top of a bloke standing in the frame of the trailer. the boat ended up being thrown completely off the trailer, but the bloke was ok (save a few bruises and scrapes)

We used this system, combined with a 4 - 6m extension draw bar with no problems. It wasnt easy, but we learned to deal with it.
Some people do get rid of the rollers, but for cushioning, I always use keel rollers... always.

The blue teflon I use is ok for aluminium boats, I just change the keel rollers to blue nylon to suit. (see pic)

vertico
01-02-2006, 05:56 PM
dunbier loader series

http://www.dunbiermarine.com/trailers_loader.htm

drive the boat up in any crosswind / current no problems

Grand_Marlin
01-02-2006, 06:12 PM
;D ;D You decide.....

baldyhead
01-02-2006, 06:32 PM
There doesn't appear to be any keel / motor support for @ least a metre on that Dunbier trailer.....right where the boat needs it the most...in my opinion

Johnm
02-02-2006, 06:31 PM
Here's a snippet of a report on a trip to Mud on Saturday (windy):

"I had a bit of a drama trying to drive onto the trailer back at the ramp with wind and current (I don't suppose the clears helped). Ended up winching the boat on - a guy at the ramp gave me a tip on jack-knifing the trailer when in those conditions, so I might give that a burl next time."

I've been thinking about this since then: when jack-knifing the trailer, should I do it against the wind/current (allowing me to drift the boat with it onto the trailer), or with the current (and drive the boat against it up the trailer)? Without trying it I'm not sure. Or is it really a good idea at all?

What do Ausfishers think?

Thanks,

My two pet hates at boat ramps. Small boats being driven on to trailers and jacknifed trailers.
Jacknifed trailers can take up the whole ramp stopping people from using the other lane.
Driving on small boats, back trailer down. Push boat off from beside the trailer, try to line it up then drive it on usually it doesn't go on properly so it's a second go then give up and complete the job with the winch. All taking twice as long as simply winching it on. Meanwhile you just sit and wait. Maybe I'm always striking people who are slow but I fail to see how it is quicker to muck about driving the boat on when the rest of the crew watch.
The only people who I have seen make the drive on quick are professional fishermen with 5 metre plus boats.
Most of the people who I have seen drive boats off don't push the trailer back far enough and usually someone has to push the boat off while the sit there revving the motor stirring everything up.

If people are going to drive smaller boats on and off trailers then they need to get a lot of practice when no one else is around or wait until the ramp is clear and not clog up the ramp. If it cannpt be driven on quicker than winching then do everyone a favour and winch.

Hopefully the ones I have been stuck behind are the minority or the learners because it seems from reading these boards that drive on is becoming more popular.

Grand_Marlin
02-02-2006, 08:54 PM
LOL ... tell us what you really think JohnM !!

Patience is a virtue at boat ramps, but I do agree that a lot of people do muck around a lot.

Especially when they dont clear their boat away from the ramp when they launch... they go and park the car, wander back down, get in the boat, start it (if it will go) then make room for somebody else.... especially annoying at single lane ramps like deepwater bend.

The other thing I love is when people back down the ramp, then start rigging up....

With our boat, we are literally off or on the trailer in 30 seconds, any conditions. We often get the question "How the hell did you do that?"

Maybe we should start a "drive on" forum, but then again.... (in all due respect) every other person already knows best...

Mantaray
02-02-2006, 09:04 PM
trailer

trailer lights and all? then that trailer is regsitered?
what do you legally tow it with apart from that tonka toy?
why are the lights on the rear end of the mudguard?

Grand_Marlin
02-02-2006, 09:40 PM
Mantaray,
The trailer was registered, but let lapse, as the trailer was never going to be towed on the road with the Caribbean on it. It was in the hardstand area at RQYS.

It was a trailer we modified for a client, not personally mine. I have the same type under my boat, a 20ft Yalta Odessa - see for sale section.

I am pretty sure it could be legally towed with an F250, but at 4+ tonne, it is not really something you would consider doing on a regular basis. Also, it would need to be tri axle to be carry the weight better, and to be legal.

The "Tonka Toy" as you demean, actually handles the boat with ease on the ramp. Not legal by about 2 tonne, but it is in the hardstand area. It tows it ok, but I would hate to have to stop in a hurry !!

The lights you mentin are clearance lights. Required for any trailer with a width in excess of 2.3m (From memory without looking up the standards)

Grand_Marlin
03-02-2006, 12:10 AM
Hey Guys,
I dug up a photo of the ramp we used to use at St Helens in Tassie.
It has been improved a lot now, but this is what we had to deal with.

In this pic, the weather is more Easterly, but when it goes more Northeast, then the waves roll over the ramp....

Any volunteers??

03-02-2006, 05:50 AM
better that ramp pete than taking on the bar. I reckon that ramp is way to steep now and at times I have thought I would need a tow off

megafish71
03-02-2006, 07:40 AM
trailer

Is there something wrong with your eyes as well as your attitude? Regardless if the trailer is registered or not the brake and indicator lights are at the rear of the trailer.

Mantaray
03-02-2006, 09:59 AM
trailer

Is there something wrong with your eyes as well as your attitude? Regardless if the trailer is registered or not the brake and indicator lights are at the rear of the trailer.

talking about an attitude! what is the problem with you? you always appear to be very quick to show you have a problem! attitude and all but if you want to comment then do understand the what it is all about #[smiley=lost.gif]

now where did the query mention anything about the rear lights ???? #[smiley=clown.gif] the lights on the rear of the mudguard #[smiley=clown.gif] the lights on the rear of the mudguards #[smiley=smartass.gif]

PeterT
03-02-2006, 11:13 AM
That St Helens pic is alost exacto like the sea ramp at Mallacootta. A real bitch in a heavy swell and the trailter parts guys at Mal must love it for the shit bins full of trailer lights they sell in the tourist season.

pete

2iar
03-02-2006, 11:42 AM
If people are going to drive smaller boats on and off trailers then they need to get a lot of practice when no one else is around or wait until the ramp is clear and not clog up the ramp. If it cannpt be driven on quicker than winching then do everyone a favour and winch.

For what it's worth I agree with you. See my original reply after my question was answered:

Yeah, it's a bummer hogging the ramp, but at least when the conditions are bad, the ramp is comparitively quiet. I could have used all three lanes at Nudgee on Saturday when I came in. I'd try to wait for a break in traffic if it's bad and busy, or again, go the winch.

If I could practice in Coles carpark, I would :D

Good luck,

sf17fisherman
03-02-2006, 04:12 PM
My two pet hates at boat ramps. Small boats being driven on to trailers and jacknifed trailers.
Jacknifed trailers can take up the whole ramp stopping people from using the other lane.
Driving on small boats, back trailer down. Push boat off from beside the trailer, try to line it up then drive it on usually it doesn't go on properly so it's a second go then give up and complete the job with the winch. All taking twice as long as simply winching it on. Meanwhile you just sit and wait. Maybe I'm always striking people who are slow but I fail to see how it is quicker to muck about driving the boat on when the rest of the crew watch.
The only people who I have seen make the drive on quick are professional fishermen with 5 metre plus boats.
Most of the people who I have seen drive boats off don't push the trailer back far enough and usually someone has to push the boat off while the sit there revving the motor stirring everything up.

Hopefully the ones I have been stuck behind are the minority or the learners because it seems from reading these boards that drive on is becoming more popular.
while i like driveingon at time and even this so called jackknifeing (more like angleing the trailer) i don't do it all the time
when solo it is easyer to which on IMHO and these are more the time is may angle the trailer to assist me in doing this but only in strong currents or winds
driveing on i do in both small tinnys and larger boats and what you say is true
i'm far from the best drive on you have seen but can do it with ease however yes i too have seen alot that try and try and try and still only end up just as they would if they winched it on
it is a good thing to know and learn and great for those rough days outside

LOL ... tell us what you really think JohnM !!

Patience is a virtue at boat ramps, but I do agree that a lot of people do muck around a lot.

Especially when they dont clear their boat away from the ramp when they launch... they go and park the car, wander back down, get in the boat, start it (if it will go) then make room for somebody else.... especially annoying at single lane ramps like deepwater bend.

The other thing I love is when people back down the ramp, then start rigging up....

With our boat, we are literally off or on the trailer in 30 seconds, any conditions. #We often get the question "How the hell did you do that?"

Maybe we should start a "drive on" forum, but then again.... (in all due respect) every other person already knows best...

yep rigging while reversed and packing the boat or unpacking and cleaning fish while parked on a ramp would be my number one pet hate too

the other one is people hogging the pontoons while waiting for a mate to turn up mean while everyone else thats ready to go has to load everyone one in the water

buy G_M as you say Patience is a virtue
happy i live in a coastal town with less traffic but

ahoj
03-02-2006, 04:36 PM
Have you got a handbrake if you happen to run up too fast? or do you finish in the boot of your car occasionely :D :D ;D ;D

Grand_Marlin
03-02-2006, 11:52 PM
Thats why I drive a Ute.... just in case !!
Plenty of room in the back of it if you overshoot ;D

Grand_Marlin
04-02-2006, 08:46 AM
G'day Blaze,
Re: Ramp....
Yes, I agree... that bat must be one or the most unpredictable bars in the world.
I don't think there is a boat that goes over the bar that hasn't had trouble at some stage.
Aerial (53ft flybridge) had the windows punched out of it.
Adosinda, 23ft Cat, had the same,
Dopey 1 (32ft flybridge) had a wave that literally broke on the flybridge, punched all the windows out and filled it with water. One passenger was swept from in the cabin and pinned up against the transom
One of the commercial crayfish boats had the wheelhouse removed coming back in over the bar...
I bet some people from other notorious bars arounf australia have some stories to tell as well..... would make a good post.

The ramp at St Helens is steep, but they did that so as the cars could be kept out of the water when the surge comes in. I think the steepness is the lesser of two evils.

Geoff_Atkinson
04-02-2006, 09:51 AM
Never Done it, never seen it done

Swerve
04-02-2006, 09:31 PM
When I launch, I generally have a 2nd person. Mate reverses trailer, Unlinks the boat and I drive off and wait in the water untill he is ready. Then drop into shore or pontoon and pick him up.

Getting on is the reverse. Drop him off, he reverses, I drive on, he hooks up and winchs the rest, done in no time.

I too hate how people leave there boat blocking the ramp while getting cars etc.

Good_as_Gold
12-02-2006, 06:28 AM
Good trailer set up
I have just bought a new 5 metre platy
open with a 60 yamy 4st

I have another 6 weeks left before it is ready, I still have to get a trailer for it though, I have seen the trailcraft trailer they seem to be the pick.

what trailer is that in the photo with the tinny?