View Full Version : Dominator Cats

Gunfish
01-02-2006, 06:29 PM
Does anyone own or have owned a Dominator Cat? I'm looking more at the 4900 due to cost to buy and run. I have high hopes as to the performance and capabilities of the boat. Any info. or opinions would greatly appreciated. I also looked at a kevlacat 1900, but for a baseline price of $79 000 they were'nt in my budget.

Dean

dfox
01-02-2006, 06:36 PM
Ive got the 7000, probably a bit big to compare...foxy

Grand_Marlin
01-02-2006, 07:45 PM
Cats are far better sea handling boats than a similar sized mono.
You would be amazed at the performance of a 4.9 cat, but ALWAYS keep in mind that it is still only a 4.9m boat and they have their limitations. #You dont rule the seas just because you have a Cat, but you could safely say you are second in charge!
Take a drive up the coast and see Mark Hookem at dominator - I think he is in Port Macquarie??
The 5.0m Hookem Cat was a beauty, hard to find second hand and they dont sit around for long.
I havent been in the 4.9 so I cant comment precisely on the boat.

Mark would be able to tell you where you could take one for a test run. Make sure you do test drive b4 you buy, it is the only way to truly know if it will suit you.

Just make sure that the Cat you buy has self draining decks, twin motors, and the correct size motors to give plenty of power, but also a good balance of weight.
Overpowered or underpowered cats are dogs - scuse th epun!

I dont know what your budget or tow vehicle is, but there is a 5.2 Kevlacat for sale on Ausfish. #Looks in good condition. #Thee are a legendary boat for their size.

Get up to a 7m Dominator like Foxy has, and mate, you would be gettin round like a dog with a tin dik!

01-02-2006, 08:28 PM
Hi grand marlin
The word is "Cape Cat" best cats ever built

01-02-2006, 10:24 PM
Gunfish
I would suggest you research the Kevlacat 5.2m (used to come in standard or tournament versions)

I don't have one but have been to the factory down from Mooloolabah and was impressed.

My brother goes on one out from Eden for competitions and they travel out in 25 knotts when everybody else is struggling in. (not always)

sf17fisherman
02-02-2006, 12:23 AM
well markhams have been in the cat game for many years and they do make world class boats that do get sold more over seas than here in australia and are by far one of the leaders in cats

i would love to get a nice canyon dominator but untill i win lotto it is a dream

contact info is
markham manufacturing
46 Uralla road Port macquaire
02 6581 1034

the factory isn't much to see but they sure do do nice boats ;)

Grand_Marlin
02-02-2006, 05:59 AM
G'day Blaze,
Cape Cats - made in NW Tasmania are well respected sea boats and are used primarily as commercial boats.

The big downfall is their finish... they are built for a purpose, not for show.

Personally, my favourite cat is the original 23ft Sharkcat. #

02-02-2006, 06:09 AM
still built for commercial use but by a different builder now, very basic but the end result is better. the guy building them now has spent about 12 months on the moulds alone.

Gunfish
02-02-2006, 03:46 PM
Thanks for the insights guys,I will try to get up to Port Mc. and check them out. The other thing I didn't like about the Kevlacat was the tin pod on the back. Any comments on that?

Dean.

Grand_Marlin
02-02-2006, 09:15 PM
Aluminium Pods on Kevlacats....
I had them on a 6.2 Kevlacat and they work fine. Fred Temminck who made the original Kevlacat got it right, Crafty old Bugger !

The only thing wrong with them (and it was only cosmetic) was the powdercoating started to blister in places over time.

Mantaray
02-02-2006, 09:47 PM
so are cats that much better?

Grand_Marlin
02-02-2006, 11:00 PM
Mantaray,
# #Owning a cat is like shaggin with a 10"

But unless you have ever had the chance to give one a run, then it is hard to explain #;)

Sorry, I forgot, you don't like my humour.

Cats, as compared to the same size monohull are 10 times more stable, a lot softer riding, can travel and maintain much quicker sppeds in rough conditions and do this safely.
The inherent safety is also much better. #Most cats have twin motors with separate batteries and fuel systems, most have self draining decks and a lot have the sponsons separated by watertight bulkheads.
Also, they have more room due to their square shape

To give you an idea of their seaworthiness:

I was looking for an 18' Sharkcat in Tassie.

The first one I looked at belonged to an Abalone Diver. #I hadn't had much to do with Cats at this stage, had only heard of their reputation.
I said to the Ab Diver, "I have heard a lot about what Cats can do, but what don't they like?"
His answer was.... "Ohh, not much really..... they dont really like a 6 or 7 metre braking wave right in the centre of the tunnel when you have 1 1/2 ton of ab's on board..... you sorta got to cut up and over 'em a bit"
Keep in mind these blokes are fishing the south coast of Tassie, around Maatsuyker Island, basically in the middle of nowhere.

The second one (which I bought) we were taking for a run in Bass Strait, out of Georgetown. #The forecast was for 25 - 30 knot winds, so I thought we would just launch in the river and maybe poke our nose out arount the point if the conditions weren't too bad.
The owner of the Cat asked me on the way down "Do you know what the forecast is today?"
Before I could answer, he said "Doesn't matter anyway"
We put the boat in and he headed straight to sea. #3+ metre seas, with 30kts on it and the Cat just ate the conditions alive. #A weird feel until you get used to them - especially travelling at 25kts through these conditions. I had never been so scared and amazed all at the one time.

Give me a Cat any day !!

Grand_Marlin
03-02-2006, 12:03 AM
My 6.2 Kevlacat

Grand_Marlin
03-02-2006, 12:04 AM
My Latest Project - 23' Sharkcat with Single Diesel

youngfisho
03-02-2006, 01:06 AM
pure GRP pornography

those boats are horn

andrew

88fishframe
03-02-2006, 07:23 AM
Go the cats ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Mantaray
03-02-2006, 10:06 AM
so what are these little tin cats like?

Mantaray
03-02-2006, 10:10 AM
Mantaray,

But unless you have ever had the chance to give one a run, then it is hard to explain #;)

Didn't realize you were funny [smiley=chatirc.gif]

Grand_Marlin
03-02-2006, 11:59 PM
Thats nice and neat 88fishframe. I havent been in a NQ cat, but I would imagine they are similar to the Cairns Custom Craft cats in ride?

What sort of performance do you get with the single 115?

Grand_Marlin
04-02-2006, 08:34 AM
Mantaray,

Didn't realize you were funny #[smiley=chatirc.gif]

Rephrase.... you don't understand my humour.... Oh well *shrugs*

Mantaray
04-02-2006, 05:34 PM
Mantaray,

Didn't realize you were funny #[smiley=chatirc.gif]

Rephrase.... you don't understand my humour.... Oh well *shrugs*

so you "were" trying to be funny then [smiley=stunned.gif]

youngfisho
04-02-2006, 07:37 PM
here we go manta ray starts attacking this post ;D

shall no post be left alone

andrew

Mantaray
04-02-2006, 08:12 PM
here we go manta ray starts attacking this post ;D

shall no post be left alone

andrew

well andrew this is where you need to review things and mind you you will have to have an open mind, difficult i know but all the same a prerequisite for understanding which came first the chicken or the egg?

now these are my only queries in this to date

so are cats that much better?

so what are these little tin cats like?

now that is very straight straight and simple? now you would have to agree, wouldn't you?? andrew

anything else said has purely been in comment/reply (that is in REPLY andrew) #to the trashy and totally irrelvant and really unnecessary type of comments made by others

so do you have a problem with me REPLYING to the trashy and totally irrelvant comments andrew? why is it andrew that you do not point your irrelvant comments to the originators of the trashy and irrelvant comments andrew??

so andrew is there really any need for your comments? maybe you are just a little bit one eyed, one sided or whatever it is that blinds your senses

Darryl
04-02-2006, 08:29 PM
Man you need to get laid, hows that for understanding the chicken and the egg prerequisite. ;D ;D

Mantaray
04-02-2006, 08:37 PM
Man you need to get laid, hows that for understanding the chicken and the egg prerequisite. #;D ;D

hey maybe you could help andrew out. surely together you could both come to your senses

Darryl
04-02-2006, 08:40 PM
Dont even start blowing hot air my way, on your bike boy. You do stir up threads with your gibberish and some people have more patience than i so i will leave it at that.

Your not worth getting banned over.

Mantaray
04-02-2006, 10:03 PM
Your not worth getting banned over.

then if you don't want to get banned you shouldn't try and stir trouble. so why are you commenting anyway, you got something to say? #

youngfisho
05-02-2006, 09:36 AM
this is another one of those situations where by manta ray cant take a joke, if I was serious about the comments that I made then it would have been in BOLD text. hence why I had added a smilie to maybe soften the presentation. But it obviously fell on deaf ears.

a lot of comments on this site are purely that personal opinion, having read many other posts whereby it was a proverbial slanging match I thought i would make light of it. But you really cant post anything on Ausfish anymore without someone taking offence to it.

what ever happened to light hearted banter? or blokes taking the P##s out of eachother for fun

andrew

Grand_Marlin
05-02-2006, 09:43 AM
Nicely said Andrew.

youngfisho
05-02-2006, 09:46 AM
why thanks Grand marlin ;)

andrew

skippa
05-02-2006, 10:01 AM
Don't sweat #it Andrew,

Banter is still alive and well, I take the pi** outta Brett (Brejen) on a lot of occassions as well as those other Haines dudes, oh and not forgetting the old bloke in his tinne also.
( Not my fault they choose to stick with those crappy boats instead of the Superior Southwinds #;) ;D)
Plenty gets thrown back at me too, as it should ... if ya dish it out ya gotta be big enough to cop it back as well. #;)

Keep reading the posts Andrew there's a lot of blokes who have developed friendships from these forums and even if you don't know them personally you can feel it in there post to one another.

Tony # #8-)

Mantaray
05-02-2006, 10:03 AM
in light of recent events it's not a very clever person that really tries to be smart then tries to call it light hearted banter! so why is it andrew that you don't banter the actual people who deserve it? oh no that is befitting of you is it? no andrew you do not know what banter is, that is fairly obvious and maybe a lot of people should keep the personal personal opinion to themsleves and just stick to the subject instead of being 2 faced!

troy
05-02-2006, 11:14 AM
Bloody pussies- monos are the only way to go
Troy ;)

ahoj
05-02-2006, 03:48 PM
Cats are being made in Gympie @ watsons marine they have 3 beauties for sale S/H worth a look well priced.........

Ahoj

troy
05-02-2006, 03:51 PM
Oh well no bites so the Monos win.
Troy :P

Grand_Marlin
05-02-2006, 03:57 PM
Troy.... in the words of Eddie Van Halen...."What is already known, need not be talked about" - hence no bites to your comment ;D ;D ;D

It was either this, or everybody is still laughing....

Nice try though ;)

and in case Mantaray is present. This is banter.

ahoj
05-02-2006, 04:09 PM
I just love CATS any size

Ahoj

troy
05-02-2006, 04:51 PM
Ahoj and do you love pussies
Troy :-*

Gunfish
06-02-2006, 04:26 PM
What The????I've created a monster........or is this just the first time I've seen Him?

Lighten up Manta. ;D we're all here to discuss things we enjoy, not to get bent outa shape. Now lets here some more about cats!

Dean.

youngfisho
07-02-2006, 10:07 PM
gunfish,

never mind the bollocks. Cats rule!!! just ask any coat guard crew who regularly punches through swells on a daily basis and come out the otherside unscathed. But really for regular trailer boat fishos without the greenbacks, a mono with a decent deadrise and decent motor, should do the trick when driven to the conditions.

andrew

manta

seriously lighten up mate. I wasnt attacking you, just as I said - light hearted banter.

andrew

Mantaray
08-02-2006, 12:32 PM
well andrew when i see some banter i'll let you know, in the meantime it would appear that people have 2 names for their one sided comments and none of it puts them in a good light at all

troy
08-02-2006, 07:17 PM
The cats do not rule and they are so ugly looking that is why they are called pussies and so unpredictable.
Now the monos are so beatuatiful they have the pussies just dying to come aboard.
Troy :P :P :P :P

youngfisho
09-02-2006, 10:55 AM
Definition - banter

These verbs mean to poke fun good-humoredly: bantered with her colleagues during a coffee break; chaffed him for forgetting the appointment; joshed her brother about his strange new haircut; kidded me about my outfit; ragged her for being so stubborn; razzed the teammate who missed the shot; ribbing a friend for being in love.

NOUN:

Good-humored, playful conversation.
VERB:
ban·tered , ban·ter·ing , ban·ters
VERB:
tr.

To speak to in a playful or teasing way.
VERB:
intr.

To exchange mildly teasing remarks

andrew

jimbamb
09-02-2006, 09:18 PM
I,d rather be readin about Dominator cats than gettin an english lesson..
My ol fishin mate is gettin a new 7m Dominator in may..Cant wait to head out to the hards at 50Mph.Hope the back will stand up to it.
PS> I believe there is medication for PMT.....
Check it out at the Chemists ;) ;) ;) ;)an leave us alone...............

youngfisho
10-02-2006, 10:47 AM
jimbamb,

id rather hear about dominator cats to. ;) Or any of the cats for that matter, definitly a more interesting boat to look at than any monohuller IMO.

but just wanting to clarify a few things as well - sorry for the english lesson

andrew

Mantaray
10-02-2006, 11:45 AM
ok then i would have to say a dominator 7m cat is no where as smooth as a 6m noosa or kevlacat!

youngfisho
10-02-2006, 11:48 AM
that would be due to the symetrical hull design of the noosa and kevlar cat over the asymetric design and reduced hydrodynamic design of the sponsons in the markhams. But its a trade of between turning ability and softness of ride I suppose.

andrew

Mantaray
10-02-2006, 12:07 PM
well andrew this is another thing i've never really understood, this thing about some multihulls turning outward? can't see this being a negative as this is just what they do as opposed to other designs that lean inwards

often see this leaning thing as a reason against a multihull but for the life of me can not understand why this would be. suppose like comparing a motor bike and a car both corner differently but that's not a distraction on either of them, that's just what they do.

youngfisho
10-02-2006, 12:20 PM
I think ever since the word dot, mono hulls have been leaning in on turns and that I suppose is why people are so unsure when stepping into a cat. But I would consider softness of ride to be of more importance than turning ability in a fishing craft as we are often running long distances at set speeds, in straight lines and not needing the quick turning of a mono huller. having said that there is the time when crossing bars when manouverability is paramount. But for some reason cats seem to have no hastle crossing ocean bars, and do it quite comfortably. With the right captain and crew

andrew

Gunfish
10-02-2006, 12:44 PM
[quote author=youngfisho link=1138782551/30#39 date=1139314046]gunfish,

never mind the bollocks. #Cats rule!!! #just ask any coat guard crew who regularly punches through swells on a daily basis and come out the otherside unscathed. #But really for regular trailer boat fishos without the greenbacks, a mono with a decent deadrise and decent motor, should do the trick when driven to the conditions.

andrew

You're right andrew, i,ve lookrd more into some plate alloy boats and for the price they are very implessive, namely Bar Crusher 560 and Col's 550 Fisher Maxi. Alot more boat (with options) for your dollars.

Dean.

Gunfish
10-02-2006, 12:46 PM
sorry, I don't know how to do the "quote" thing properly

insideout
10-02-2006, 05:57 PM
here is a pic (hopefully) of my new baby(proud dad). after looking at these postings ive got to say we should all listen to GRAND MARLIN for his words are gold,and his wisdom, pearls.... (on cats anyhow!) ;D ;D

Grand_Marlin
10-02-2006, 08:31 PM
Lol... thanks... I think....
(dont happen to know anything about filters do you insideout?)
;D ;D ;D

insideout
10-02-2006, 08:38 PM
they are the things in your smokes , right?????? ;D ;D ;D ( im not getting involved!)

10-02-2006, 08:43 PM
had a cav296 monohull and the racor turned cat-tus

Mantaray
10-02-2006, 08:52 PM
so is there anybody here who - really - knows cats?

Grand_Marlin
10-02-2006, 09:02 PM
Seriously Mantaray,
What would you like to know?

Grand_Marlin
10-02-2006, 09:13 PM
Cool !! I just turned blue :)

Mantaray
10-02-2006, 09:36 PM
so are these little cats really capable of 40 knots in 20 knot winds in 2 m seas?

youngfisho
11-02-2006, 12:05 AM
more to the point is the driver capable of 40 knots in 20 knot winds, with the boat he\she is driving

andrew

youngfisho
11-02-2006, 12:09 AM
insideout,

mate am as envious as hell, thats one nice looking rig you have there. Should give you many hours of fishing heaven. BTW what motors did you opt to have. Thats the 2400 series isnt it. I would imagine 140hp suzis or similar.

andrew

Sea_Dragon
11-02-2006, 01:35 AM
To Ausfisho's.
What size/model Cat is possible for 30K?. Love Offshore fishing.. never owned a boat.

Fergie

Mantaray
11-02-2006, 04:10 PM
more to the point is the driver capable of 40 knots in 20 knot winds, with the boat he\she is driving

andrew

so would it depend on how much hot air was blowing the other direction?

do you really think they would have twin 140hp suzis on whatever cat that is, doesn't look all that big does it?

team_mongo
11-02-2006, 06:14 PM
FYI,

Design KEVLACAT Series 2400 Cuddy Cabin, Offshore

Max Power 2 x 140 hp

Standard package is with twin suzi 140 4s

Mantaray
11-02-2006, 06:22 PM
now that's not doing 40 knots (not even 30 knots) let alone 48 knots and as for the sea ::) nothing more than a bit wind swept ;D

do they all bog down i the rear ($rse) like that one?

insideout
11-02-2006, 09:17 PM
every classroom has a clown,eh! [smiley=clown.gif]

11-02-2006, 09:47 PM
I have been on a 23 foot Devil cat (KITTY KAT) across the noosa bar at 11.00pm and took on a wave,straight on with lowpower, that went over the top of the canopy. Must say I nearly sh*t when I saw the wave but came through the other side with ease.
Then another wave the same sat up in front of us and we did the same thing to that one.
I spewed every time I went on that thing, mainly because it felt wrong.

Oh and by the way it had 2 x 115 evinrudes and drank fuel like as if we owned a petrol station

Bought my own mono 9 years ago now and have never spewed on it and it just feels right.

You can have your pussies

Angla ::)

Mantaray
11-02-2006, 10:23 PM
PS I dont know the speed and I wasnt there - so cant comment on the conditions. but manta has some issue with this photo

tell me one thing? does it mean to highlight anything? you know people talk about 2 metre seas and based on that photo if that was 2 metre seas then there wouldn't be all that much of that boat showing, would there? might look bad to some but really not much much more than a bit of wind, remember the boat has a coming height of 0.67 metres !

team_mongo
11-02-2006, 10:37 PM
Manta,

tell me one thing? does it mean to highlight anything?

one thing - yes the photo is there to illustrate the suzi 140's, nothing more.

I not sure where you read that this is 2m seas - it is a photo of a cat on the water thats all.....

how do you interpret whats written manta????

I should add that photo is completely unrelated to my boat test mentioned.

Mantaray
11-02-2006, 10:45 PM
ok mongo so the rest of the spec was just for decoration? anyway somewhere along the line the wieght is different #;) oh and the draft #;)

say what does "BR/CB" stand for anyway?

as for the 2 metre seas well it's an interesting comparison, isn't it? take a look at that photo and then relate that to 2 metre seas, which has been previously brought up

but really it is a very interesting photo, really ;)

Wild_Thing
11-02-2006, 11:27 PM
Does anyone own or have owned a Dominator Cat? I'm looking more at the 4900 due to cost to buy and run. #I have high hopes as to the performance and capabilities of the boat. Any info. or opinions would greatly appreciated. #I also looked at a kevlacat 1900, but for a baseline price of $79 000 they were'nt in my budget.

Dean

Seems To Be Alot Of BS Between The Original Question And What's To Date Dean. So I'll Cut To The Chase.
In Short Dominator Cats Like All Cats Have Good And Bad Quality's I Could Talk For Hrs On The Different Hull Designs And Why One Cat Does Different Things To Others.
Your Dominator Cat Will Turn Like A Mono Hull When On The Plain & Motors Trimed Out.But You Try a Turn With Motors Trimed In And She Will High Side On You Like A Ba$tard.
Nearly All Cats In A FOLLOWING SEA Like To Be "Driven" Through Not Have The Driver Get Scared And Back Off The RPMs Often Resulting In Yet Another High Side & In Big Seas A Roll Over!(Just Ask The New Police Launch Down South Last Month)
They Are A Totally Different Concept Than A Mono And Do Take Some Gettin Used Too.
But When You And Your Machine Have Become 1 , Their's Nothin Finer
Cheers Payney ;) #

team_mongo
11-02-2006, 11:44 PM
Third and final time, before conceding the futility of continuing.

The post is in direct response the one above it - namely

do you really think they would have twin 140hp suzis on whatever cat that is, doesn't look all that big does it?

And the answer is yes. I have seen 5 different KC2400 with suzi 140s on them.

I've modified the post to make it a bit easier to understand, with less distractors.

Its been interesting chatting to you manta.

Cant say Im better for it though.

12-02-2006, 08:55 AM
I just love CATS #any size

Ahoj

Me too..........they make cracking crab bait ;D

Don't attempt to run from the past, it is always behind you.

troy
12-02-2006, 09:30 AM
Where is the photo i cannot find it.
Troy

willog
12-02-2006, 03:05 PM
Sorry Wild_Thing not sue what you mean by
Your Dominator Cat Will Turn Like A Mono Hull When On The Plain & Motors Trimed Out.But You Try a Turn With Motors Trimed In And She Will High Side On You Like A Ba$tard.
Don't know how much time you've spent in one on the 7ms but I'd say not much.
I've spent a fair bit of time at sea in one and would say the turning is prett well trim-INSENSITIVE.
I'm the first to say the turning is not the number 1,2 or 3 best thing about the hull but they do do it and do it easily.
Notice there is a 7m owner on here earlier and would love to hear his opinion.

Wild_Thing
12-02-2006, 05:03 PM
hey willog
Don't be sorry mate because now your comparing a 7000 to a 4900.
I know just how forgiving your 7m is but that wasn't the question that was asked.
Mabee the little roll over thing confused you but i was trying to make a point.In this Case it was a driver error.
Its hard to sum up all makes , models , and behaviours in just a few lines but just for the record i spend about 9 hrs a day in boats unfortunately not always on the water but when it is ,its not for the faint hearted.
Sounds like you are the proud owner of a 7m. well if thats the case you are the envy of most!
But to sum up willog a well built cat will beat the best mono any day but a bad one will scar you for life!

Cheer's Payney ;)

dfox
12-02-2006, 05:43 PM
Don't know how much time you've spent in one on the 7ms but I'd say not much.
I've spent a fair bit of time at sea in one and would say the turning is prett well trim-INSENSITIVE.
I'm the first to say the turning is not the number 1,2 or 3 best thing about the hull but they do do it and do it easily.
Notice there is a 7m owner on here earlier and would love to hear his opinion.
[/quote]

That would be me.
Trimmed in or trimmed out, still turns much the same, but as ive mentioned this trait means little to me....foxy

jimbamb
17-02-2006, 03:04 PM
Good to read some pertinate comments.Personally i recon the dominator 7m is so much better than a 2400 kevlar cat.I guess the extra metre helps.. and the way they turn and ride.Hope not to be disapointed after a longer evuation of the Dominator.
Andrew, sorry mate wasnt havin a go at you over the english lesson.was referin to other posts...

Kalin
17-02-2006, 09:40 PM
One of these days when I get some spare time it looks like we might have to sit down and a real good talk about cats as lots of people wouldn't know bee from a bulls foot about them. Way too many looks like they been reading way too many boat books. KL

jimbamb
18-02-2006, 11:09 AM
AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

btsah
27-02-2006, 01:26 PM
G'Day 88fishframe
I’m very impressed with your NQ Cat.
Any chance of getting the details of it eg: length, HP, approx cost etc (where could I find a 2nd hand one).
bhindmarsh@dodo.com.au
Cheers btsah