View Full Version : Your Old/Preloved Rigs

fishin_till_late
02-03-2006, 03:06 PM
I was wonderin the other day, how many rigs have some people owned? So I thought I'd start a post about your old boat/s. So here's a chance to show off some of your previous rigs. Post a pic up if you want. I'm only on my first boat so cant comment but how many boats have you owned?

jono

02-03-2006, 04:04 PM
2 xyaks (paddles via boy power)
12' clinker (seagull, unknown hp)
12' purden (6hp johno)
15' ply runabout (this was power by a 45 chysler, never let me down)
17' chasecraft half cab (85 merc bluband)
12' 6" pride with a 70hp evirude (this would fly)
4.8m pride trihull (this was fitted with the 70hp off the previus boat)
20' hartley halfcab (current boat)
4.1m brooker tinnie (sold)
no wonder the wife reckons I spend to much time and dollars on boats

02-03-2006, 04:13 PM
1st 16ft Stebercraft with 150hp blueband merc (thirsty but flew)
2nd 12ft unknown tinny with Mariner 15hp
Current 16ft Haines Signature 493F with 90hp Merc. 8-)

Cheers and Beers

fish-n-dive
02-03-2006, 04:20 PM
Quintrex Reef Raider with a 60hp and a Stacer 12' tinny with a 15hp Yamaha, but boo hoo I don't have anything at the moment, I'm looking hard for a boat even as we chat here on the board!!! :)

krazyfisher
02-03-2006, 04:29 PM
1. 12ft stessel tinny 15hp first boat will always love it
2. 435 hornet 40hp great in calm water
3. 455 side console poly 50hp didnt think much of it
4. 5mtr goodwin longboat 60hp the best 5mtr I have ever been in i will get another longboat one day
5. 540 coxcraft reefrunner started with 90hp now 140hp a great ride I might keep this for a while

all these boats have been within the last 5 years :o what else are you to do with money ;D

02-03-2006, 04:39 PM
Heres my list

14ft cruise craft rouge with 80 hp merc ( aquired this rig in 1984)
4.1 horizon tinny and 25 Johno
4.35 Horizon center console and 50hp johno
4.75 Seafarer VC with 70hp Evinrude (did a full rebuild on this hull)
8ft f/g dingy and 4 hp johno
5.8m Haines Hunter Breeze and 130hp Honda :)
3.1m Quinny Dart and 4hp johno

Alex9797
02-03-2006, 05:06 PM
1. 16 ft Hobie cat
2. 11 ft wooden mirror dingy
3. 12 ft glass cat origins unknown
4. 12ft sailing scow as above
5. 16ft calypso cat
6. 20 ft seabita trailer sailor
7. 17 ft mustang bluewater (1st and only new boat)
8. 14 ft stessle tinnie that leaked like a sive hated this piece of s*&^t
9. older style 17 ft seafarer ventura 115 evinrude (great sea boat)
10. 15 ft savage safari ( currently for sale )
11. Cruise craft 575 outsider 2002 model 150efi current boat of 4 weeks.
12. 133.2 m Guided Missile Destroyer #(now a dive site)
12. 390ft Daring Class Destroyer ( now a museum piece)

the last two I didn't realy own but spent plenty of time driving them. ;D

Alex

Pwoida
02-03-2006, 05:15 PM
12' Glass over bondwood dingy with 35hp 70's model evinrude - As a crazy young b'stard I was going offshore in that.

14' Carrabean Wildcat with same 35hp converted to forward steer

15'6" Crestcraft half cab with crappy old chrysler

12' Clark tinny with 25hp evinrude. Had the transom reinforced for the wieght of the motor. That was a fast rig.

16' unknown make halfcab with 140hp Johno

Currently have a 17' Sportsmancraft half cab with 115 evinrude and loving it!

fishingrod
02-03-2006, 05:43 PM
We (family) have owned the following:
Monark 12 foot runabout with a Mariner
Seal-Al 12 foot runabout with 28hp Suz
Nova (project) 14.9 foot half cabin with 65 hp Suz
Imported 15 foot unknown brand Runabout with 40hp Yammy
(was a lemon so we flogged the whole lot to a dealer)
Quintrex 5m FishFinder centre console with twin 40p Yammys
Cruise Craft 5m half cabin with 120hp Evinrude and Aux
CURRENTLY FOR SALE IN THE CLASSIFIEDS #;)
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1140949966

Next rig might be a 5-6m alloy centre console #::)

Other boats ive spent a reasonable amount of time on as a skipper (volunteer rescue) are:
5.3m Savage Lancer with 115hp Ocean Pro
5.5m Trail Craft Cuddy with 115hp FICHT
(rebuit serveral times and eventually completely replaced under warranty)
6.7m UB670 SouthWind Centre console with 80hp and then a 115hp 4/
7m SharkCat with twin 175hp

Also a 6.5m Cuddy plate alloy with twin 115hp (was a ex rescue boat and my mate bought it for a fishing rig)
Also 1750R Signature runabout with 135hp OptiMax (mates marina work boat where i worked casually)

ahoj
02-03-2006, 07:38 PM
The result is - all started with small crafts and I bet most wish to go back to small again.......... :o

Alex bet you enjoyed your hobbie and calypso best this is what i did with mine( calypso)

familyman
02-03-2006, 08:03 PM
1.12' fglass canadian canoe with 2hp mariner ob2, lots of fun in this
2. pongrass surfmater with merc 50 blue band ,taught me about outboards,
3.sportsman craft half cab with 115merc il6 current boat, lots of fun and tons of go :o
still learning though ,cant even guess the next boat ::)
cheers jon

Grand_Marlin
02-03-2006, 08:26 PM
Gee, I dont know if I should start looking back....

1. 12ft Rubber Duck (started game fishing for tuna in this)
2. 14ft Rubber Duck
3. 17ft Savage Astra Halfcab / 115 Evinrude. (sank)
4. 18ft Plate Alloy / twin 40 Evinrudes.
5. 560 Sharkcat / twin 110 Evinrudes.
6. 189 Yalta Odessa / 90 Johnson Oceanrunner.
7. 6.2m Kevlacat / twin 75 Mercs.
8. 5.6 Hydrofield Jaguar / 130 Johnson.
9. 20ft Yalta Odessa 2000 / 130 Yamaha (for sale)
10 23ft Sharkcat Hardtop / 200 Volvo Turbo Sterndrive.

There are certainly some memories there....

02-03-2006, 08:38 PM

(1) 3.7M horizon tinny, 9.9 merc fully kitted.
(2) 14' calypso capercat. cheap to run;) and ooh what fun.
(3) 10' RFD rigid hull inflatable, wich i stuck my 9.9 merc on and it was scary fast

Boz
02-03-2006, 10:41 PM
14 Ft pride 55 Chrysler, then 85 V4 Evirude...

Haines Hunter V19C ...much more suitaqble for catching fish offshore!!!

staino
03-03-2006, 12:53 AM
This really is a trip down memory lane for me, considering I've just sold the 1st boat I bought on my own (old faithful 12ft savage snipe new in '87 )
14ft quinnie 25hp evinrude (a very early model with no flared bow & a wooden foredeck)
5m quinnie centre console 70hp evinrude
5m stessl trihull cuddy (the barge)
460 topender 50hp suzzierude
Now I'm a defector to the darkside & my current boat is a 4.1 poly with a 25hp black anchor, just joshin, it's actually a pretty good motor.
When I think about it I was never really sad to see these boats go when I sold them, but when the snipe left the driveway for the last time on sunday, I couldn't help but get a bit choked up. The old man & I spent countless hrs decking it out (boards between the seats & drawers under, radio on removeable board, cupboards under middle & front seats, bilge pump etc). It really was a work of art made with scrap bits of wood & not so much as a battery drill, only hand tools. It had 3 different motors over 19 yrs, took quite rough conditions in it's stride & caught more fish than the other boats I've had put together.
JK111 N gone, but not forgotten.
I'll try & post some pics but considering how much of a computer dunce I am, it probably won't happen.
cheers & tight lines, staino

Red_Nut
03-03-2006, 07:54 AM
Here's my list, over about 4 years:
1) 12-14ft? Pondgrass Husky with 40hp Tohatsu. An old boat and motor ('76?), but hammered. Already had back end rebuilt to suit bigger motor but was overpowered - didn't like to turn at anything over half revs. Kitted out with canopy and side clears. Bought it for $500, great fun for 6 months.
2) 3.4m Stessl Edgetracker with 9.9 Johnno - only mod was a casting platform. Good and stable.
3) 3.1m Stessl, basic old tinny, clapped out 7.5hp Merc Blue Band which died, replaced with nice 4hp Yammy. Take anywhere on custom rack on 4x4 ute. Should probably sell this one.
4) 4.2m Quintrex Wide Body Dorey, 30hp Merc, nicely kitted out. Current boat of about 2 months, love it.

2rods
03-03-2006, 10:21 AM
Only had 4 boats. [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

4.5mtr Quintrex Fishabout mrk2 50 rude
12ft savage tinnie 9.9hp johno (sold it cause the crocs are to big up here)
4mtr Quintrex with a 25 yamaha

5mtr plate alloy with a 100yamaha 4st....

The latest boat is just right for barra fishing and a bit of blue water when the weathers good.

Would love a 6-7mtr glass boat but $$$$$$ stops me. :'(

Grand_Marlin
03-03-2006, 11:11 AM
I forgot one.... I also bought about an 8ft tunnel boat with 25hp Johnson... rigged it up with foot throttle etc.... was great fun.

ahoj
03-03-2006, 02:03 PM
Ha Ha-- bl--dy--- HA ...I thought you all were a bunch of speed HOONS and what do i find?? A lot of sensible but ADDICTED boatie blokes..... always searching for the better one... latest model-- better motor and when a few quid-- spend it on your hobby.... Looks like the whole boating fraternity is all the same...... ha-ha- ha

Ahoj

Oldyella
03-03-2006, 02:04 PM
Our old 1980 Unicorn Halfcab. 1980 Blueband and Suzi aux. As far as I know shes now a freshwater fishing boat at Eucombene.
http://us.a1.yahoofs.com/users/41b57557z1a4644d3/7138/__sr_/ec57scd.jpg?phol8BEBHxgo_wUU

grex
03-03-2006, 03:17 PM
A 4.3 mt 1966 Quinnie , pre flared bow , fitted with a 25 HP.

Had it for 20 years , great boat , very stable but a little bumpie in a chop.

Sold it 2 years ago when I bought my new boat

Geoff

TheDeepSix
03-03-2006, 05:14 PM
1979 till 1996 - a little 3.9m Stacer, good for size......
From 1996 until 2005 Seafarer VSea. Great boat and is for sale once I've cleaned it up.

May 2005 and present - Kevlacat 5.2 legend of a boat

Next boat when I retire ( a few years of saving yet :P)

Dominator like Foxy's or Kevlacat 6.5m......... :'(
Tiga

88fishframe
03-03-2006, 05:16 PM
I grew up in Springwood [Brisbane] in the late 70's early 80's. As kids, we would collect these big rectangular galvanised boxes the builders over in Logan would leave lying around [they were rubbish and we got permission to take them :P] and make boats. With these we would float them in what I think was Slacks Creek at the time and go from Springwood , near where KFC now is, and then UNDER the Pacific Highway over into Logan. That creek is still there, sort of, next to KFC but not much water these days. Over the other side we would catch aquarium fish for our tanks and return on foot as it was a one way trip with the flow of the water. That was my first boat ;D

Had a few since then but it'll take too long to list them all.

David.

p.s. that first boat wasn't very good, most of them sunk, but created a lot of fun our parents weren't aware of. It all came to an end when the bmx baddies from Woodridge started coming over and put a stop to our unauthorised access to their turf 8-)

troy
03-03-2006, 05:36 PM
1 16ft glass craft
2 17ft swift craft seagull .
3 17ft seafarer.
4 #16 ft monark victory.
5 #565 l haines .
6 # 21ft seafarer vagabond.
7 # 570 cruise craft explorer.
8 #580 cruise craft pro am.
9 #21FT hydrofield.
10 #5.3 M Dale.
11 #625 cruise craft outsider.
numereous tinnies.
Troy :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :'(

coasty
03-03-2006, 06:07 PM
ive still got my first boat. a 7 ft glass dinghy i was given at 5 when i got my tonsils out. it still sits in the garage and gets used by the kids and me when we disappear up creeks. ive sold 2 alloy 12ft open boats and still have 2 12 ft dehavlins a 19 ft carabeen and a 15ft brooker.

onerabbit
03-03-2006, 07:02 PM
The result is #- all started with small crafts and #I bet most wish to go back to small again.......... :o

Alex #bet you enjoyed your hobbie and calypso best #this is what i did with mine( calypso)
Had 5 small boats, first ocean boat, 15ft quinnie, nearly rolled it on the bar coming home one day, put it onthe trailer & never took it out again, bought my Seafarer 2 weeks later.

I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO A SMALLER BOAT EVER AGAIN.

Grand_Marlin
03-03-2006, 08:40 PM
troy, you have had some nice boats in that line up.

dorado
03-03-2006, 11:07 PM
1. 16' Fibreglass Volero Bullet H/Cab with 70 Johnson & later with a 70 Yammy

2. Allycraft 475 Bar Raider Alloy Runabout with 40 Red Band Mercury

3. Savage Osprey 525 Alloy Cuddy Cab with 70 Yammy

Bosunsmate
04-03-2006, 11:24 AM
My first and only boat 3.6m F/Glass Seaker with 25/2 Evinrude both 99' models. Goes like the clappers and a very very dry boat to boot...

ahoj
04-03-2006, 03:51 PM
Hi Rabbit...

I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO A SMALLER BOAT EVER AGAIN.

Got s------- scared.... hee haa----seafarer is only for rivers now and dams...

ahoj
04-03-2006, 04:37 PM
Bosunmate has only one addiction that is his boat and he will keep it-- can you see how much money he is saving?...... you are unique popeye ---tout -tout-- good on ya

Ahoj

jimbo59
04-03-2006, 05:38 PM
Ive hade heaps,
18foot hartley
v19r
15ft tinny
16ft rebel
16 ft clark
18 ft reef ranger
18 ft sportsmancraft
18 ft explorer
v19c
28 bay cruiser
owned the centiped for a month
60 ft trawler
233 formula
current boats are a cruisecraft rover and savage ensign

daz35
05-03-2006, 09:36 AM
Ive hada few
10 ft bondwood with oars
12 ft bondwood with seagull
13 ft fibreglass cant remember brand with a 65 johno couldnt go flat out for speed wobble with motor.
12 ft stacer with 25 evinrude
v19r with 115 yammie
12ft stessco with 15 merc
and current 535 seajay cc with 60 merc 4 stroke

06-03-2006, 09:49 AM
Memory lane.....

1) 8' savage tern witha 2.5 hp tohatsu. - Once rowed this boat from Torquay to Big Woody Island and back via Round is. and the old weather tower (Anyone remember the tower?)
2) 23' Savage Bluefin hardtop - Carried the above boat on the roof. (Dad once towed this rig from Hervey Bay to 1770 with three kids in the boat - Gotta love the '70s
3) Numerous sabots, laser, sailboards
4) 14' somethingorother with 18 hp evinrude
5) 14' swiftcraft falcon 55h.p. evinrude - completely restored the transom, stringers and floor in that one - never again......
6) 4.55 Stacer Seamaster with same 55 evinrude (was a '74 model and was in the family till 2002..)
7) Cruisecraft 550 Outsider 115 Johnno
8) Polycraft 4.55 cc 50hp Honda - Half shares with Brother in Law
9) Current - Signature 542 CC with 135 Opti - Half shares....

Oh and a 15' Rosco Canadian with outriggers and a 50lb leccy (Thanks John)

onerabbit
08-03-2006, 06:15 PM
Ahoj,
With your boat, are you really in the position to be taking the piss out of others?
By the way, I take my boat out 22mls to fish for deep sea cod, even though she's only 5.25mtrs.
You work it out.

Cruiser
09-03-2006, 08:05 AM
1. Haines Hunter V16R with a 140 in-line six Merc

2. Lewis 16ft ski boat with 350 Chev mid-mount

3. Haines Hunter 1600SO, firstly with a 175 V6 Johnno then a 235 Johnno
(not many boats passed me in the bay with that weapon!)

4. 16th Corsair sailing dinghy

Now I go fishing on either a friend's 25ft Mariner fly-bridge or another friend's 5.6m Riptide Platey. (Wish I still had that 1600SO though!)

Chris.

staino
13-03-2006, 02:58 PM
Here is a picture

pirate_pete
13-03-2006, 05:55 PM
Ive had 4 since 1976 my first was a 11ft f/glass dinghy with a 6hp johnson

2nd a Brooker CT 12 car topper with a 9.9 Merc

3rd Cruise Craft Rouge with a 55hp Evinrude replaced by a 90hp Evinrude boy did that go

And my present a Haines Hunter V17L 140hp Johnson Ive had for 20 years