View Full Version : ripp off spare parts

nuffy
13-03-2006, 07:26 PM
Why is it that everything is so expensive when it comes to boats?who is making all the cash?I bought a fuel filter today looks exactly like the oil filter i put in my car except it cost $62.I also bought a fuel gauge and sender for $120 followed instructions installed it and it dont work.American brand they said the best around.Looks pretty flimsy to me i wasnt surprissed when i turned it on and it showed 3/4 full on an empy tank.You wouldnt mind paying the bucks if it was good quality but there seems to be so much shite on the market and little of it is oz made.Does anybody know where to but 20ltr drums of quality 2 st oil on brisbane.Ok had my whinge feel much better now.

Feral
13-03-2006, 08:31 PM
Because mugs pay for it! (Not calling you a mug by the way!)

IE Why pay $300 for a reel, when you can get a perfectly acceptable unit for (way) under $100?

So you can tell all your mates (what a mug you are paying for big brand name stuff) thats why! No other reason.

Hoges
13-03-2006, 08:47 PM
.I also bought a fuel gauge and sender for $120 followed instructions installed it and it dont work.American brand they said the best around.Looks pretty flimsy to me i wasnt surprissed when i turned it on and it showed 3/4 full on an empy tank.You wouldnt mind paying the bucks if it was good quality but there seems to be so much shite on the market and little of it is oz made.

;D
LOL Your post reminded me of when I was wiring up the new inboard motor in my boat years ago.
A mates younger brother was an apprentice auto electrician and he worked for a wholesaler. Thanks to him I saved a bit of money when it came to the new fuel tank sender unit. He showed me the catalogue, a marine unit was almost twice the price of exactly the same unit classified by a different number as an auto unit.
He also helped me by wiring the total electrical loom of the boat and did a great job apart from the fact that all he had was blue coloured wire and that is what he did the whole boat with. It made future electrical additions a bit tricky. LOL
:o

Lone_Wolf
13-03-2006, 09:17 PM
Nuffy,
Your boat is your mistress. They are high maintenance. The reason you keep paying is because of the thrills it brings to your life. No matter what it takes it's worth it!!!!

nuffy
14-03-2006, 07:07 AM
Yeah your dead right there lone wolf all will be forgotten when we head off shore this weekend and come back with an esky full

14-03-2006, 05:27 PM
Well put. Boats are a lot like women. High cost but can bring so much joy. They reckon only a poor man owns a boat. :-/ :PI reckon there is some truth to that.

Poseidon
14-03-2006, 07:29 PM
For the same reason as I am trying to convince my wife of the value of a new tinnie when at the same time she is looking at new cars with all the options, on road for alot less than the tinnie.

Why the big difference she says................someone's making money.

Regards Cameron.

14-03-2006, 07:35 PM
Nuffy, how much do you think you should pay for 20 ltrs of 2 stroke

davo
14-03-2006, 08:00 PM
There is one thing worse than a boat and that is a horse. Mate they cost :P :P

If the boat is broken and you haven't got the money it stays in the shed but a horse has to fixed then. Imagine a boat that uses fuel even if you don't use it.... that's horse. It has to be fed.

snappa
14-03-2006, 08:09 PM
but

u can eat the horse ..>>>> :-?

nuffy
14-03-2006, 08:47 PM
hi-yo, i have seen stones corner marine with 20ltr drums of yamilube for $140 on special i still think thats a bit expensive when the 4ltr is $30.your only saving $10 overall.You can buy decent motor oil for much less so why is 2 stroke so much more exy when we go through so much more than a car.

14-03-2006, 09:02 PM
just think yourself lucky you dont own a 200 four stroke Merc ::)

For the record Merc has bought the 200 four stroke off Yamaha and painted it black. I guess they just buy the spares from yamaha and add there mark up.

A 200 Yamaha four stroke oil filter $49.99
A 200 Merc four stroke oil filter $76.00 :o

And everyone thinks honda stuff is dear 200hp oil filter rrp $15.40 :)

pirate_pete
14-03-2006, 10:07 PM
My last 20lt drum of 2 stroke oil Synthetic (less smoke) $72 sure beats paying $12 to $15 for a lt bottle from the servo

15-03-2006, 02:52 PM
Pirate Pete

where are u getting 20ltrs for 72 bucks from...I will get in on that,

Cause I recon I could get Valvoline TCW3 for 95

Steven

pirate_pete
15-03-2006, 03:03 PM
I get Gulf Western Marine 2stroke TCW 3 at Penrith in Sydney generally get
6 drums at atime between 3 of us

wayneoro
16-03-2006, 08:18 AM
buy from usa much cheaper a lot of retailers still cost out at $2aus = $1us never changes so your 25c in the $ better off just on exchange rates plus prices are better over there postage costs are okay and its delivered to your door [no driving into town and back again to collect ] if your not in a hurry sea mail much cheaper but takes app 2 mths next to 1wk air slowly were entering into the international market place looks like this is the future way to shop cheers