View Full Version : plate boats v fibreglass

troy
12-03-2006, 07:53 PM
Having not been in a plate boat i am interested how they would compare to a fibreglass boat of the same lenght.
Just curious.
Troy

Scott15
12-03-2006, 08:04 PM
A lot of banging

Sportfish_5
12-03-2006, 08:10 PM
Depends on what sort of boat you are comparing

12-03-2006, 09:51 PM
Maybe slower but not neccessarily rougher.

12-03-2006, 11:40 PM
Whats that? :-?

Your not looking for a change already! ;)

troy
13-03-2006, 05:42 AM
Angla mine will see me out. 8-)
A mate of mine is looking at a Barcrusher [spelt wrong] around the 18ft mark and wants to know how they would compare to other makes of fibreglass in that length.
Troy

Grand_Marlin
13-03-2006, 06:08 AM
You would be a good mate if you told him to buy a Cat. ;D

seatime
13-03-2006, 07:07 AM
What about alloy cat - v - alloy mono
#glass cat - v - glass mono
# alloy cat - v - glass mono
#glass cat - v - alloy mono
# alloy cat - v - glass cat
# #glass mono - v - glass cat
# #
# cheers #:) :)

seatime
13-03-2006, 07:40 AM
#Grand-Marlin and Troy,

What about alloy cat - v - alloy mono
#glass cat - v - glass mono
# alloy cat - v - glass mono
#glass cat - v - alloy mono
# alloy cat - v - glass cat
# #glass mono - v - glass cat
# #
# cheers #:) :)

ps. didn't mean to post again, its busy here

Sportfish_5
13-03-2006, 10:36 AM
Yawn :-X

88fishframe
13-03-2006, 01:49 PM
meeeeow ;D

farticus
13-03-2006, 01:51 PM
if u crash one into each other the plate boat will smash the glass.

snappa
13-03-2006, 02:29 PM
i guess it all depends on ya BACK >>>> :)

troy
13-03-2006, 04:24 PM
Very helpfull advise lads #:o
Troy
ps i suppose what would you expect from pussie owners ;)

familyman
13-03-2006, 06:16 PM
Glass all the way,teaches good care of boats and respect for the material.If you all want something unbreakable then everyone should be driving a steel hull ;D
cheers jon

Reefmaster
13-03-2006, 06:43 PM
Troy
Thats a pretty broad question you have asked with so many makes and models in both glass and plate boats but there's not to many people out there who have spent 20-70 thousand plus dollars to then turn around and say their boat rides like crap. ;) If your lucky enough to have riden in 50 or so different models then they would be the right ones to ask.

Troy the following is not aimed at bagging your boat or anyone else's so please don't take offense that i picked your boat to compare to another. ;) ::)

You own a Cruise Craft which is one boat i spent a bit of time on so lets say we compare that to a good platey like a Fisher which i have also spent plenty of time on. Both types very much the same in length and this is not going to be a bias opinion as i don't own either types. ;) :D

Cruise Craft 20 degree deadrise nice boat well finished and layed out but personally disapointed with the ride. For all the hype about glass boats i was alittle suprised how hard it landed and found myself instead of trimming the motor down to push the front down into the waves i trimmed it up so i made sure the transom landed well before the rest of the boat to soften the ride. Not an option i like doing. :o

Fisher 23 degree deadrise which is the future for good riding plate boats and it sure makes them cut through the chop for a sharper smoother entry. Like all boats they still pound but not super hard and i think it's more the noise of the water hitting the hull which makes you think it's harder then it was.( I would love to see plate boats have there hulls filled where possible with foam as i reckon it would cut the noise and also some jarring out off the landings which alot of plate boats experience) Fisher boats ride great and perform well in small sharp chop and even better in big seas. You trim the motor or tabs down in these boats and just cut through the seas with ease.

Overall a good hull design with a big deadrise is naturally going to cut the water better so this just leaves the weight of a boat to make it all that better.

Funny enough people think glass boats weigh heaps more then a good Plate boat but when you look into this you will find the weights are very much the same or only a small varience. ;)

A Cruise Craft compared to a similar Fisher weighs very much the same so with the fisher having a better deadrise, same weight and also in my opinion a better ride i would say the Fisher comes out in front. 8-)

THIS IS JUST MY OPINION BUT.

Regards Greg

ShaneJ
13-03-2006, 07:06 PM
I think the fairy stories about plate boats giving a hard ride comes from the earlier plate boats that were setup as barra type boats! ie flat bottoms!
My TABS has a low degree dead rise and it comes down real hard when launched over some chop/swell. But this is the price you pay for an "allrounder"!

troy
13-03-2006, 07:35 PM
Reefmaster fair enough advise and having not been in a fisher i cannot argue with you.
You called it as the way you believe and that is fair enough as i asked for this advise.
No offence taken.
Troy

troy
14-03-2006, 05:52 AM
Reefmaster i had the wrong boat it was not a Barcrusher it is a Nobel Super V.
Have you can experience with these boats.
Troy

peterreb
14-03-2006, 06:49 AM
Troy, I have just bought a 5.35 Tabs C/C plate boat. I was very suprised when they told me the hull weight was 800kgs.When I put the boat on the weighbridge at Redcliffe, 1.4 t with motor and trailer some fishing gear and 80L of fuel. Capacity for fuel is 150 L, so after taking it for a run on the bay Saturday, with a 1metre swell it handled the conditions beyond my expectations.Previous boat was a 4.8 allycraft bowrider.The Tabs cruised at 20kts in the ordinary conditions, where as the allycraft, I wouldn't have even thought about putting it in.I've been in glass boats and would say the Tabs is equivalent to or if not better. Thats from my brief experience with the plate boats.
Cheers Peter

noluck
14-03-2006, 12:21 PM
troy
tall your mate bar crusher is better than Cruise Craft ;D ;D
but fisher is better than bar crusher

all so this is just MY OPINION

14-03-2006, 04:07 PM
Reefmaster fair enough advise and having not been in a fisher i cannot argue with you.
You called it as the way you believe and that is fair enough as i asked for this advise.
No offence taken.
Troy

Now i'm really upset troy! ::) about a month ago i tried to tell you something similar but you thought that i was personally attacking your choice of boat talk about favoritism. ;D ;D ;D ;D

Ps. Noluck get in a seafarer, signature or a haines and they ride better still!

troy
14-03-2006, 05:40 PM
Finding Time this has nothing to do with my boat but not to worry mate i am trying very hard to ignore some comments. ;)
I have not taken the bait yet. :-/
Troy

ahoj
14-03-2006, 06:06 PM
It don't matter what boat you buy so long as it is a cat--- ask any pussy lover

Ahoj

SO70
14-03-2006, 09:38 PM
does anyone on here have a Sportfish SuperVEE????

14-03-2006, 10:16 PM
Lucky Phil and Sportfish 5 do.

15-03-2006, 10:54 AM
G'day Troy,

I've heard rave reviews about the stability and comfortable ride of the Nobel Super Vee's...I've not ridden in one but those who have say they are comparable to a glass boat ride.

What I can say is that a mate of mine had a Cruise Craft 6mt Classique with a 175 Johno on it...it used to slam real hard...certainly my 6mt Rip Tide would eat it...the Riptide has a fine entry with good strakes that run to approx 2/3 lenght and wide chine lip full length...it also has a planing plank that picks up from the last 3/2 length.

The ride is exceptional...others that have come aboard reckon so too...

I think as others have said, the day's of slammy plateys are gone...no one would be prepared to pay the bucks for a crook ride in either glass or plate

troy
15-03-2006, 07:25 PM
No-Luck
Good user name as the boats you mentioned you would not have any luck ;D
As i previously stated before i have never been in a plate boat but i have gone to the reef along side the boats you mentioned and the cruise craft left them for dead.
I #had to keep pulling up and waiting for them.
I stayed away from having to make this comment but [ Finding -Time]and you should buy yourselves a real outfit like the Cruise Craft.
Love my boat and so should the pair of you fellow boaties but you really go over the top with your comments.
Troy
Taken the bait your turn to bite :P :-* :-*
And Reefmaster if a platey does not land hard in rough conditions well i am at a loss.

ShaneJ
15-03-2006, 07:40 PM
And Reefmaster if a platey does not land hard in rough conditions well i am at a loss.
You mean for owning a glass boat?

Reefmaster
15-03-2006, 07:42 PM
Troy
Please show me where i said a platey does not land hard in rough conditions? :-? If anyone is at a loss it's me :-? ;)

To save you reading my post again this is what i said - ::)

Like all boats they still pound but not super hard and i think it's more the noise of the water hitting the hull which makes you think it's harder then it was.

Regards Greg

SO70
15-03-2006, 10:18 PM
i spent a fair bit of time in a 6.2m Supervee and found the ride to be shocking.
has anyone else got feedback on these boats.

troy
16-03-2006, 05:22 AM
Reefmaster my apologies i meant to comment on how hard you said the fibreglass landed.
As for Shane J comment of at a loss for owning a glass boat well that is my gain his loss.
At least the bait was taken. ;D ;D
Troy

ShaneJ
16-03-2006, 05:47 PM
I was asking a question! Not being smart! I just didn't undertstand what you were at a loss about?