View Full Version : Boat freight costs

devocean
22-03-2006, 05:15 PM
Anyone know how much it would cost to get a 5 to 6 metre fibre glass boat and trailer delivered or trucked or rail to say townsville from brissie?

unhappyseajaybuyer
22-03-2006, 05:41 PM
call a couple of transport companys in townsville and see if u can get a backload rate it will b cheaper it would take up 1 third of a semi trailer flat top just make sure you insure it sure some transport company around townsville will b coming back empty or even a third empty. if it is not urgent send it general freight heaps cheaper but takes longer because it will come to you #when a truck is leaving partly laoaded just make sure u tie boat to traler securely and if possible have it shrink wrapped also they can do it without trailer to make sure u take detailed photos or some one take them 4 u just in case u do have to make a claim i reckon about 400 to 600 plse keep us up to date

krazyfisher
22-03-2006, 05:42 PM
bris to mackay was 660 inc gst that was a 5.4 motor boat and trailier and I would recommend using a boat transporter faster loaded better as the trailiers are set up for boats

unhappyseajaybuyer
22-03-2006, 05:44 PM
if it fits in twenty foot container rail will only b about 450

pilchardjones
22-03-2006, 06:11 PM
I was quoted about $2400 to freight a 6m plate boat bris - tsv.
I called a couple of boat transport companies and they were all about the same at the time (about 6 months ago).

steve

22-03-2006, 06:36 PM
$2,400 :o. #I was quoted $2,800 to truck a 30' Black Watch from Cairns to Hervey Bay with a boat transport company. # Shop around.

unhappyseajaybuyer
22-03-2006, 06:48 PM
general freight with any transport company as a backload meaning he went to deliver a load there and this load will get him back home even try private transport operater i mean owner driver u will b surprised but make sure u state general freigt

Spectre
23-03-2006, 02:22 PM
Try Trewins Transport 38047877

They are based in Brisbane, but tarvel all over.

We used them to bring a boat from T'ville to BrisVegas a while back & they were the best by far !!

Phil

chuss
23-03-2006, 03:20 PM
ahh :o

$1500 to transport a 6m platey from WA to SA.. Definately shop around. Ask some of the WA boat builders who they use...

Mr__Bean
23-03-2006, 03:52 PM
$1200 to freight an 8 metre hardtop platey from Perth to Melbourne.

I thought it was going to cost an arm and a leg because it had to go on a drop deck trailer due to the height of the boat on its trailer.

But, I was able to find a truck company that had backloads available. It turned out they were trucking freight over to the west but ended up bring home their trailers on trailers as there wern't enough loads coming back.

So, if you can wait on standby and you have the time to shop around, backloads can be cheap.

- Darren

P.S. Also enquire around the furniture removalists at Townsville, most time furniture trucks come back empty.

troy
23-03-2006, 05:09 PM
Deveocean i paid 1200.00 from Brisbane to Townsville.
Troy

Whitey81
28-03-2006, 04:31 PM
Got quotes on transporting Haines Formula 23 foot from Brisbane to Gladstone and were all 1700-2000 including several boat carrying companys.

bushbeachboy
29-03-2006, 06:44 PM
PM'd you.

Lea26
29-03-2006, 11:02 PM
I got a quote for $2400 Melbourne to Brisbane
Its a 5m Cat with trailer, about 1.5 ton
I am trying to find a cheeper quote as i think this is to much and i would like the boat in the next few weeks, its sitting there ready to go
If anyone knows where i can get it cheaper i would be greatfull