View Full Version : Whats the best place to launch a boat for the firs

spuderico
15-03-2006, 10:57 AM
Hi guys and gals! Was wondering what your opinion was on the best!? calmest, quietest or most helpful place was to launch a boat for the first time. I am East side Brissy and have a 4.7m C/C tinny. Probably have a crew of 4 raw kids and Mrs!! Should be fun.... If you knew I was coming what time would you want me there! :-/

Spud

drevil
15-03-2006, 11:00 AM
Jacobs Well is pretty good, wide, beach either side, open access, etc.

Oldyella
15-03-2006, 11:28 AM
Place is not as important as tide, day of week and weather. You really need a week day for the maiden voyage with few boats queued up. If the ramp has no pontoon, launch at med to high tide and try to get back near low tide to ensure there is sand. Don't bother if the wind is 15 knots and over. Don't try to drive on unless you are experienced.
My conclusion.. Launch at any Jabobs on Fri morning at around 11-12 am come back #round 3pm.
Very calm conditions are predicted.

seatime
15-03-2006, 11:37 AM
spuderico,

The most helpful ramps to use will have a pontoon or somewhere to moor the boat while u park the trailer. These will not always be the quietest however. Check out MSQ rec boating handbook, beacon to beacon, official tide book etc for where the ramps are with pontoons. Colmslie, Manly, Weinam Ck, Jacobs Well, Horizon Shores are some from memory with somewhere to moor. cheers

15-03-2006, 11:46 AM
Horizon Shores is calm, easy to launch, nice pontoons/jetty easy to load and unload. Safe parking (you have to pay though) and easy access to the pin for sheltered boating. Agree that a mid week foray would be the go but if you are like the rest of us and have to go on the weekends then maybe mid morning would be the best option.
Just take your time and try not to get flustered, we all had to learn once, some "seasoned" boaties seem to forget this at times, all the best and dont forget its meant to be FUN!! :)

Cheers and Beers

spuderico
15-03-2006, 12:02 PM
Thanks for your contribution gentlemen. It's helpful people like yourselves that take the anxst out of first timers like me. Took a run down to fishermans Is this am about 0900. All was quiet as far as launch and retrievals go with about a dozen trailers in the park. Seemed a good spot to try.

Spud

Oldyella
15-03-2006, 12:08 PM
You are most likely gonna make some mistakes.. But make a check list, with things like .. Untie straps, check bungs, run motor before you get to the ramp.
Try a bit of manouvering forward and rev when you are out. This will help when coming back to the ramp.

15-03-2006, 12:34 PM
Colmslie, Manly, Weinam Ck, Jacobs Well, Horizon Shores are some from memory with somewhere to moor.

Jacob's Well can be very busy on a weekend albeit people always help at ramps when help is needed, such as when there is a crosswind and you are trying to load the boat on the trailer on your own. #It is a very easy ramp to use especially because of the wide expanse of sand beside the ramp to pull the boat up on to but people can be very impatient there on weekends - especially tricky if there are four trailers side by side on the ramp. It also has some great facilities for kids - protected swimming area etc.

The ramp at the southern end of the Manly boat harbour might be a good compromise on weekends. #Not too busy, and well protected from the wind and and easy bed of gravel beside the ramp to pull the boat up on to. The only thing to consider if it it is your very first trip is that when you leave the boat harbour you will be out in the bay and it would be best to check that it is not too windy out there. #ie Winds = waves. However, you can motor around within the boat harbour to your heart's content. By comparison, Jacobs Well offers the advantage that the waters will be very flat most of the time - which can be a big consideration on the first trip for the missus.

BTW, if there is you plus the missus plus four kids, it sounds like you may be overloading a 4.7m tinny legally so an area where some of the kids can play such as at Jacob's Well might be a sound consideration.

Best to find a ramp that is not too exposed to the wind. #eg Victoria Point may not be a good place to start.

Also have a look at Nuggets site. #He has some video clips there of various boat ramps albeit it is not a conclusive list that he shows and he does not do justice to the areas beside the ramps.

regards.........

spuderico
15-03-2006, 12:44 PM
BTW, if there is you plus the missus plus four kids, it sounds like you may be overloading a 4.7m tinny legally so an area where some of the kids can play such as at Jacob's Well might be a sound consideration.

Did I say 4 kids...must be wishful thinking :o Just 3 kids I hope on this occasion. Eldest fella is a tad independent just now!!! #;) #Thanks for the insight Charlie.

Spud

dnej
15-03-2006, 01:05 PM
Spud,

What are you like at backing a trailer, if not so hot, do some practice at home.

On the ramp,remember the hand brake, dont want any accidents. Turn off the vehicle motor, and leave it in gear. Preferably 1st.

As previous post said, get ready before you back onto the ramp, but make sure you dont disconect your winch, before you are at the waters edge.

Back your trailer to a point where the water is about level with your tyres,(on the bottom of the rim that is) No need to dunk your trailer
un necessarily.
Tie a grab rope to the front of your boat, before launching, from the trailer, and have your deckie, hold the rope for you, so that the boat doesn't get away from you.

If you have a canopy, and it is windy, and it can be collapsed, then do so. They act like sails, on a tinny.

Dont lower your motor, till you are in the water.

Remember to release the pressure release on your fuel tank, and pressurise the bulb before you get onto the ramp.

Trim your motor up as you return to the ramp.

Cant think of anything else, at present. Good luck.
David

15-03-2006, 01:16 PM
Much easier if you take a mate that's launched a few boats for the maiden voyage and if possible mid week. You can ask him/her what to do and life will be all good. Do it a few times just so you get the hang of it.
Pretty important to do what dnej says about backing trailers. If not real good practise in a carpark on a Sunday with some witches hats and don't just practise going straight, practice controlled zigzags and backing around corners.
It took me about 3 launches to train the cook in launching. Now she's a trooper!! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Cheers Scott

Rlee
15-03-2006, 02:55 PM
My first launch was Comslie boat ramp..it was quiet and had the pontoon.

15-03-2006, 03:01 PM
ie a grab rope to the front of your boat, before launching, from the trailer, and have your deckie, hold the rope for you, so that the boat doesn't get away from you.

You will find it useful if this is a good long rope - eg 10 - 12 m. #Very handy if you need to get past a few boats on the sand at Jacobs Well - just shove the boat out and walk along the sand holding on to the rope lifting it above all of the other boats.

Also handy if the wind gets the better of you when you are bringing in the boat to the trailer. #Just give the boat a good shove back out into the water and bring it in straight. #The long rope will give you a lot more control than a short one. #Also handy to hang on to to keep the nose of the boat up to the end roller when doing a solo retrieve if there is a bit of wind about.

BTW the official name for that rope is a "painter'. #Now I am showing off my very limited knowledge about boats. #;D ;D ;D

15-03-2006, 03:05 PM
My first launch was Comslie boat ramp..it was quiet and had the pontoon.

Colmsie is good. #I watched a lady practise backing her trailer there over and over and over one day. #She received a bit of advice from passers-by, most of it being to slow down.

The only thing that I find about colmsie is that if there is a bit of wind around, it can be #a bit choppy there. #However, the pontoon is very good to have. #On a calm day, though it would be pretty good.

Rlee
15-03-2006, 03:13 PM
I havent seen it busy down there yet and you are right about the wind.

SeaHunt
15-03-2006, 04:16 PM
Schultz's canal opposite the dump going to Nudgee Beach.
If you stuff it up there sell it.
4 lanes wide , pontoon , not much current, no waves, ramp isn't slippery.
Just go mid morning, the early birds should not be getting back yet and the afternoon crowd should not have arrived yet.

dnej
15-03-2006, 04:37 PM
And all the time I thought they were the blokes in white overalls.
David

spuderico
15-03-2006, 06:11 PM
So let me get this right... :-? I should drive around car parks on a sunday with a 15' tinnie in reverse. Avoidin the shopping carts and learner drivers. Get up early but arrive at the boat ramp late.. Put me bungs in, untie the strap, release the fuel tank cap and pump the fuel bulb.

Start the motor before hittin the ramp, tie on a painter making sure it's his day off, and then back her down slowly until the tyres are under but not the axel... Apply the handbrake, turn the engine off (on the car) cause the boat motor is already off! stick er in gear (the car) and let her off the tailer with the winch (the boat, not the Mrs).

Have someone hold onto the boat with the painter ;) whilst I park the car, then get all on board and shove off.... :-/ Sounds reasonable! Then I call in on the radio my specs and my intentions and away I go :) COOL. And when I return do it all again in reverse.
Have I missed anything? #

dnej
16-03-2006, 11:48 AM
Spud, make sure you dont start the outboard, when not on the water, as this is not good for your impellor, which would be running dry.I like the bit about the painter, and his day off.

Some of that Dyneema rope, (dont know if that is spelt correct), is very strong, and floats, and will make a great "painter" you can buy one made up, in 5mm or 7 mm, which are actually winch ropes, sold as Spectra.

As an etiquette thing, where possible,move your boat, to the side of the ramp, after launching, to allow others to drive down, that are waiting. Some people dont do this ,and its a real pain. If you can make room for two boats,on the side of the ramp, then all the better.

Cost $36.90, with spliced hook,6m long,1500kg breaking strain. Remember to take drinking water, for the troops.

When are you going, and where? Decided yet?
Dont forget you have reverse,and use it to wash off speed, if you need to, when approaching the ramp area.
Take it easy, you will be fine
David

Oldyella
16-03-2006, 01:17 PM
LOL Spud..

Or.. Do none of the above and we can read about ya in the #paper... :-/

"Man lost at sea with trailer still attached to boat after launching during Cyclone on a busy weekend at the dreaded Noosa bar" #;D ;D

SeaHunt
16-03-2006, 01:31 PM
Didn't you do all this when you got your boat lisence :-/

Or havn't you worried about that bit yet. ::)

spuderico
16-03-2006, 06:02 PM
:) Went for and was successful in obtaining my licence today ;) They dont spend much time teaching about launching and was sitting my exam when John retrieved the boat :( Bugger!

16-03-2006, 06:44 PM
:) Went for and was successful in obtaining my licence today ;) They dont spend much time teaching about launching and was sitting my exam when John retrieved the boat :( Bugger!

Congrats on getting your licence. #:) :) :)

When I bought my boat after getting my licence, a good mate with lots of boating experience spent a half day with me coaching me on the practical elements of boating, which included three complete launches and retrieves. #A very wise thing to do. #I remain deeply indebted to him for that. # :)

After all, they do not really give you that much hands on experience when they train you for the licence. :-/

bungie
16-03-2006, 07:24 PM
When you retrieve the boat, reverse the trailer until the water just laps the first roller at the back of the trailer. If you go in any farther the boat floats onto the trailer and doesn't sit correctly

spuderico
16-03-2006, 08:31 PM
dnej, I hope to take the boat for my maiden voyage, Sunday off Colmslie ramp. Thats after picking it up safetly from miles away on Saturday. I've only ever pulled a little 6' general purpose trailer until now. Will get used to the boat in and around the Brissy river before venturig out..Thanks all for the tips. They have been more useful than the course was in some of the practical aspects.

I'M EXCITED :D

Spud

dnej
17-03-2006, 08:28 AM
Got all the safety gear?Life jackets etc
David

spuderico
17-03-2006, 04:33 PM
Sure have! :)

spuderico
17-03-2006, 09:37 PM
The BIG day has arrived. Tommorrow I pick up my 4.7m C/C second hand vessel. Hopefully will change my families life as we know it (for the better) ;) Hope to put her in the water Sunday, weather permitting. Showers I think their saying. Very excited we are. Especially the young fella. "Will I be able to drive it"? He keeps asking. "Yeaah, but what about the fishing", I ask! "Naaah I just want to drive the ship" !!!!!!
Young people :o
Wish me luck.................. :)

17-03-2006, 10:42 PM
I did the same thing some 8 years ago. Launched at Colmslie and cruised the brissie river. Navigation is the second lesson, but the river has plenty of channel lights to stay in line with. Just give way to the really big ones.
Good Luck and I hope all goes well.

spuderico
17-03-2006, 10:50 PM
:) :)Thanks Angla, we will 8-)

Rlee
20-03-2006, 04:51 PM
How did you go first time out?

spuderico
20-03-2006, 08:07 PM
How did you go first time out?
Sunday came and I waited till close to high tide. I then took a run down to the river, down past Newspaper house. Water looked pretty flat so I decided to take a drive to Colmslie to get a closer look 8-) and found it to very busy with boats and PWC commin and goin. Watched a few launches and retrievals until the traffic calmed then went home to get the family & boat.

Stopped at the servo to fill up the one 25litre tank and set off for the ramp. Once there I had to wait 10min or so to get acsess to a spot then backed her up no problemo :) Put her in the water and everyone climbed in while the Mrs parked the trailer (lucky to find a spot). Left the ramp and headed for open water only to have the engine die on me >:( After much cussing and nervy turns, my youngest says "hey Dad, the fuel line come unplugged" ;) That rectified we took off up the river, letting all have a drive, as far as the Grey st Bridge.

The City Cats were choppin the water up a bit and we hit some pretty rough waves at one point, which got all and sundry screamin their heads off ;D Did a U turn and come back down river with the ebbing tide. The boat really handled the weight and movement about the deck well. Lost a few hats overboard at different times and I got to put into play scenarios I learnt on the boat course (big uewy and come along side said hat and extricated it).

By the time we got down to the Gateway B there were bigger boats moving about. They really move some water dont they! :-/ We weren't prepared for that sort of rough stuff and found ourselves airbourne and pounding the next riser :o

Went as far as the channel markers and decided to check the fuel....WHOAH....time to do a U bolt and get back in before the kids had to start rowin. It is going to take a few trips to work out the trimming and fuel usage. We went pretty well flat out for 80% of the time so fuel consumption was as you would expect. I just didn't realise that it would take me so long to check it!!! :-?

You can check my pics out on, Subject : Collecting the new boat YIPEEEEE

Spuderico & Fam

spuderico
01-04-2006, 09:53 AM
Update!! Still have not made it back in the water yet.. :(