PDA

View Full Version : Dual Charging

bidkev
30-03-2006, 04:26 PM
I've gotten that used to isolating my electrics in the tinny that I've always charged my batteries one at a time with them isolated.

Now that I've got a glass boat, isolation isn't so much of an issue so my question is this:

If I have my isolator set at 2 (dual) does that mean that if I charge one battery the other is also receiving a charge? Would save a helluva lot of bother from keep changing 'em over if it did.

Probably pretty basic question but then again, I've got a pretty basic knowledge ;D

cheers

kev

To accomplish something, the first person you have to defeat is yourself.

onerabbit
30-03-2006, 05:08 PM
Im no expert Kev , but if the batteries are on "duel" , then the charge should flow from one to the other to create a balance between the two.

Muzz

pirate_pete
30-03-2006, 05:53 PM
I have a dual batteries set up by an Auto Electrician. I have a Polarised socket wired to one battery and leave Isolator switch on Dual, I have a float charger attached over long periods between use and it charges both ok.

familyman
30-03-2006, 06:03 PM
Yeah kev thats right dual will charge both but take twice as long as it is charging two in parallel.I recently fitted a cd player to my boat and wired up the constant supply to the house battery so that after the boat has not been used the main start battery is still ok even if the house battery is dead flat.The switch can be left in the off position and the only thing that gets power is the stereo memory.
cheers jon

finga64
30-03-2006, 07:44 PM
yep, it'll work Kingtin...no worries except if one battery is dead flat and the other is near full charged.
Then it may be an idea to charge one then the other to be on the safe side. I assume the 2 batteries are about the same size/ type and construction??
But if the bateries are roughly the same and about the same state of disharge go for it!! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]