View Full Version : haines

Seahorse
09-04-2006, 08:24 PM
looked at 5.5m half cab today. trying to find a 5.3 to look at. nice lookin boat. anyone got any opinions

greg

impulse492f
09-04-2006, 08:35 PM
Well if they are as good as my 16" Signature 492F then there both OK and you won't be sorry.

09-04-2006, 08:39 PM
Which haines did ya look at? A signature, traveller or haines hunter? I reckon they're all pretty good anyway.

Seahorse
09-04-2006, 09:27 PM
it was a signature. also got to look at the 542f. with 115 merc

10-04-2006, 08:19 AM
542 is a good hull, though 115 h.p. might leave you a little bored - this hull likes to run quick...

10-04-2006, 09:14 AM
excellent boats, very happy with my 550br signature.

impulse492f
10-04-2006, 09:18 AM
The 542F has the same hull as my 492F 21-33 degree SHDH (Signature Variable Deadrise Hull). Like GBC said they do like the speed and a 115hp is at its lower end of HP, the hull can go upto 140hp.

Still the larger the HP the more fuel.

My 492F with 85hp 2/S Suzuki does 33 knots (61 K/ph)

10-04-2006, 10:01 AM
Ill be looking to upgrade from my 493F with 90hp to a 542F as the kids get a bit bigger, I wouldnt have any LESS than 140hp on it....but then I am a bit of a hoon deep down ;D ;D ;D

Cheers and Beers

Seahorse
10-04-2006, 05:47 PM
i would like bigger hp, but it does come down to cost. i thought that 115 would be fine

greg

impulse492f
11-04-2006, 09:24 AM
i would like bigger hp, but it does come down to cost. i thought that 115 would be fine

greg

I dion't think you will have any issues with Signature or 115hp, have fun

11-04-2006, 01:31 PM
I agree, it won't be a rocketship, but that's not what you're after anyway by the sounds of it seahorse.

Impulse, our 550 does 74kph at about 5600rpm with a 135 so I'm pretty impressed with your 492 doing not much less with a heaps smaller (more econimical) motor.

impulse492f
11-04-2006, 01:49 PM
I agree, it won't be a rocketship, but that's not what you're after anyway by the sounds of it seahorse.

Impulse, our 550 does 74kph at about 5600rpm with a 135 so I'm pretty impressed with your 492 doing not much less with a heaps smaller (more econimical) motor.

We almost bought a 500BR new but the $34K just didn't do it for me, we placed a deposit but didn't go with it. I bought the 492F for $16K and the boats in as new condition; it only had 234h on the clock which did hurt at first as the carbs needed a pull down. After I did that she runs like a dream.

Yes I am happy with it, the readings from my GPS (Garmin Map60C) which i checked it against my car.

Its amazing how much resistance hulls in water have and obviously the weight you carry. That speed was at WOT 5250rpm with me (I'm not a small guy) and my fishing gear, little chop and not much wind.