View Full Version : Cruise Craft 550 Outsider

longtail
22-04-2006, 07:36 PM
g'day ,

i have recently found a cruisecraft 550 outsider that i am interested in , just after some opinions on value.

it's a 1997 model with 115 2st yammy (with 300 hrs) , sounder , gps, vhf , 27 meg radios . duel batteries , kill tank , live bait tank and full storm covers .

the asking price is $40 ,000 ??

what do you guys think ? is it worth it??

thanks
jason

22-04-2006, 07:59 PM
Mate, I'd reckon way dear...its nine years old...couldn't be much more than $50ishk new...tell him he's dreamin!!!...late 20's-early 30's maybe...but I'd still be building a platey for 40k or a little more

Saw your post about letting the alleycraft go..that'll be a sad day mate but can see with your growing family you'll need something a little bigger...for $40k I'd be wanting something really late model as new...just my opinion, but I'm sold out to plate mate!

Have you checked out Riptide or fisher to see what they could do a newy for - you may be pleasantly surprised?

good luck

longtail
22-04-2006, 08:04 PM
g'day rhys , yeah mate have checked out the platey's but for 40k you dont get much :-/

guess i'll have to keep looking around.

jason

22-04-2006, 08:09 PM
G'day Jase,

A mate of mine just sold his super console...nearly a centre cab...6.5metre (nearly 7mt to rear of pod) Riptide with a late model low hours (less than 100hrs) 175 yam with everything for $40k...less than 2 yrs old

I reckon there are better buys out there

Will keep my ear to the gorund

seatime
22-04-2006, 08:25 PM
Hi longtail,

personally, spending $40K I'd look for something with a brand new motor, unless I knew it's history intimately.
Are u sure there aren't new boats to suit ur needs for 40 thou.

Buying boats is lotsa fun hey, cheers Steve :)

boatboy50
22-04-2006, 10:31 PM
Hey Jase,

You will find much better than that deal.

The same boat is on ebay at the moment for buy it now of 25k, without trailer. Add new trailer and clean up, and your still talking under 30k.

For 40K i'd be looking elsewhere. Have a look for a Southwind SF20, they are rare but they are fantastic (I used to own one!), and you should get one for about 30K.

23-04-2006, 11:09 AM
Yep waaaay to dear, they are a nice boat though. Wynnum marine had one a while back that was featured in Trailer Boating magazine also a 115hp with full covers etc etc and it went for around the 30k mark. Keep your eyes open they do pop up but they move pretty quickly too. Just out of intrest there is a 542F Signature at Wynnum marine at the minute with a 135hp electric everything covers etc etc which could be worth a look. Damn aint boat shopping fun! ;D ;D ;)
Good luck with whatever you get mate

Cheers and Beers

longtail
23-04-2006, 11:42 AM
this looks like a better buy,

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/MUSTANG-2250-WALKAROUND-FISHING-BOAT-200HP-YAMAHA_W0QQitemZ4632911586QQcategoryZ102698QQrdZ1Q QcmdZViewItem

23-04-2006, 01:04 PM
I think Jason, you must be congratulated for even asking the question here. Far too many ' think " they are onto a bargain, only to be disappointed down the track.

You hold the $'s, you are in the box seat.

Look far and wide for the rig. Personally, I reckon you'll find something with a 4 banger or HPDI 2 stroke for the 40K.

And to the respondents, good input and info, pat yerselves on the back.

23-04-2006, 02:39 PM
Never been in either boat, but to me going on the adds, the Mustang looks a far better buy!
Cheers mate, best of luck with it, as stated above, you have the$$$$$$s, be patient (always the hard part for me I'm afraid!) and a bargain will present!

Darryl
23-04-2006, 05:07 PM
Glad all these other fella's replied Jason, as i thought you were a bit upset when i told you it was over priced. That's the biggest problem is the old dollar burning a hole in the pocket.

The right boat will come along for you Helen and the kids, you just have to find it mate.

Darryl.

longtail
23-04-2006, 05:54 PM
not upset darryl , just surprised that's all ;)

i have done a bit of research on the net today actually and it seems i was letting my love of cruisey's get the better of me ;)

i'm going to hold off from doing anything for a while now anyway , and wait for that perfect buy to come along ;)

thanks everyone for the replies

jason

gawby
23-04-2006, 06:35 PM
Jason,
I will send you a copy of the flyer for the yalta 6m that i am looking at for 40k new with warranty.
I am taken with the c/c as well but that one you are looking at is to dear for the age. you could do a lot better than that
Graeme

mcgilld
23-04-2006, 11:43 PM
send them a copy of this chatboard.....then offer 30K

longtail
24-04-2006, 01:46 PM
send them a copy of this chatboard.....then offer 30K

lol

it's funny you should say that ....... the seller is one of this chatboards advertisers ;)

Alex9797
24-04-2006, 03:28 PM

bought a 2002 cc 575 outsider a couple of months ago with a fuel injected 150 merc. 75 hours as new $43 500.00 . This one sounds a bit expensive. The Yalta looks to be a good buy as does the new Freedom Sport imo.

happy hunting

Alex

longtail
24-04-2006, 03:57 PM
hi alex , sounds like you got a good buy , well done :D

what do you think of the outsider? is it everything you expected?

jason

James_Rand
24-04-2006, 04:11 PM
Longtail,

I know it's not the same boat but for interests sake, my oldman bought a 5.0m Cruise Craft Explorer cuddy cabin with a 115 2 stroke Evinrude Ocean Pro with 90 hours with trailer all 1998 model for $24,000 private sale.

Not sure what the 5.5 Outsider is worth but maybe $10,000 more would sound about right for the bigger hull.

Hope that helps

jr/

longtail
26-04-2006, 03:08 PM
update --- went past the yard where this rig is living on the way home from work this arvo , price has dropped to $34,999 .

i think this may still be a bit high tho :-/

jason

skippa
26-04-2006, 06:34 PM
Jase,

Wait till it drops below 30k (it will) then go in and talk turkey ;)

Tony 8-)

longtail
26-04-2006, 06:38 PM
yeah tony , was thinking that myself ...or could wait a few weeks and go in and offer $26k ;) :-X

jason

snappa
26-04-2006, 08:25 PM
NOW

I KNOW OF A HAINES THAT COULD BE RIGHT UP YOUR ALLEY.... :)

$40 mark.. only 70 hrs on motor.. gen.

has all thats is needed for off shore SNAPPA fishing... :D

mcgilld
27-04-2006, 10:54 AM
i'd make an offer before someone else does - if a dealer has cashflow problems you'd be surprised how low they might go. Besides - you can always go back...

longtail
27-04-2006, 02:09 PM
i don't think this dealer will have cashflow problems , they are a major yard with lots of backing . i think it's just a fact of no-one wanting to buy used ATM. they have had 4 boats in particular for about 4 months now.

IMO they are just having trouble moving 2nd hand boats.

jason